CALENDAR   |   DIRECTIONS   |   CONTACT   |   HAPPY HOUR   |   BOOKING   |   PAST ARTISTS   |   RENTALS


Mon Aug 31 |
FUNERAL IN FLAMES
with THE HEALZ, OUR SCARLET WINTER
Wed Sep 2 |
FUTURE CULTURE
with HYDRAFORM, TOO MANY HUMANS, COVERGEIST
Thu Sep 3 |
HAPPY HOUR BINGO
with Win tix to Passenger, Twin Shadow, JR JR
Thu Sep 3 |
SHANE HENDERSON (OF VALENCIA)
with DAN AID (OF WIREDOGS)
Thu Sep 3 |
BROWNOUT (PRE-PHISH PARTY)
Fri Sep 4 |
UNTIL THE RIBBON BREAKS
with INSTANT EMPIRE, INPUT & BROKEN
Sat Sep 5 |
MITIS
with SUBTHEORY, PAWS
Sun Sep 6 |
SUNDAY BBQ SERIES: GONE WEST
with THE BELL HOURS, THE SAMUEL EDGAR BAND, CASEY SMITH, MIKE LAMITOLA, ROY CATLIN
Wed Sep 9 |
ON AN ON
with ELIOT SUMNER, DOSH
Thu Sep 10 |
SUGAR SKULLS & MARIGOLDS
with CULT OF THE LOST CAUSE, CHURCH FIRE
Thu Sep 10 |
HAPPY HOUR BINGO
with Win tix to Glass Animals, Delta Rae, JR JR
Fri Sep 11 |
RADKEY
with SLOW CAVES, LSD BAGS
Sat Sep 12 |
WAVE RACER
with SHAWN WASABI, PROPER MOTION
Sun Sep 13 |
SUNDAY BBQ SERIES: THE SKULL
with MASTER FEROCIOUS, ALTERITY, STILL VALLEY, WITCHFINGER
Mon Sep 14 |
BLACK PUSSY
with APE MACHINE, CLOUD CATCHER, SMOLDER & BURN
Wed Sep 16 |
THE COATHANGERS
with THE BIRTH DEFECTS, THE SAVAGE BLUSH
Thu Sep 17 |
THE LIGHTHOUSE AND THE WHALER
with BORN CAGES
Thu Sep 17 |
HAPPY HOUR BINGO
with Win tix to Franz Ferdinand, Ms Mr, Youth Lagoon
Fri Sep 18 |
REDLANDS
with 888, NEVER LET THIS GO, DEFY YOU STARS, DALLAS GARCIA, KIMI MOST
Sat Sep 19 |
THE PHOTO ATLAS
Sat Sep 19 |
YOUNG & RESTLESS MUSIC SHOWCASE
with SNUBLUCK, KAL HALAX, DANIEL ROBBINS, JORDAN PAUL, ELORA ZAMAR
Sun Sep 20 |
THUNDERCAT
Mon Sep 21 |
STEVE'N'SEAGULLS
Tue Sep 22 |
TYLER WARD
Thu Sep 24 |
HAPPY HOUR BINGO
with Win tix to Saint Motel, Run The Jewels, Owl City
Fri Sep 25 |
A PLACE TO BURY STRANGERS
with GROOMS, EMERALD SIAM
Sat Sep 26 |
LARIMER BLOCK PARTY 2015:
with Plus some of Denver's best bands, DJs, and street artists!
Tue Sep 29 |
SHANNON AND THE CLAMS
Wed Sep 30 |
HAPPY HOUR BINGO
with Win tix to Shakey Graves (firday night), Misterwives, Youth Lagoon
Fri Oct 2 |
CRIZZLY & FRIENDS
with PRUITT
Sat Oct 3 |
ALGIERS
with BAMBARA
Tue Oct 6 |
MELANIE MARTINEZ
with HANDSOME GHOST
Wed Oct 7 |
MELANIE MARTINEZ
with HANDSOME GHOST
Thu Oct 8 |
DRENGE
with MADE VIOLENT
Fri Oct 9 |
JOEY CAPE
with LAURA MARDON, WALT HAMBURGER, BETTY AND THE BOY
Sat Oct 10 |
THE GIRAFFES
with ENGINE EAR, BRONZE
Sun Oct 11 |
BOB MOSES
Mon Oct 12 |
CAGE
Tue Oct 13 |
WILLIAM FITZSIMMONS
Wed Oct 14 |
MAUDLIN STRANGERS
with STRANGE NAMES
Thu Oct 15 |
NOBUNNY
Fri Oct 16 |
THE SHEEPDOGS
with RADIO MOSCOW, RANCH GHOST
Sat Oct 17 |
MAX SCHNEIDER
with KENZIE NIMMO, CALL ME KARIZMA
Tue Oct 20 |
HINDS
with PUBLIC ACCESS T.V.
Thu Oct 22 |
MATT NATHANSON
Fri Oct 23 |
OUGHT
with ACCORDION CRIMES
Sat Oct 24 |
HOLYCHILD
Sun Oct 25 |
COLONY HOUSE
with ELLIOT MOSS
Mon Oct 26 |
KING DUDE
with DRAB MAJESTY
Thu Oct 29 |
HALLOWEEN EP RELEASE PARTY: ONE FLEW WEST
with RUMOURS FOLLOW, SLOW CAVES, THE HOST CLUB
Fri Oct 30 |
THE HOOD INTERNET
Sat Oct 31 |
SMALL BLACK
with PAINTED PALMS
Tue Nov 3 |
HERE WE GO MAGIC
with BIG THIEF
Sat Nov 7 |
THE GOOD LIFE
Fri Nov 13 |
LOW
with ANDY SHAUF
Wed Nov 18 |
REPTAR
Thu Nov 19 |
DAVID RAMIREZ
with LIZA ANNE
Sat Nov 21 |
DARWIN DEEZ
Thu Dec 3 |
HEALTH: Death Magic Tour 2015
Wed Dec 9 |
BEAT CONNECTION

Fri Apr 18 | Channel 93.3 Presents | 16+

SLEEPER/AGENT  

HOLYCHILD
PAGIINS

Doors open at 8 PM   |   Show starts at 9 PM   |   $9.33 EARLY BIRD | $12 ADV | $14 DOS





In the three whirlwind years since Sleeper Agent released its debut, Celabrasion, its members have played everywhere from the Coachella festival to Late Night With Jimmy Fallon. They’ve opened for Weezer, Circa Survive, and fun. And “Get It Daddy,” their dizzying anthem about growing up, has appeared in Taco Bell ad, while their bustling high-five to indefatigability, “Not Never,” has soundtracked a Nike clip.

Celabrasion immediately garnered the affectionate attention of the blogosphere straight to the top of the nation music media. Rolling Stone hailed them as a “Band To Watch”, describing their sound as “lusty garage rock with loads of retro smarts.” SPIN declared, “the Kentucky-based quintet’s playful, Southern fried, boy-vs.-girl power pop is instantly lovable.”Esquire said, “these co-ed garage-rock saviors-in-waiting offer two minutes that sound like the most original – and forceful – introduction to a new band we’re likely to hear all year.”

“It’s so hard to define success by one thing. Everything was so new….” says frontwoman Alex Kandel, looking back at their steep ascent. She pauses to think. “The first time we had a rider! When people gave us bottled water, I knew this was a career.” Sleeper Agent will make good on that early next year, when they release their second album, About Last Night (RCA/Mom+Pop).

These days, the sextet—which also includes singer/guitarist and principal songwriter Tony Smith, bassist Lee Williams, guitarist Josh Martin, drummer Justin Wilson, and keyboardist Scott Gardner—are bent on jettisoning past their title as the Little Act That Could from Bowling Green, Kentucky. “Sleeper Agent started out as a fun, goofy side project,” explains Tony. “I don’t want this to be silly for the rest of my life. I want to embrace this seriously and treat it with respect for the people responding to it. About Last Night is a stepping stone.”

Though their ambitions have grown, Sleeper Agent’s approach continues to be disarmingly simple: delivering joyously melodies, even when they’re bumming out. For instance, About Last Night’s first single, “Waves,” manages to be both plaintive and percussive—ruminating on the rigors of touring, then snapping out of that depression. Concedes Tony: “That was me, excavating my emotions.”

About Last Night was born after Tony started scribbling together song skeletons on tour. The group fleshed out those compositions after decamping their tour bus to shack up together in a log cabin in Middle of Nowhere, East Kentucky. It didn’t even have mobile service. “The cabin was hand-built by a World War II general,” interjects Alex. “And actually, it was like a sanctuary.”

Instead of killing each other in their secluded camp, they watched The Godfather, cooked family dinners, and emerged five days later with 10 solid tracks—among them, “Waves.” The songs were recorded in Nashville (with Jay Joyce) and Charleston (with Eric Bass), and both encouraged us to “quit over-thinking it,” says Tony.  “We did a great job on the last record with melodies but tried to cover them up with distortion. We were scared to be melodic. Jay and Eric were like, ‘Go for it,’ and made it shimmer a bit.”

That didn’t always come easy. “The biggest pain in the ass on the entire record is a song called ‘Eat You Up,’” says Tony. “It started off as a dark, slow song, reflecting its lyrical content. Then as we kept messing with it, it became very dancey. That song probably went through 10 variations.” What emerged, when they stopped trying so hard, was a simmering synth-take.

“We really pushed ourselves,” adds Alex. ”We rewrote songs over and over again until they felt right. We spent a week on the last record, but got to spend almost a year on this one.” The sauntering, lower-register “Haunting Me” was her white whale. “It had a lot of vocal subtleties,” she says. “And it went from sounding like something that could end on the cutting-room floor to being one of my favorite songs on the record.” Still, Alex admits true validation will come from road-testing these songs. “I can’t wait to get back to doing what we do best, and that’s touring.”

Two years ago, the band played Santa Barbara for the first time. “It was such a strange and beautiful show. It was the perfect day—a rainbow circled the sun,” she says. “Fifteen minutes before we went on, Tony got a call that one of our good friends passed away unexpectedly.” It was, at once, one of their most challenging and rewarding shows. “All of that emotion…I can remember every second of that day—the scent, the temperature of the air. It made me understand why I do what I do.”

powered by: companyBE