CALENDAR   |   DIRECTIONS   |   CONTACT   |   HAPPY HOUR   |   BOOKING   |   PAST ARTISTS   |   RENTALS


Mon Mar 2 |
EDDIE SPAGHETTI
with JIM DALTON (OF RAILBENDERS)
Wed Mar 4 |
KAWEHI
with ZOYA
Thu Mar 5 |
HAPPY HOUR BINGO - Win tix to Misterwives, Father John Misty, Stars, The Preatures + more!
Thu Mar 5 |
RED BULL SOUND SELECT PRESENTS: DENVER
with TOKIMONSTA, ANDERSON .PAAK & THE FREE NATIONALS, CRL CRRLL, FAST4WARD
Fri Mar 6 |
DAVID COOK
with AMZY
Sat Mar 7 |
MOON HOOCH
with CRYSTAL GHOST, TODAY'S PARAMOUNT
Tue Mar 10 |
GINNY & THE BRIDGE BURNERS
with TOO MANY HUMANS, SPLIT OR STEAL
Wed Mar 11 |
SPACE SUITS FOR INDIANS
with DRUNKIN' RELATIVES, SEE YOU HOME WOLF, THE HOLLOW HEARTED
Thu Mar 12 |
HAPPY HOUR BINGO - Win tix to Pennywise, Bad Religion, Hawthorne Heights + more!
Thu Mar 12 |
BARK WILSON
with ANCIENT ELK, JOSH MOOREHEAD & THE GUESTLIST, THE BELL HOURS
Fri Mar 13 |
LIL DICKY
Sat Mar 14 |
CORNMEAL
with CORAL CREEK
Wed Mar 18 |
RACE TO NEPTUNE
with WE WERE COSMONAUTS, AMERICAN GRANDMA
Fri Mar 20 |
PLUM (SINGLE RELEASE)
with WILD HIGH, THROUGH THE MOUNTAIN
Mon Mar 23 |
GEOGRAPHER
with WILD ONES
Tue Mar 24 |
VIET CONG
with WHAT MOON THINGS
Wed Mar 25 |
PUBLIC SERVICE BROADCASTING
Thu Mar 26 |
SEGO
Fri Mar 27 |
FLAMINGOSIS
with DREAMGHOST, CROWNS, BOLLYWOOD LIFE
Sat Mar 28 |
BREACH & BELLOW
Mon Mar 30 |
NAIVE MELODIES
with THE WORKSHY
Tue Mar 31 |
THE LAST BISON
with NEULORE, TALLGRASS
Wed Apr 1 |
DISAPPEARS
with EMERALD SIAM, PALE SUN
Thu Apr 2 |
OH HONEY
with PUBLIC
Fri Apr 3 |
EDISON
with ROB DRABKIN, SCIENCE PARTNER, MAXWELL HUGHES (formerly of The Lumineers), CRL CRRLL (DJ SET)
Sat Apr 4 |
HAWTHORNE HEIGHTS
with COURAGE MY LOVE, MARK ROSE, SHANE HENDERSON, DAYSEEKER
Sun Apr 5 |
LIEUTENANT (Nate Mendel of Foo Fighters)
with YUKON BLONDE
Wed Apr 8 |
MONOPHONICS
Thu Apr 9 |
DENGUE FEVER
with FREAKY NORTH
Mon Apr 13 |
DEAP VALLY
with BUD BRONSON & THE GOOD TIMERS, LA WITCHES, THE VELVETEERS
Fri Apr 17 |
REPTAR
Sat Apr 18 |
KODAK TO GRAPH
with BIG WILD, OBESON
Wed Apr 22 |
SHY GIRLS
with YOUNG EJECTA
Fri Apr 24 |
OWEN (AMERICAN FOOTBALL)
Sat Apr 25 |
COASTS
Sun Apr 26 |
SEOUL
Sat May 2 |
LADY LAMB THE BEEKEEPER
with RATHBORNE
Thu May 7 |
YOUNG FATHERS
Fri May 15 |
A TRIBE CALLED RED
Sat May 16 |
JAKUBI
Tue May 19 |
LOCAL H
with ALL EYES WEST
Sat May 23 |
MYSTIC BRAVES
with THE KINKY FINGERS
Wed May 27 |
KATE TEMPEST
Sat May 30 |
SPEEDY ORTIZ
with PALEHOUND
Sat Jun 6 |
MANDOLIN ORANGE

Fri Apr 18 | Channel 93.3 Presents | 16+

SLEEPER/AGENT  

HOLYCHILD
PAGIINS

Doors open at 8 PM   |   Show starts at 9 PM   |   $9.33 EARLY BIRD | $12 ADV | $14 DOS





In the three whirlwind years since Sleeper Agent released its debut, Celabrasion, its members have played everywhere from the Coachella festival to Late Night With Jimmy Fallon. They’ve opened for Weezer, Circa Survive, and fun. And “Get It Daddy,” their dizzying anthem about growing up, has appeared in Taco Bell ad, while their bustling high-five to indefatigability, “Not Never,” has soundtracked a Nike clip.

Celabrasion immediately garnered the affectionate attention of the blogosphere straight to the top of the nation music media. Rolling Stone hailed them as a “Band To Watch”, describing their sound as “lusty garage rock with loads of retro smarts.” SPIN declared, “the Kentucky-based quintet’s playful, Southern fried, boy-vs.-girl power pop is instantly lovable.”Esquire said, “these co-ed garage-rock saviors-in-waiting offer two minutes that sound like the most original – and forceful – introduction to a new band we’re likely to hear all year.”

“It’s so hard to define success by one thing. Everything was so new….” says frontwoman Alex Kandel, looking back at their steep ascent. She pauses to think. “The first time we had a rider! When people gave us bottled water, I knew this was a career.” Sleeper Agent will make good on that early next year, when they release their second album, About Last Night (RCA/Mom+Pop).

These days, the sextet—which also includes singer/guitarist and principal songwriter Tony Smith, bassist Lee Williams, guitarist Josh Martin, drummer Justin Wilson, and keyboardist Scott Gardner—are bent on jettisoning past their title as the Little Act That Could from Bowling Green, Kentucky. “Sleeper Agent started out as a fun, goofy side project,” explains Tony. “I don’t want this to be silly for the rest of my life. I want to embrace this seriously and treat it with respect for the people responding to it. About Last Night is a stepping stone.”

Though their ambitions have grown, Sleeper Agent’s approach continues to be disarmingly simple: delivering joyously melodies, even when they’re bumming out. For instance, About Last Night’s first single, “Waves,” manages to be both plaintive and percussive—ruminating on the rigors of touring, then snapping out of that depression. Concedes Tony: “That was me, excavating my emotions.”

About Last Night was born after Tony started scribbling together song skeletons on tour. The group fleshed out those compositions after decamping their tour bus to shack up together in a log cabin in Middle of Nowhere, East Kentucky. It didn’t even have mobile service. “The cabin was hand-built by a World War II general,” interjects Alex. “And actually, it was like a sanctuary.”

Instead of killing each other in their secluded camp, they watched The Godfather, cooked family dinners, and emerged five days later with 10 solid tracks—among them, “Waves.” The songs were recorded in Nashville (with Jay Joyce) and Charleston (with Eric Bass), and both encouraged us to “quit over-thinking it,” says Tony.  “We did a great job on the last record with melodies but tried to cover them up with distortion. We were scared to be melodic. Jay and Eric were like, ‘Go for it,’ and made it shimmer a bit.”

That didn’t always come easy. “The biggest pain in the ass on the entire record is a song called ‘Eat You Up,’” says Tony. “It started off as a dark, slow song, reflecting its lyrical content. Then as we kept messing with it, it became very dancey. That song probably went through 10 variations.” What emerged, when they stopped trying so hard, was a simmering synth-take.

“We really pushed ourselves,” adds Alex. ”We rewrote songs over and over again until they felt right. We spent a week on the last record, but got to spend almost a year on this one.” The sauntering, lower-register “Haunting Me” was her white whale. “It had a lot of vocal subtleties,” she says. “And it went from sounding like something that could end on the cutting-room floor to being one of my favorite songs on the record.” Still, Alex admits true validation will come from road-testing these songs. “I can’t wait to get back to doing what we do best, and that’s touring.”

Two years ago, the band played Santa Barbara for the first time. “It was such a strange and beautiful show. It was the perfect day—a rainbow circled the sun,” she says. “Fifteen minutes before we went on, Tony got a call that one of our good friends passed away unexpectedly.” It was, at once, one of their most challenging and rewarding shows. “All of that emotion…I can remember every second of that day—the scent, the temperature of the air. It made me understand why I do what I do.”

powered by: companyBE