CALENDAR   |   DIRECTIONS   |   CONTACT   |   HAPPY HOUR   |   BOOKING   |   PAST ARTISTS   |   RENTALS


Sat Feb 13 |
FUTUREBIRDS (NIGHT TWO)
with SUSTO, LOLA RISING
Sun Feb 14 |
SPELLS
with DIRTY FEW, ROOTBEER AND MERMENTAU, PXLMAN
Mon Feb 15 |
BIRDCLOUD
with POISON RITES (ft. members of Speedwolf), THE PITCH INVASION, FAST EDDY, MINES
Tue Feb 16 |
SYNRGY
with INNA DI RED, RED SAGE
Wed Feb 17 |
ELISE WUNDER
with HIGH ST. COLLECTIVE, BROKEDOWN SHACK
Thu Feb 18 |
PRINCE FOX
with SAID THE SKY
Thu Feb 18 |
HAPPY HOUR BINGO
with Win tix to Apocolyptica, Shannon And The Clams, St. Lucia
Fri Feb 19 |
BILLY STRINGS
with WHISKEY TREATS, THUNDER & RAIN
Sat Feb 20 |
ANDY PALMER & GRUB STREET WRITER
with BEAR ANTLER, FILTHY CASUALS
Sat Feb 20 |
SWEAT DANCE PARTY FT.
Sun Feb 21 |
THE ROARING 420S
with BARK WILSON, JOSH MOOREHEAD & THE GUESTLIST, CHOCOLATE DIAMOND
Sun Feb 21 |
TRACKSUIT WEDDING
with Special video shoot! No cover!
Tue Feb 23 |
MORTAL SUN
with MORGUE WHORE
Tue Feb 23 |
FREAKWATER (The Walnut Room)
with JAYE JAYLE
Wed Feb 24 |
DEAD PAY RENT
with SEA OF EYES, REMEMBER THE RADIO, THE VANILLA MILKSHAKES
Thu Feb 25 |
FROM INDIAN LAKES
with SOREN BRYCE, ONE FLEW WEST
Thu Feb 25 |
HAPPY HOUR BINGO
with Win tix to X Ambassadors, Mutemath, Shannon And The Clams
Fri Feb 26 |
TYLER IMBREY & THE GHOST REVIEW
with BOTTLE ROCKET SCIENCE
Sat Feb 27 |
ANDERSON EAST
with DYLAN LEBLANC
Sun Feb 28 |
ELEANOR FRIEDBERGER
with ICE WATER, LIZZY ROSE
Tue Mar 1 |
AUDIO SOCIAL DISSENT 2016
with WOLF EYES, TIMMY'S ORGANISM, VIDEO
Wed Mar 2 |
SPIES
with CODENAME: CARTER
Thu Mar 3 |
ZERO FOUND
with WEST SIDE SAINTS
Fri Mar 4 |
RUBEDO
with MALE BLONDING, THE MILK BLOSSOMS, THROUGH THE MOUNTAIN
Sat Mar 5 |
BASIA BULAT
with THE WEATHER STATION
Sun Mar 6 |
KALEO
with firekid
Mon Mar 7 |
SAM OUTLAW
with WHITNEY ROSE
Fri Mar 11 |
HEY MARSEILLES
with HIBOU
Sat Mar 12 |
LIZA ANNE (Walnut Room)
with JOHN STATZ, YOUTH
Sat Mar 12 |
PRAYERS
with PLAGUE VENDOR
Sun Mar 13 |
CORB LUND
with THE KINKY FINGERS
Sun Mar 13 |
MAGIC GIANT
with THE NORTHERN EMPTY
Mon Mar 14 |
NOT MY WEEKEND
with LIVE AGAIN, SR3, 1000 MILES OF FIRE
Wed Mar 16 |
NEPTUNIAN WEATHERVANE
with EAT THE SUN, TRIPLIP, DEATH KITTEN
Thu Mar 17 |
ST PATRICK'S DAY CELEBRATION:
with OVERSLEPT, SILVER & GOLD
Fri Mar 18 |
ROB CROW'S GLOOMY PLACE (of Pinback)
with MALE BLONDING, MONTONEROS
Sat Mar 19 |
CHON
with POLYPHIA, STRAWBERRY GIRLS
Mon Mar 21 |
BAG RAIDERS
with PLASTIC PLATES
Tue Mar 22 |
DUDE YORK
with @ The Walnut Room
Tue Mar 22 |
METHYL ETHYL
with HONDURAS
Wed Mar 23 |
YOUNG FATHERS
Thu Mar 24 |
GLITTERATTI
with ACID DAD
Fri Mar 25 |
JAKUBI
Sat Mar 26 |
LITTLE GREEN CARS
with JOHN MARK NELSON
Mon Mar 28 |
CULLEN OMORI
Tue Mar 29 |
QUILT
Sat Apr 2 |
YUCK
with BIG THIEF, AMERICAN CULTURE
Sun Apr 3 |
SUNFLOWER BEAN
Tue Apr 5 |
LINDI ORGTEGA
Wed Apr 6 |
FOXING
with O BROTHER, TANCRED
Thu Apr 7 |
MODERN SUSPECTS
with POP FILTER, COMPASS & CAVERN
Sat Apr 9 |
DMA'S
Tue Apr 12 |
AUTOLUX
Thu Apr 14 |
THE CAVE SINGERS
Fri Apr 22 |
JIMKATA
Sat Apr 23 |
RUN RIVER NORTH
with THE LIGHTHOUSE & THE WHALER
Sun Apr 24 |
TACOCAT
with BOYFRIENDS
Mon Apr 25 |
BLEACHED
with NO PARENTS
Wed Apr 27 |
BEACH SLANG
with POTTY MOUTH, DYKE DRAMA
Fri Apr 29 |
DRAGONDEER
Sat Apr 30 |
NATIVE DAUGHTERS
with ABRAMS, SPELLS, DANGEROUS FRIENDS
Fri May 6 |
BLACK MOUNTAIN
Sat May 7 |
BLACK MOUNTAIN
Mon May 9 |
HIPPO CAMPUS
with RIOTHORSE ROYALE
Wed May 18 |
STICKY FINGERS
Mon May 23 |
BREAKBOT
Sun May 29 |
FRUIT BATS
Sat Jun 11 |
KEVIN MORBY
with JAYE BARTELL

Wed Mar 27 | Radio 1190 Presents | Sold Out

WAVVES  

FIDLAR
CHEATAHS

Doors open at 8pm   |   Show starts at 9pm   |   Sold Out | 16+



Straight from the dungeons of L.A., Wavves are releasing Afraid Of Heights, their fourth album and first on the Mom And Pop label. Now a duo consisting of guitarist Nathan Williams and bassist Stephen Pope, they sound bigger, brasher, and shockingly professional than ever on Afraid Of Heights that positions the band to take their rightful place amongst the pop-punk gods.You know the story by now. Bored dude in his parents' tool shed-turned-room with no insulation and a record stuck to a hole in the wall to keep the mice out turns on a four-track recorder, fucks around and ends up with two of the oddest, noisiest and downright catchy albums of recent memory. Those two records (the eponymous Wavves the eponyymous Wavvves) were winningly, messily chaotic—grand on a small scale, but not necessarily world-beaters. Which is why when Williams, then solo, linked up with erstwhile Jay Reatard sidemen Stephen Pope (bass) and Billy Hayes (drums) and busted the door down with the stunner that was King Of The Beach, a pop-punk blackout for the DeLonge and Deleuze crowd. After the smoke of King Of The Beach had cleared, Williams and Pope released the Life Sux EP, a testament to the crushing powers of rock n' roll and also ennui. The product of more than a year of writing and recording, Afraid Of Heights expands the Wavves sound while remaining true to the band's original vision—it was created with absolutely no label involvement, a specter that nearly derailed King Of The Beach. Working with producer John Hill (known for his work with M.I.A. and Santigold, as well as with hip-hop acts such as Nas and the Wu-Tang Clan), the band found a willing party in creating what they felt was the truest expression of what they wanted. As for the Afraid Of Heights sessions themselves, Williams paid for them out-of-pocket, explaining his reasoning with, "In doing so, I had no one to answer to. We recorded the songs how and when we wanted without anybody interfering, and that's how it's supposed to be."

 

Lyrically, Williams took the focus less off of his own melancholy and out into the world, with songs that dealt with crooked preachers ("Sail To The Sun"), relationships ("Dog") and killing cops ("Cop"). Even when he reaches outside his own damaged psyche, Williams is still making Wavves songs, saying, "The general theme of the record is depression and anxiety, being death-obsessed and paranoid of impending doom. I feel like the narration is almost schizophrenic if you listen front to back; every word is important, even the constant contradictions and lack of self-worth. That's all a part of this record—questioning everything not because I'm curious, but because I'm paranoid." That paranoia manifests itself on many of the album's best tracks, such as the spacey drones and bummazoid vibes of the Weezer-referencing, getting-drunk-because-you-can't-bring-yourself-to-care-vibey "Afraid Of Heights," or the string-aided "I Can't Dream," which rounds the record out with the optimistic, "I can finally sleep," before subverting itself with, "But I can't dream." With their biggest and boldest-sounding record yet, Wavves might have finally come into their own, a fully-realized punk rock force in both sound and vision.

powered by: companyBE