CALENDAR   |   CONTACT   |   HAPPY HOUR   |   BOOKING   |   PAST ARTISTS   |   FOOD & DRINK


Wed May 25 |
THE SHELTERS
with ZERO FOUND, THROUGH THE MOUNTAIN
Thu May 26 |
HAPPY HOUR BINGO
with Win tix to Growlers, Caravan Palace, Joywave
Thu May 26 |
GO DARK
with AYTIKO
Fri May 27 |
CITRA
with WEST SIDE SAINTS, WATER AEROBICS, GALLERIES
Sat May 28 |
THE HOTELIER
with TOLD SLANT, LOONE
Sun May 29 |
FRUIT BATS
with TRUMMORS
Mon May 30 |
MIKE DEE(Z)
Tue May 31 |
MIKE DEE(Z)
Wed Jun 1 |
THE BROTHERS COMATOSE
with IN/PLANES, DARRIN BRADBURY
Thu Jun 2 |
PETE PIDGEON & ARCODA (ALBUM LAUNCH PARTY)
with Featuring Jennifer Hartswick & Natalie Cressman of the Trey Anastasio Band, LOLA RISING, GHOST TAPES
Fri Jun 3 |
SP DOUBLE
with YOUNG DOE, A MEAZY, AVIUS, FRANK COLEONE, 5280 MYSTIC, PAC, KONTRAST & FO CHIEF
Sat Jun 4 |
MANILA KILLA
with ANANDA, COOPAH TROOPAH
Sat Jun 4 |
SIR (SINGLE RELEASE)
with SF1, JEN KORTE
Sun Jun 5 |
TRIANGLE INTROVERTS
with COME HOME
Mon Jun 6 |
SUPERHEAVEN
with CREEPOID, SPIRIT OF THE BEEHIVE
Wed Jun 8 |
GROW WILD TOUR
with ROUND2CREW, BAD FEELINGS, WILL JAY, DYLAN HOLLAND, ZACH MATARI, BEN HAZLEWOOD, THE HOUSE ON CLIFF, RIVERS MONROE, with special surprise guests!
Thu Jun 9 |
RAY REED
with KOO QUA, TONIO ARMANI, K.P., DJ K TONE, DJ BAR 1NE
Fri Jun 10 |
FROM THE VOID
with LYFTD, SUPER DUPER, HENNE-Z, KIZER
Sat Jun 11 |
KEVIN MORBY
with JAYE BARTELL
Sun Jun 12 |
SUNDAY BBQ SERIES
with QUANTUM CREEP, FOR KEEPS, THE CLEARWINGS, MORNING BEAR, GINNY & THE BRIDGE BURNERS
Tue Jun 14 |
MUTUAL BENEFIT
with FLORIST, MRS. MAGICIAN
Tue Jun 14 |
BRONCHO (WALNUT ROOM)
with WINTER, BILLY CHANGER
Wed Jun 15 |
OLIVIA RUDEEN
with KAYLA MARQUE, DEVAN BLAKE JONES, CHRIS HARRIS
Thu Jun 16 |
CORB LUND
with ANDY HAMILTON & THE ROCKY MOUNTAIN CONTRABAND, COWBOY DAVE BAND
Fri Jun 17 |
APE MACHINE
with BRONZE, MONOCLE STACHE
Sat Jun 18 |
ESMÉ PATTERSON
with INNER OCEANS, LITTLES PAIA
Sun Jun 19 |
FATHERS DAY SUNDAY BBQ SERIES
with MEET THE GIANT, DEAD ORCHIDS, THE WORTH, PLASTIC DAGGERS
Mon Jun 20 |
EAGULLS
Tue Jun 21 |
THE HUNNA
Wed Jun 22 |
WHILK + MISKY
with CRL CRRLL, TOMMY METZ
Sat Jun 25 |
SWEAT DANCE PARTY FT.
Sun Jun 26 |
SUNDAY BBQ SERIES
with TOI ET MOI, EVAN HOLM BAND
Tue Jun 28 |
TWIN PEAKS
with NE-HI, PANTHER MARTIN
Sat Jul 2 |
BANDITS (7" RELEASE PARTY)
with BLANKET EMPIRE
Wed Jul 6 |
THE SHEEPDOGS
Fri Jul 8 |
DEAD WINTER CARPENTERS
Sun Jul 10 |
SUNDAY BBQ SERIES
Sun Jul 10 |
LAWRENCE
Tue Jul 12 |
PHOEBE RYAN
Thu Jul 14 |
THE EAGLE ROCK GOSPEL SINGERS
Sat Jul 16 |
MITSKI
with JAPANESE BREAKFAST, JAY SOM
Sun Jul 17 |
WHISKEY SHIVERS BBQ
Mon Jul 18 |
MARGARET GLASPY
Tue Jul 19 |
SMOKE SEASON
with CAUGHT A GHOST
Mon Jul 25 |
PINEGROVE
with SPORTS, HALF WAIF
Wed Jul 27 |
BOB LOG III
with KEVIN DOWLING
Thu Jul 28 |
THE DESLONDES
with THE HAUNTED WINDCHIMES
Fri Jul 29 |
THE NOISY FREAKS
Sat Jul 30 |
YONI & GETI
Sun Jul 31 |
ROBERT ELLIS
Mon Aug 1 |
OH PEP!
Tue Aug 2 |
HONNE
Sun Aug 7 |
RENO DIVORCE (BBQ SHOW)
with STRAIGHT OUTTA LUCK, WAKE THE BAT, GRANNY TWEED
Wed Aug 10 |
DECLAN MCKENNA
Thu Aug 11 |
PROTOMARTYR
Sat Aug 13 |
D.R.I.
with THE EIGHT BUCKS EXPERIMENT
Sun Aug 14 |
D.R.I. BBQ SHOW
with THE EIGHT BUCKS EXPERIMENT
Mon Aug 15 |
HUNNY
with GYMSHORTS
Wed Sep 14 |
HIGHASAKITE
Thu Sep 15 |
KHRUANGBIN
Thu Sep 22 |
KREWELLA
Fri Sep 23 |
CASS MCCOMBS
Tue Oct 18 |
TOBACCO

Wed Sep 26 | Larimer Lounge Presents...

NICK WATERHOUSE  

ALLAH-LAS
MILE HIGH SOUL CLUB DJ'S

Doors open at 8pm   |   Show starts at 9pm   |   $12.00 In Adv | $15.00 Day Of Show





Nick Waterhouse is the New Breed – An R&B fanatic who combines an uncanny old-school sensibility with a charged, contemporary style. At just 25, He joins the ranks of a growing cabale of similar acts and producers of recent times – Mark Ronson, Mayer Hawthorne, the Daptone Crew et al – that are all moving forward into the past, yet all quite different. For Waterhouse, his muse is the over-modulated sound of vintage R&B, and his take on such a time-honored tradition evokes the back-alley thrill of New Orleans, Detroit and Memphis in their heyday. He combines an astute attention to detail with an honest desire to match the emotional impact of the music that inspires him.

When asked to pinpoint the sound or style he strives for, Nick Waterhouse simply shrugs and responds, “American music. And I know that’s pretty general, but it is what it is. I have spent so much of my life immersed in this stuff, because I wanted to figure it out, [yet] all I figured out was that there was no plan.” In other words, whatever musical style Nick may choose to espouse, it’s not done because someone else did it, but done for the same reason someone else did it. “To me, [the music I play] is not a ‘type’ of music,” he emphasizes; “it IS music. The records I listen to ARE music. A record is a moment in time, and something recorded in 1955 is the same as something recorded in 2010.” Growing up in the Southern California, Waterhouse eschewed his surroundings and found emotional authenticity in the vintage wax of Ray Charles, Roy Head, Little Willie John and the whole panoply of American music, where feel so often trumps technique. After the sold out release of his own self-produced 45, the raunchy ‘Some Place’, and a string of exciting shows with his live group The Tarots, Nick went to work on his forthcoming full-length for Innovative Leisure – continuing an undeniably raw and rhythmic take on American music.

His approach to production – entirely vintage analog equipment, open-reel tape machines, lacquer cutting machines, and even hand letter-pressed labels – has left a few fans wondering where and when he comes from; Long-lost deadstock Rhythm & Blues artifact? White or Black? New or old? It’s a fitting recall to the days of early Rock & Roll, when rhythms crossed the tracks and no-one was quite sure WHAT or WHO this music was. As LA Record bears witness, “You’ve gotta be one kind of maniac to produce like this, and a whole other kind to shout like this, and an even more frightening kind to make the first two maniacs work together. Nick pulling this all off simultaneously means preternatural powers in play”

NICK WATERHOUSE IN THE PRESS!!

 

powered by: companyBE