CALENDAR   |   CONTACT   |   HAPPY HOUR   |   BOOKING   |   PAST ARTISTS   |   FOOD & DRINK


Thu May 26 |
HAPPY HOUR BINGO
with Win tix to Growlers, Caravan Palace, Joywave
Thu May 26 |
GO DARK
with AYTIKO
Fri May 27 |
CITRA
with WEST SIDE SAINTS, WATER AEROBICS, GALLERIES
Sat May 28 |
THE HOTELIER
with TOLD SLANT, LOONE
Sun May 29 |
FRUIT BATS
with TRUMMORS
Mon May 30 |
MIKE DEE(Z)
Tue May 31 |
MIKE DEE(Z)
Wed Jun 1 |
THE BROTHERS COMATOSE
with IN/PLANES, DARRIN BRADBURY
Thu Jun 2 |
PETE PIDGEON & ARCODA (ALBUM LAUNCH PARTY)
with Featuring Jennifer Hartswick & Natalie Cressman of the Trey Anastasio Band, LOLA RISING, GHOST TAPES
Fri Jun 3 |
SP DOUBLE
with YOUNG DOE, A MEAZY, AVIUS, FRANK COLEONE, 5280 MYSTIC, PAC, KONTRAST & FO CHIEF
Sat Jun 4 |
MANILA KILLA
with ANANDA, COOPAH TROOPAH
Sat Jun 4 |
SIR (SINGLE RELEASE)
with SF1, JEN KORTE
Sun Jun 5 |
TRIANGLE INTROVERTS
with FLOYEE, COME HOME
Mon Jun 6 |
SUPERHEAVEN
with CREEPOID, SPIRIT OF THE BEEHIVE
Wed Jun 8 |
GROW WILD TOUR
with ROUND2CREW, BAD FEELINGS, WILL JAY, DYLAN HOLLAND, ZACH MATARI, BEN HAZLEWOOD, THE HOUSE ON CLIFF, RIVERS MONROE, with special surprise guests!
Thu Jun 9 |
RAY REED
with KOO QUA, TONIO ARMANI, K.P., DJ K TONE, DJ BAR 1NE
Fri Jun 10 |
FROM THE VOID
with LYFTD, SUPER DUPER, HENNE-Z, KIZER
Sat Jun 11 |
KEVIN MORBY
with JAYE BARTELL
Sun Jun 12 |
SUNDAY BBQ SERIES
with QUANTUM CREEP, FOR KEEPS, THE CLEARWINGS, MORNING BEAR, GINNY & THE BRIDGE BURNERS
Tue Jun 14 |
MUTUAL BENEFIT
with FLORIST, MRS. MAGICIAN
Tue Jun 14 |
BRONCHO (WALNUT ROOM)
with WINTER, BILLY CHANGER
Wed Jun 15 |
OLIVIA RUDEEN
with KAYLA MARQUE, DEVAN BLAKE JONES, CHRIS HARRIS
Thu Jun 16 |
CORB LUND
with ANDY HAMILTON & THE ROCKY MOUNTAIN CONTRABAND, COWBOY DAVE BAND
Fri Jun 17 |
APE MACHINE
with BRONZE, MONOCLE STACHE
Sat Jun 18 |
ESMÉ PATTERSON
with INNER OCEANS, LITTLES PAIA
Sun Jun 19 |
FATHERS DAY SUNDAY BBQ SERIES
with MEET THE GIANT, DEAD ORCHIDS, THE WORTH, PLASTIC DAGGERS
Mon Jun 20 |
EAGULLS
Tue Jun 21 |
THE HUNNA
Wed Jun 22 |
WHILK + MISKY
with CRL CRRLL, TOMMY METZ
Sat Jun 25 |
SWEAT DANCE PARTY FT.
Sun Jun 26 |
SUNDAY BBQ SERIES
with TOI ET MOI, EVAN HOLM BAND
Tue Jun 28 |
TWIN PEAKS
with NE-HI, PANTHER MARTIN
Sat Jul 2 |
BANDITS (7" RELEASE PARTY)
with BLANKET EMPIRE
Wed Jul 6 |
THE SHEEPDOGS
Fri Jul 8 |
DEAD WINTER CARPENTERS
Sun Jul 10 |
SUNDAY BBQ SERIES
Sun Jul 10 |
LAWRENCE
Tue Jul 12 |
PHOEBE RYAN
Thu Jul 14 |
THE EAGLE ROCK GOSPEL SINGERS
Sat Jul 16 |
MITSKI
with JAPANESE BREAKFAST, JAY SOM
Sun Jul 17 |
WHISKEY SHIVERS BBQ
Mon Jul 18 |
MARGARET GLASPY
Tue Jul 19 |
SMOKE SEASON
with CAUGHT A GHOST
Mon Jul 25 |
PINEGROVE
with SPORTS, HALF WAIF
Wed Jul 27 |
BOB LOG III
with KEVIN DOWLING
Thu Jul 28 |
THE DESLONDES
with THE HAUNTED WINDCHIMES
Fri Jul 29 |
THE NOISY FREAKS
Sat Jul 30 |
YONI & GETI
Sun Jul 31 |
ROBERT ELLIS
Mon Aug 1 |
OH PEP!
Tue Aug 2 |
HONNE
Sun Aug 7 |
RENO DIVORCE (BBQ SHOW)
with STRAIGHT OUTTA LUCK, WAKE THE BAT, GRANNY TWEED
Wed Aug 10 |
DECLAN MCKENNA
Thu Aug 11 |
PROTOMARTYR
Sat Aug 13 |
D.R.I.
with THE EIGHT BUCKS EXPERIMENT
Sun Aug 14 |
D.R.I. BBQ SHOW
with THE EIGHT BUCKS EXPERIMENT
Mon Aug 15 |
HUNNY
with GYMSHORTS
Wed Sep 14 |
HIGHASAKITE
Thu Sep 15 |
KHRUANGBIN
Thu Sep 22 |
KREWELLA
Fri Sep 23 |
CASS MCCOMBS
Tue Oct 18 |
TOBACCO

Fri Apr 18 | Channel 93.3 Presents | 16+

SLEEPER/AGENT  

HOLYCHILD
PAGIINS

Doors open at 8 PM   |   Show starts at 9 PM   |   $9.33 EARLY BIRD | $12 ADV | $14 DOS





In the three whirlwind years since Sleeper Agent released its debut, Celabrasion, its members have played everywhere from the Coachella festival to Late Night With Jimmy Fallon. They’ve opened for Weezer, Circa Survive, and fun. And “Get It Daddy,” their dizzying anthem about growing up, has appeared in Taco Bell ad, while their bustling high-five to indefatigability, “Not Never,” has soundtracked a Nike clip.

Celabrasion immediately garnered the affectionate attention of the blogosphere straight to the top of the nation music media. Rolling Stone hailed them as a “Band To Watch”, describing their sound as “lusty garage rock with loads of retro smarts.” SPIN declared, “the Kentucky-based quintet’s playful, Southern fried, boy-vs.-girl power pop is instantly lovable.”Esquire said, “these co-ed garage-rock saviors-in-waiting offer two minutes that sound like the most original – and forceful – introduction to a new band we’re likely to hear all year.”

“It’s so hard to define success by one thing. Everything was so new….” says frontwoman Alex Kandel, looking back at their steep ascent. She pauses to think. “The first time we had a rider! When people gave us bottled water, I knew this was a career.” Sleeper Agent will make good on that early next year, when they release their second album, About Last Night (RCA/Mom+Pop).

These days, the sextet—which also includes singer/guitarist and principal songwriter Tony Smith, bassist Lee Williams, guitarist Josh Martin, drummer Justin Wilson, and keyboardist Scott Gardner—are bent on jettisoning past their title as the Little Act That Could from Bowling Green, Kentucky. “Sleeper Agent started out as a fun, goofy side project,” explains Tony. “I don’t want this to be silly for the rest of my life. I want to embrace this seriously and treat it with respect for the people responding to it. About Last Night is a stepping stone.”

Though their ambitions have grown, Sleeper Agent’s approach continues to be disarmingly simple: delivering joyously melodies, even when they’re bumming out. For instance, About Last Night’s first single, “Waves,” manages to be both plaintive and percussive—ruminating on the rigors of touring, then snapping out of that depression. Concedes Tony: “That was me, excavating my emotions.”

About Last Night was born after Tony started scribbling together song skeletons on tour. The group fleshed out those compositions after decamping their tour bus to shack up together in a log cabin in Middle of Nowhere, East Kentucky. It didn’t even have mobile service. “The cabin was hand-built by a World War II general,” interjects Alex. “And actually, it was like a sanctuary.”

Instead of killing each other in their secluded camp, they watched The Godfather, cooked family dinners, and emerged five days later with 10 solid tracks—among them, “Waves.” The songs were recorded in Nashville (with Jay Joyce) and Charleston (with Eric Bass), and both encouraged us to “quit over-thinking it,” says Tony.  “We did a great job on the last record with melodies but tried to cover them up with distortion. We were scared to be melodic. Jay and Eric were like, ‘Go for it,’ and made it shimmer a bit.”

That didn’t always come easy. “The biggest pain in the ass on the entire record is a song called ‘Eat You Up,’” says Tony. “It started off as a dark, slow song, reflecting its lyrical content. Then as we kept messing with it, it became very dancey. That song probably went through 10 variations.” What emerged, when they stopped trying so hard, was a simmering synth-take.

“We really pushed ourselves,” adds Alex. ”We rewrote songs over and over again until they felt right. We spent a week on the last record, but got to spend almost a year on this one.” The sauntering, lower-register “Haunting Me” was her white whale. “It had a lot of vocal subtleties,” she says. “And it went from sounding like something that could end on the cutting-room floor to being one of my favorite songs on the record.” Still, Alex admits true validation will come from road-testing these songs. “I can’t wait to get back to doing what we do best, and that’s touring.”

Two years ago, the band played Santa Barbara for the first time. “It was such a strange and beautiful show. It was the perfect day—a rainbow circled the sun,” she says. “Fifteen minutes before we went on, Tony got a call that one of our good friends passed away unexpectedly.” It was, at once, one of their most challenging and rewarding shows. “All of that emotion…I can remember every second of that day—the scent, the temperature of the air. It made me understand why I do what I do.”

powered by: companyBE