CALENDAR   |   DIRECTIONS   |   CONTACT   |   HAPPY HOUR   |   BOOKING   |   PAST ARTISTS   |   RENTALS


Thu Jul 31 |
HAPPY HOUR BINGO - Win tix to Phantogram, Jolie Holland, Future Islands + more
Thu Jul 31 |
JAMES WALLACE AND THE NAKED LIGHT
with BONE ORCHARD REVIVAL, JUSTIN HULSEY
Fri Aug 1 |
MYTHirst
with FURBIE CAKES, Felix FAST4WARD, CUEBOC, PATRICK SKYLER
Sat Aug 2 |
OKO TYGRA
with UMBRELLA WEATHER, HIRAETH, CURTA
Sun Aug 3 |
SHANGHAI SALLY
with NEPTUNIAN WEATHERVANE, RYAN D WHITE AND THE SPINS, THE ELECTRIC DAISIES
Sun Aug 3 |
STOOGES BRASS BAND
with HOT SOUP
Tue Aug 5 |
NATURAL VIBRATIONS
with HI ROOTS, MONO VERDE
Thu Aug 7 |
JOLIE HOLLAND
with SHY HUNTERS, PLUME VARIA
Fri Aug 8 |
XIU XIU
with CIRCUT DES YEUX, EROS & THE ESCHATON
Fri Aug 8 |
ICONOPLASTY
with NEW LEVERAGE
Sat Aug 9 |
CULTURA PROF√ČTICA
with IZCALLI
Thu Aug 14 |
SWEAR AND SHAKE
with VON STOMPER, TOMAHAWK FOX
Fri Aug 15 |
LITTLE DAYLIGHT
with YOUNG RISING SONS
Sun Aug 17 |
BUD BRONSON & THE GOOD TIMERS
with WIREDOGS, MILES TO MOUNTAINS, THE OUTFIT, INSTANT EMPIRE, NATO COLES & THE BLUE DIAMOND BAND, THE PATIENT ZEROS
Tue Aug 19 |
THE COATHANGERS
with WHITE FANG, NED GARTHE EXPLOSION
Wed Aug 20 |
THE BEN HANNA BAND
with WANDERING NATIVES, THE THREADBARONS
Thu Aug 21 |
BLACK MAGIC DARKNESS
with MEDUSA1975
Fri Aug 22 |
MORNING BEAR
Sat Aug 23 |
BLACK KIDS
with SLOW CAVES, THE CIRCUS HOUSE
Sun Aug 24 |
LITERATI RECORDS SHOWCASE
with CLOUD CATCHER, THE CUTTHROAT DRIFTERS, ...AND THE BLACK FEATHERS, THE PATIENT ZEROS, REMEMBER THE RADIO, COUGAR GOLD, THE BORN READIES, JEFFREY DALLET
Mon Aug 25 |
MC FRONTALOT
with DR AWKWARD
Tue Aug 26 |
JESSICA HERNANDEZ & THE DELTAS
with VARLET
Fri Aug 29 |
VICES I ADMIRE
with STRIP THE STARS, LEASH OF FOXES
Sat Aug 30 |
BOB LOG III
with THE HOLLYFELDS, THE GHOST OF JOSEPH BUCK
Wed Sep 3 |
KNOX HAMILTON
Thu Sep 4 |
YUNA
Fri Sep 5 |
PARADISE FEARS
with WILLIAM BECKETT, THE HOST CLUB
Sat Sep 6 |
DRAG THE RIVER
with DENVER BRONCOS UK, OL HICKORY
Mon Sep 8 |
JOEY CAPE
Fri Sep 12 |
TOBACCO
with THE STARGAZER LILIES, OSCILLATOR BUG
Sat Sep 13 |
GOLDRUSH MUSIC FESTIVAL
with MT EERIE, clipping., RUMTUM and more
Sun Sep 14 |
GOLDRUSH MUSIC FESTIVAL
with MT EERIE, clipping., RUMTUM and more
Sat Sep 20 |
THE WHIGS
Wed Sep 24 |
MIKE WATT
with THE POLLUTION
Thu Sep 25 |
GLASS ANIMALS
Sun Sep 28 |
AGENT ORANGE
with IN THE WHALE
Tue Sep 30 |
KOPECKY FAMILY BAND
with AVID DANCER
Wed Oct 1 |
EARTH
with KING DUDE
Thu Oct 2 |
BEACH FOSSILS
with HEAVENLY BEAT, AXXA/ABRAXAS
Sat Oct 4 |
THE GIRAFFES
Tue Oct 7 |
BAHAMAS
with BASIA BULAT
Tue Oct 14 |
ASGEIR
Wed Oct 15 |
SONREAL
Mon Oct 20 |
TURQUOISE JEEP
with YIP DECEIVER
Fri Oct 31 |
SECRET CHIEFS 3
Sat Nov 8 |
JUDAH & THE LION
Mon Nov 10 |
SOHN
Fri Nov 21 |
J MASCIS (NIGHT ONE)
with LULUC
Sat Nov 22 |
J MASCIS (NIGHT TWO)
with LULUC
Tue Dec 2 |
MY BRIGHTEST DIAMOND

Fri Feb 8 | Larimer Lounge Presents...

BIRCH STREET  

THE PORTRAIT
BAD MAPS
THE QUERY
MIDNIGHT VINE

Doors open at 7pm   |   Show starts at 8pm   |   $10.00



 

Although they have been together for a little over a year, Birch Street has quickly become one of Denver’s most celebrated up-and-coming acts, racking up a win at the yearly Denver Hard Rock Battle Of The Bands a mere two months after their formation and playing at many reputable venues such as the Oriental Theatre and the Larimer Lounge. But behind these accolades lie a tight-knit quintet of long time friends with their own unique flavor of rock and roll blended with dirty blues and country soul. Their meaningful lyrics and musicianship evoke and transform the traditions of these genres in such a way that is celebrated by traditionalists and modern appreciators alike. The roots of Birch Street date back to their high school years, with friends Jake Langenhorst and Chad Macht singing in choir together. Over the years, the two often spoke of forming a band but it wasn't until mid 2011 that they finally decided to follow through, first recruiting drummer Cooper Leith. Having laid the foundations for the band, the search continued for more members while the trio wrote original material and rehearsed incessantly. The natural chemistry they found with keyboardist Sheldon Slater and lead guitarist Andy Burns allowed the band to grow fast, quickly gaining a reputation locally as an extremely talented and unique band.
 
Langenhorst’s talent is immediately evident as a frontman, with a strong tenor voice drawing comparisons to the likes of John Popper and Chris Robinson, with the passion and live energy of Brandon Boyd and Zack de la Rocha. Next is bassist Chad Macht, whose playing is quickly reminiscent of Flea in the way he builds funky bass lines while supporting the melody Jake is singing . Holding down the groove is Cooper Leith on set, a heavy hitting rocker like Bonham but with the soul and taste of Levon Helm, fitting like a glove with the bass. Alongside him is Slater, laying down organ solos and Elton-esque piano ballads but with the blues of Jerry Lee Lewis. Lastly, but surely not least, is rocker Andy Burns who, like Slater, brings the blues to the table with his playing clearly paying homage to the likes of Hendrix and Stevie Ray Vaughn. Together, they work to create something bigger than themselves. Something that is clearly evident with every word they write and every note they play. Performing mostly original tunes at every show and writing new ones on a weekly basis, the Colorado born-and-raised quintet is eager to keep growing and push the boundaries of their music. Come to one show and you will witness the passion, talent, and strive that make Birch Street a major player in the music scene.
powered by: companyBE