CALENDAR   |   DIRECTIONS   |   CONTACT   |   HAPPY HOUR   |   BOOKING   |   PAST ARTISTS   |   RENTALS


Thu May 28 |
DAN MANGAN + BLACKSMITH
with BRENT COWLES (OF YOU ME & APOLLO)
Fri May 29 |
PALMA VIOLETS
with PUBLIC ACCESS TV
Sat May 30 |
SPEEDY ORTIZ
with PALEHOUND, ALEX G, ACCORDION CRIMES
Sun May 31 |
SUNDAY BBQ SERIES
with OLD SPORT, ANTERRIOR
Sun May 31 |
CROM COMEDY FESTIVAL
with POST BBQ SHOW
Mon Jun 1 |
WILL BUTLER
with JO FIRESTONE, PLUM
Tue Jun 2 |
BEFORE THE BULB
with NATIVE HARROW, SCARECROW REVIVAL, LUCAS
Wed Jun 3 |
DESERT NOISES
with TOMAHAWK FOX, VON STOMPER
Thu Jun 4 |
HAPPY HOUR BINGO - Win tix to Big Data, Death Grips, Young Rising Sons + more!
Thu Jun 4 |
MANDOLIN ORANGE
with JOSH OLIVER
Fri Jun 5 |
THE HELIO SEQUENCE
with LOST LANDER, REUBEN HOLLEBON
Sat Jun 6 |
THE JJ EVANOFF EXPERIENCE
with SECOND SPECIES, TRUE SCHOOL x R-DOO (COLLAB SET), MELODY LINES
Sun Jun 7 |
SUNDAY BBQ SERIES
with KITTY CRIMES, STEGOFORREST, SNUBLUCK, GHOULFRIEND, DAWN SAFARI
Mon Jun 8 |
JEREMY LOOPS
with PATRICK DETHLEFS
Tue Jun 9 |
THE LIFE AND TIMES
with NATIVE DAUGHTERS
Thu Jun 11 |
SPIRIT FAMILY REUNION
with EYE AND THE ARROW
Thu Jun 11 |
HAPPY HOUR BINGO - Win tix to Death Grips, Big Data, Neon Trees + more!
Fri Jun 12 |
THE NTH POWER
with YOJIMBO, HAMHOCK
Sat Jun 13 |
THE CAVE SINGERS
with ANDY THOMAS' DUST HEART
Sun Jun 14 |
SUNDAY BBQ SERIES
with MAJESTY, MOE HENDRIX OF F9, SUMGUY, RADDE HAYLEN / PYTHON, AMERICAN TRASH REPUBLIC
Sun Jun 14 |
RYLAND (w/ LIVE BAND)
with DOZE ONE, MOTION
Tue Jun 16 |
ELECTRIC SIX
with WHITE REAPER, BRANDED BANDITS
Tue Jun 16 |
LITTLE HURRICANE (AT WALNUT ROOM)
with YOUNG BUFFALO
Wed Jun 17 |
DEAD MEADOW (NIGHT ONE)
with PALE SUN, THE SAVAGE BLUSH
Thu Jun 18 |
DEAD MEADOW (NIGHT TWO)
with EMERALD SIAM, PALEHORSE/PALERIDER
Fri Jun 19 |
ROYAL THUNDER
Sat Jun 20 |
SAN CISCO
with MOTHXR
Tue Jun 23 |
ELLE KING
Wed Jun 24 |
FRONTIER RUCKUS
Thu Jun 25 |
FREAKY NORTH: EP RELEASE SHOW
with ANCIENT ELK, SPACE SUITS FOR INDIANS
Fri Jun 26 |
TRAILS & WAYS
with WATERSTRIDER
Sat Jun 27 |
SHELCO GARCIA
Sun Jun 28 |
SUNDAY BBQ SERIES
with CHAD PRICE (ALL/DRAG THE RIVER), OL' HICKORY, SATURN COWBOYS
Tue Jun 30 |
CABINET
Fri Jul 3 |
TANLINES
with MAS YSA
Sun Jul 5 |
SUNDAY BBQ SERIES
Tue Jul 7 |
THE DELTA SAINTS
with RYAN CHRYS & THE ROUGH CUTS
Wed Jul 8 |
UNCLE LUCIUS
Sat Jul 11 |
K. FLAY
Sun Jul 12 |
GRISWOLDS
Tue Jul 14 |
JAY BRANNAN
Wed Jul 15 |
SARAH BETHE NELSON
with AMERICAN CULTURE
Thu Jul 16 |
EP RELEASE PARTY
with GET ALONG, THE CIRCUS HOUSE, INNERSPACE
Mon Jul 20 |
CAYUCAS
with HIBOU
Tue Jul 21 |
ELENI MANDELL
with COURTNEY MARIE ANDREWS, NATALIE TATE
Fri Jul 24 |
MELT BANANA
Sun Jul 26 |
SUNDAY BBQ SERIES
with FOREVERFALL, DORSIA, OCTOBER SKIES, WITCHFINGER, with post show by, MITCHEL EVAN & THE MANGROVE
Tue Jul 28 |
CHAPPO
Wed Jul 29 |
LOWER DENS
Tue Aug 4 |
SCREAMING FEMALES
with DIRTY FEW, VACATION
Wed Aug 5 |
THE SPILL CANVAS
with 10 Year Anniversary Tour for One Fell Swoop
Thu Aug 6 |
GIVERS
with AERO FLYNN
Fri Aug 7 |
CIVIL TWILIGHT
Fri Aug 7 |
RASPUTINA
with DANIEL KNOX
Sat Aug 8 |
X AMBASSADORS
with LANY
Tue Aug 11 |
METZ
with BIG UPS, DILLY DALLY
Sat Oct 10 |
THE GIRAFFES
Sat Oct 24 |
THE BROTHERS COMATOSE

Wed Sep 26 | Larimer Lounge Presents...

NICK WATERHOUSE  

ALLAH-LAS
MILE HIGH SOUL CLUB DJ'S

Doors open at 8pm   |   Show starts at 9pm   |   $12.00 In Adv | $15.00 Day Of Show





Nick Waterhouse is the New Breed – An R&B fanatic who combines an uncanny old-school sensibility with a charged, contemporary style. At just 25, He joins the ranks of a growing cabale of similar acts and producers of recent times – Mark Ronson, Mayer Hawthorne, the Daptone Crew et al – that are all moving forward into the past, yet all quite different. For Waterhouse, his muse is the over-modulated sound of vintage R&B, and his take on such a time-honored tradition evokes the back-alley thrill of New Orleans, Detroit and Memphis in their heyday. He combines an astute attention to detail with an honest desire to match the emotional impact of the music that inspires him.

When asked to pinpoint the sound or style he strives for, Nick Waterhouse simply shrugs and responds, “American music. And I know that’s pretty general, but it is what it is. I have spent so much of my life immersed in this stuff, because I wanted to figure it out, [yet] all I figured out was that there was no plan.” In other words, whatever musical style Nick may choose to espouse, it’s not done because someone else did it, but done for the same reason someone else did it. “To me, [the music I play] is not a ‘type’ of music,” he emphasizes; “it IS music. The records I listen to ARE music. A record is a moment in time, and something recorded in 1955 is the same as something recorded in 2010.” Growing up in the Southern California, Waterhouse eschewed his surroundings and found emotional authenticity in the vintage wax of Ray Charles, Roy Head, Little Willie John and the whole panoply of American music, where feel so often trumps technique. After the sold out release of his own self-produced 45, the raunchy ‘Some Place’, and a string of exciting shows with his live group The Tarots, Nick went to work on his forthcoming full-length for Innovative Leisure – continuing an undeniably raw and rhythmic take on American music.

His approach to production – entirely vintage analog equipment, open-reel tape machines, lacquer cutting machines, and even hand letter-pressed labels – has left a few fans wondering where and when he comes from; Long-lost deadstock Rhythm & Blues artifact? White or Black? New or old? It’s a fitting recall to the days of early Rock & Roll, when rhythms crossed the tracks and no-one was quite sure WHAT or WHO this music was. As LA Record bears witness, “You’ve gotta be one kind of maniac to produce like this, and a whole other kind to shout like this, and an even more frightening kind to make the first two maniacs work together. Nick pulling this all off simultaneously means preternatural powers in play”

NICK WATERHOUSE IN THE PRESS!!

 

powered by: companyBE