CALENDAR   |   CONTACT   |   HAPPY HOUR   |   BOOKING   |   PAST ARTISTS   |   FOOD & DRINK


Sun May 29 |
FRUIT BATS
with TRUMMORS
Mon May 30 |
MIKE DEE(Z)
Tue May 31 |
MIKE DEE(Z)
Wed Jun 1 |
THE BROTHERS COMATOSE
with IN/PLANES, DARRIN BRADBURY
Thu Jun 2 |
PETE PIDGEON & ARCODA (ALBUM LAUNCH PARTY)
with Featuring Jennifer Hartswick & Natalie Cressman of the Trey Anastasio Band, LOLA RISING, GHOST TAPES
Fri Jun 3 |
SP DOUBLE
with YOUNG DOE, A MEAZY, AVIUS, FRANK COLEONE, 5280 MYSTIC, PAC, KONTRAST & FO CHIEF
Sat Jun 4 |
MANILA KILLA
with ANANDA, COOPAH TROOPAH
Sat Jun 4 |
SIR (SINGLE RELEASE)
with SF1, JEN KORTE
Sun Jun 5 |
TRIANGLE INTROVERTS
with FLOYEE, COME HOME, GOODNIGHT FREEMAN
Mon Jun 6 |
SUPERHEAVEN
with CREEPOID, SPIRIT OF THE BEEHIVE
Thu Jun 9 |
RAY REED
with KOO QUA, TONIO ARMANI, K.P., DJ K TONE, DJ BAR 1NE
Fri Jun 10 |
FROM THE VOID
with LYFTD, SUPER DUPER, HENNE-Z, KIZER
Sat Jun 11 |
KEVIN MORBY
with JAYE BARTELL
Sun Jun 12 |
SUNDAY BBQ SERIES
with QUANTUM CREEP, FOR KEEPS, THE CLEARWINGS, MORNING BEAR, GINNY & THE BRIDGE BURNERS, DEAR RABBIT
Tue Jun 14 |
MUTUAL BENEFIT
with FLORIST, MRS. MAGICIAN
Tue Jun 14 |
BRONCHO (WALNUT ROOM)
with WINTER, BILLY CHANGER
Wed Jun 15 |
OLIVIA RUDEEN
with KAYLA MARQUE, DEVAN BLAKE JONES, CHRIS HARRIS
Thu Jun 16 |
CORB LUND
with ANDY HAMILTON & THE ROCKY MOUNTAIN CONTRABAND, COWBOY DAVE BAND
Fri Jun 17 |
APE MACHINE
with BRONZE, MONOCLE STACHE
Sat Jun 18 |
ESMÉ PATTERSON
with INNER OCEANS, LITTLES PAIA
Sun Jun 19 |
FATHERS DAY SUNDAY BBQ SERIES
with MEET THE GIANT, DEAD ORCHIDS, THE WORTH, PLASTIC DAGGERS
Mon Jun 20 |
EAGULLS
Tue Jun 21 |
THE HUNNA
Wed Jun 22 |
WHILK & MISKY
with CRL CRRLL, TOMMY METZ
Fri Jun 24 |
FRONSTIDE FIVE
with POOR ME, WORST NEIGHBORS
Sat Jun 25 |
SWEAT DANCE PARTY FT.
Sun Jun 26 |
SUNDAY BBQ SERIES
with TOI ET MOI, EVAN HOLM BAND, LAST OF THE EASY RIDERS
Tue Jun 28 |
TWIN PEAKS
with NE-HI, PANTHER MARTIN
Sat Jul 2 |
BANDITS (7" RELEASE)
with BLANKET EMPIRE
Sun Jul 3 |
SUNDAY BBQ SERIES
with ZAGRICULTURE, HR PEOPLE, OPTYCNERD, EM POSSIBLE
Tue Jul 5 |
THE BALTIC (EP RELEASE)
with TURVY ORGAN
Wed Jul 6 |
THE SHEEPDOGS
Fri Jul 8 |
DEAD WINTER CARPENTERS
Sat Jul 9 |
JESSE R.S.
with MITCHEL EVAN & THE MANGROVE, WILL CROSSLAND (of Digg)
Sun Jul 10 |
LAWRENCE
Sun Jul 10 |
SUNDAY BBQ SERIES
Tue Jul 12 |
PHOEBE RYAN
Wed Jul 13 |
THE APOSTLED KNASH
with GREEN HIT, JIVE TRIBE, SAVE OUR CITY
Thu Jul 14 |
THE EAGLE ROCK GOSPEL SINGERS
Sat Jul 16 |
MITSKI
with JAPANESE BREAKFAST, JAY SOM
Sun Jul 17 |
WHISKEY SHIVERS BBQ
Mon Jul 18 |
MARGARET GLASPY
Tue Jul 19 |
SMOKE SEASON
with CAUGHT A GHOST
Mon Jul 25 |
PINEGROVE
with SPORTS, HALF WAIF
Wed Jul 27 |
BOB LOG III
with KEVIN DOWLING
Thu Jul 28 |
THE DESLONDES
with THE HAUNTED WINDCHIMES
Fri Jul 29 |
THE NOISY FREAKS
Sat Jul 30 |
YONI & GETI
Sun Jul 31 |
ROBERT ELLIS
Mon Aug 1 |
OH PEP!
Tue Aug 2 |
HONNE
Sun Aug 7 |
RENO DIVORCE (BBQ SHOW)
with STRAIGHT OUTTA LUCK, WAKE THE BAT, GRANNY TWEED
Wed Aug 10 |
DECLAN MCKENNA
Thu Aug 11 |
PROTOMARTYR
Sat Aug 13 |
D.R.I.
with THE EIGHT BUCKS EXPERIMENT
Sun Aug 14 |
D.R.I. BBQ SHOW
with THE EIGHT BUCKS EXPERIMENT
Mon Aug 15 |
HUNNY
with GYMSHORTS
Wed Sep 14 |
HIGHASAKITE
Thu Sep 15 |
KHRUANGBIN
Thu Sep 22 |
KREWELLA
Fri Sep 23 |
CASS MCCOMBS
Tue Oct 18 |
TOBACCO

Fri Feb 8 | Larimer Lounge Presents...

BIRCH STREET  

THE PORTRAIT
BAD MAPS
THE QUERY
MIDNIGHT VINE

Doors open at 7pm   |   Show starts at 8pm   |   $10.00



 

Although they have been together for a little over a year, Birch Street has quickly become one of Denver’s most celebrated up-and-coming acts, racking up a win at the yearly Denver Hard Rock Battle Of The Bands a mere two months after their formation and playing at many reputable venues such as the Oriental Theatre and the Larimer Lounge. But behind these accolades lie a tight-knit quintet of long time friends with their own unique flavor of rock and roll blended with dirty blues and country soul. Their meaningful lyrics and musicianship evoke and transform the traditions of these genres in such a way that is celebrated by traditionalists and modern appreciators alike. The roots of Birch Street date back to their high school years, with friends Jake Langenhorst and Chad Macht singing in choir together. Over the years, the two often spoke of forming a band but it wasn't until mid 2011 that they finally decided to follow through, first recruiting drummer Cooper Leith. Having laid the foundations for the band, the search continued for more members while the trio wrote original material and rehearsed incessantly. The natural chemistry they found with keyboardist Sheldon Slater and lead guitarist Andy Burns allowed the band to grow fast, quickly gaining a reputation locally as an extremely talented and unique band.
 
Langenhorst’s talent is immediately evident as a frontman, with a strong tenor voice drawing comparisons to the likes of John Popper and Chris Robinson, with the passion and live energy of Brandon Boyd and Zack de la Rocha. Next is bassist Chad Macht, whose playing is quickly reminiscent of Flea in the way he builds funky bass lines while supporting the melody Jake is singing . Holding down the groove is Cooper Leith on set, a heavy hitting rocker like Bonham but with the soul and taste of Levon Helm, fitting like a glove with the bass. Alongside him is Slater, laying down organ solos and Elton-esque piano ballads but with the blues of Jerry Lee Lewis. Lastly, but surely not least, is rocker Andy Burns who, like Slater, brings the blues to the table with his playing clearly paying homage to the likes of Hendrix and Stevie Ray Vaughn. Together, they work to create something bigger than themselves. Something that is clearly evident with every word they write and every note they play. Performing mostly original tunes at every show and writing new ones on a weekly basis, the Colorado born-and-raised quintet is eager to keep growing and push the boundaries of their music. Come to one show and you will witness the passion, talent, and strive that make Birch Street a major player in the music scene.
powered by: companyBE