CALENDAR   |   DIRECTIONS   |   CONTACT   |   HAPPY HOUR   |   BOOKING   |   PAST ARTISTS   |   RENTALS


Fri Jan 30 |
LAND LINES (ALBUM RELEASE)
with SNAKE RATTLE RATTLE SNAKE, PORLOLO
Sat Jan 31 |
MATES OF STATE
with FICTIONIST
Tue Feb 3 |
SAINT MOTEL
with THE MOTH AND THE FLAME, BROLLY
Wed Feb 4 |
BAD SUNS
with COASTS, MAUDLIN STRANGERS
Thu Feb 5 |
HAPPY HOUR BINGO - Win tix to Broods, Theopholis London, OK GO + more!
Thu Feb 5 |
HAYWYRE
with STELOUSE, SLOANE PETERSON
Fri Feb 6 |
THE MOTHER HIPS
with STRANGE AMERICANS
Sat Feb 7 |
MR. MIDAS
with TREV RICH, A.P., CATCH LUNGS, PLANES!, DJ DIF'RENT (DRUM SQUAD DJ)
Wed Feb 11 |
THE MASTERSONS
with AARON LEE TASJAN
Thu Feb 12 |
BODY LANGUAGE
with BOLLYWOOD LIFE
Fri Feb 13 |
NO BS! BRASS BAND
with OTHER BLACK
Sat Feb 14 |
GIRAFFAGE
with SPAZZKID, REAL COSBY
Sun Feb 15 |
MADELINE'S REVENGE (album release)
with COOL DOG'S IN THE KENNEL (album release), REALTALK
Mon Feb 16 |
THEM RAGGEDY BONES
with CASEY WAYNE SMITH, KIMBERLY OTTE
Tue Feb 17 |
CATFISH & THE BOTTLEMEN
Wed Feb 18 |
WHITE ARROWS
with SHADY ELDERS, SLOW CAVES
Thu Feb 19 |
JESSICA LEA MAYFIELD
Sat Feb 21 |
DECADON
with XENOLOGY, GEODESIK, ||R | M | M||
Tue Feb 24 |
KATE VOEGELE
with LEROY SANCHEZ
Wed Feb 25 |
DRINKING WITH CHARLIE
with ALL DOGS INVITED, PAPER MOONSHINE, LANDLORD
Thu Feb 26 |
SOFT SKULLS
with SALADS AND SUNBEAMS
Fri Feb 27 |
THE DISTRICTS
with PINE BARONS, PLUM
Sat Feb 28 |
CURRENT SWELL
Mon Mar 2 |
EDDIE SPAGHETTI
with JIM DALTON (OF RAILBENDERS)
Wed Mar 4 |
KAWEHI
Fri Mar 6 |
DAVID COOK
Sat Mar 7 |
MOON HOOCH
with TODAY'S PARAMOUNT
Wed Mar 11 |
SPACE SUITS FOR INDIANS
with DRUNKIN' RELATIVES, SEE YOU HOME WOLF, THE HOLLOW HEARTED
Thu Mar 12 |
BARK WILSON
with ANCIENT ELK, JOSH MOOREHEAD
Sat Mar 14 |
CORNMEAL
Mon Mar 23 |
GEOGRAPHER
with WILD ONES
Tue Mar 24 |
VIET CONG
Wed Mar 25 |
PUBLIC SERVICE BROADCASTING
Tue Mar 31 |
THE LAST BISON
with NEULORE
Wed Apr 1 |
DISAPPEARS
Sat Apr 4 |
HAWTHORNE HEIGHTS
with COURAGE MY LOVE, MARK ROSE, SHANE HENDERSON, DAYSEEKER
Thu Apr 9 |
DENGUE FEVER
Mon Apr 13 |
DEAP VALLY
with LA WITCHES
Fri Apr 17 |
REPTAR
Sat May 2 |
LADY LAMB THE BEEKEEPER
Sat May 23 |
MYSTIC BRAVES

Thu Sep 12 | Radio 1190 and Twist & Shout Presents | 16+

DARWIN DEEZ  

CAGED ANIMALS
RUBEDO

Doors open at 8pm   |   Show starts at 9pm   |   $15.00 In Adv | $18.00 Day Of Show | 16+





Born in Chapel Hill, North Carolina to Maher Baba disciples, Darwin studied and performed as a tap dancer from age 8 to 18. His first compositions were guitar pop songs that he wrote aged 11 after his father, an amateur songwriter and a professional psychologist taught him his first chords. By age 13 Darwin was listening to electronic music – Chemical Brothers and The Prodigy and jungle/drum ‘n bass and indie hip hop such as Dr. Octagon, composing mostly epic instrumental jungle throughout his teens.

After attending and promptly dropping out of Wesleyan University, Connecticut Darwin moved to NYC’s East Village. Here he worked as a waiter at a vegan restaurant whilst picking up his guitar in spare moments, this time with less strings and a less traditional approach to composition. Inspired by Animal Collective and The Strokes, he composed noise pop that no one ever heard, then got serious about music and started attending open mic nights. Having discovered the joy of lyric writing and becoming “Darwin Deez”, he created his successful eponymous debut, which featured future hit singles ‘Constellations’, ‘Radar Detector’ and ‘Up In the Clouds’.

Forming a band, member by member until there were four, they signed to UK independent label Lucky Number in late 2009 and spent the next 2 years touring the world. When time came to make album two in the fall of 2012, Darwin relocated from the chaotic hustle and flow of New York City to Asheville, North Carolina so he could work and record free of distractions. The results? 2013’s sophomore LP ‘Songs For Imaginative People’, which comes out Feb 11th 2013 and is preceded by the single ‘Free (The Editorial Me)’. Singularly a brilliant, hilarious, complex, entertaining individual, Darwin Deez writes songs that will make you want to bust out your dancing shoes while also cutting to that raw, emotional nerve.

 

powered by: companyBE