CALENDAR   |   DIRECTIONS   |   CONTACT   |   HAPPY HOUR   |   BOOKING   |   PAST ARTISTS   |   RENTALS


Sun Apr 26 |
SEOUL
with OKO TYGRA
Tue Apr 28 |
HAMHOCK
with THE PARTITION, RED NINJA
Wed Apr 29 |
DRINK DRANK PUNK
with THE PLATES, DIRT, FINGER PIE
Thu Apr 30 |
LINDI ORTEGA
with ANDREW COMBS, CASEY JAMES PRESTWOOD
Thu Apr 30 |
HAPPY HOUR BINGO - Win tix to Purity Ring, Death Grips, Neon Trees + more!
Fri May 1 |
TORTUGA
with TKETTLE, N3U3S, HARHIGH
Sat May 2 |
LADY LAMB THE BEEKEEPER
with RATHBORNE, BLUEBOOK
Mon May 4 |
JEFFREY DALLET
with DORIAN
Tue May 5 |
EL JAVI
with DURAN, RAUL, KAHLIL
Thu May 7 |
YOUNG FATHERS
with MAS YSA, INPUT
Fri May 8 |
THE ROYAL
with ROOTBEER AND MERMENTAU, SIX SHOOTER
Sat May 9 |
RED FOX RUN
with VIRETTA, SLOW CAVES
Tue May 12 |
SEVEN SEA VOYAGE
with TONIGHT WE RISE, OCTOBER SKIES, DORSIA
Wed May 13 |
THE RED PAINTINGS
Thu May 14 |
THE RENTALS
with RADIATION CITY, REY PILA
Fri May 15 |
A TRIBE CALLED RED
with DIGITAL CONNECTION, NEED & NECESSITY
Sat May 16 |
JAKUBI
with ANDY ROK & THE REAL DEAL
Sun May 17 |
THE BUCKINGHAM SQUARES
with SPARKLE JETS
Mon May 18 |
TODAY IS THE DAY
with LAZER/WULF
Tue May 19 |
LOCAL H
with ALL EYES WEST
Wed May 20 |
B-SIDE PLAYERS
with MONO VERDE, SPELLBINDER & ROOTS MASSIVE
Thu May 21 |
PIGPEN THEATRE CO.
with GOODNIGHT, TEXAS
Fri May 22 |
THE LAVELLAS
with DARK ORCHID, ORBITING BLUE, INTRE-VENUS & THE COSMONAUTS
Sat May 23 |
MYSTIC BRAVES
with THE KINKY FINGERS
Tue May 26 |
MIAMI HORROR
Wed May 27 |
KATE TEMPEST
Thu May 28 |
DAN MANGAN + BLACKSMITH
Fri May 29 |
PALMA VIOLETS
with PUBLIC ACCESS TV
Sat May 30 |
SPEEDY ORTIZ
with PALEHOUND, ALEX G, ACCORDION CRIMES
Wed Jun 3 |
DESERT NOISES
Thu Jun 4 |
MANDOLIN ORANGE
Fri Jun 5 |
THE HELIO SEQUENCE
Mon Jun 8 |
JEREMY LOOPS
Tue Jun 9 |
THE LIFE AND TIMES
Thu Jun 11 |
SPIRIT FAMILY REUNION
Fri Jun 12 |
THE NTH POWER
with YOJIMBO
Sat Jun 13 |
THE CAVE SINGERS
Tue Jun 16 |
ELECTRIC SIX
with WHITE REAPER, BRANDED BANDITS
Wed Jun 17 |
DEAD MEADOW (NIGHT ONE)
Thu Jun 18 |
DEAD MEADOW (NIGHT TWO)
Fri Jun 19 |
ROYAL THUNDER
Sat Jun 20 |
SAN CISCO
with THE PRETTIOTS
Fri Jun 26 |
TRAILS & WAYS
with WATERSTRIDER
Fri Jul 3 |
TANLINES
Tue Jul 7 |
THE DELTA SAINTS
Sun Jul 12 |
GRISWOLDS
Tue Jul 14 |
JAY BRANNAN
Fri Jul 24 |
MELT BANANA
Tue Jul 28 |
CHAPPO
Wed Jul 29 |
LOWER DENS
Tue Aug 11 |
METZ

Wed Sep 26 | Larimer Lounge Presents...

NICK WATERHOUSE  

ALLAH-LAS
MILE HIGH SOUL CLUB DJ'S

Doors open at 8pm   |   Show starts at 9pm   |   $12.00 In Adv | $15.00 Day Of Show





Nick Waterhouse is the New Breed – An R&B fanatic who combines an uncanny old-school sensibility with a charged, contemporary style. At just 25, He joins the ranks of a growing cabale of similar acts and producers of recent times – Mark Ronson, Mayer Hawthorne, the Daptone Crew et al – that are all moving forward into the past, yet all quite different. For Waterhouse, his muse is the over-modulated sound of vintage R&B, and his take on such a time-honored tradition evokes the back-alley thrill of New Orleans, Detroit and Memphis in their heyday. He combines an astute attention to detail with an honest desire to match the emotional impact of the music that inspires him.

When asked to pinpoint the sound or style he strives for, Nick Waterhouse simply shrugs and responds, “American music. And I know that’s pretty general, but it is what it is. I have spent so much of my life immersed in this stuff, because I wanted to figure it out, [yet] all I figured out was that there was no plan.” In other words, whatever musical style Nick may choose to espouse, it’s not done because someone else did it, but done for the same reason someone else did it. “To me, [the music I play] is not a ‘type’ of music,” he emphasizes; “it IS music. The records I listen to ARE music. A record is a moment in time, and something recorded in 1955 is the same as something recorded in 2010.” Growing up in the Southern California, Waterhouse eschewed his surroundings and found emotional authenticity in the vintage wax of Ray Charles, Roy Head, Little Willie John and the whole panoply of American music, where feel so often trumps technique. After the sold out release of his own self-produced 45, the raunchy ‘Some Place’, and a string of exciting shows with his live group The Tarots, Nick went to work on his forthcoming full-length for Innovative Leisure – continuing an undeniably raw and rhythmic take on American music.

His approach to production – entirely vintage analog equipment, open-reel tape machines, lacquer cutting machines, and even hand letter-pressed labels – has left a few fans wondering where and when he comes from; Long-lost deadstock Rhythm & Blues artifact? White or Black? New or old? It’s a fitting recall to the days of early Rock & Roll, when rhythms crossed the tracks and no-one was quite sure WHAT or WHO this music was. As LA Record bears witness, “You’ve gotta be one kind of maniac to produce like this, and a whole other kind to shout like this, and an even more frightening kind to make the first two maniacs work together. Nick pulling this all off simultaneously means preternatural powers in play”

NICK WATERHOUSE IN THE PRESS!!

 

powered by: companyBE