CALENDAR   |   DIRECTIONS   |   CONTACT   |   HAPPY HOUR   |   BOOKING   |   PAST ARTISTS   |   RENTALS


Tue Apr 21 |
AN EVENING WITH... PARKER MILLSAP
Wed Apr 22 |
SHY GIRLS
with YOUNG EJECTA
Thu Apr 23 |
HAPPY HOUR BINGO - Win tix to Purity Ring, Death Grips, Neon Trees + more!
Thu Apr 23 |
MC SUPERNATURAL (BIRTHDAY PARTY)
Fri Apr 24 |
OWEN (AMERICAN FOOTBALL)
with BLAKE BROWN (SOLO)
Sat Apr 25 |
COASTS
with ZELLA DAY
Sun Apr 26 |
SEOUL
with OKO TYGRA
Tue Apr 28 |
HAMHOCK
with THE PARTITION, RED NINJA
Wed Apr 29 |
DRINK DRANK PUNK
with THE PLATES, DIRT, FINGER PIE
Thu Apr 30 |
LINDI ORTEGA
with ANDREW COMBS, CASEY JAMES PRESTWOOD
Fri May 1 |
TORTUGA
with TKETTLE, N3U3S, HARHIGH
Sat May 2 |
LADY LAMB THE BEEKEEPER
with RATHBORNE, BLUEBOOK
Tue May 5 |
EL JAVI
with DURAN, RAUL
Thu May 7 |
YOUNG FATHERS
with MAS YSA, INPUT
Fri May 8 |
THE ROYAL
with ROOTBEER AND MERMENTAU
Sat May 9 |
RED FOX RUN
with VIRETTA, SLOW CAVES
Wed May 13 |
THE RED PAINTINGS
Thu May 14 |
THE RENTALS
with RADIATION CITY, REY PILA
Fri May 15 |
A TRIBE CALLED RED
with DIGITAL CONNECTION, NEED & NECESSITY
Sat May 16 |
JAKUBI
Mon May 18 |
TODAY IS THE DAY
with LAZER/WULF
Tue May 19 |
LOCAL H
with ALL EYES WEST
Wed May 20 |
B-SIDE PLAYERS
with MONO VERDE
Thu May 21 |
PIGPEN THEATRE CO.
with GOODNIGHT, TEXAS
Fri May 22 |
THE LAVELLAS
with DARK ORCHID, ORBITING BLUE, INTRE-VENUS & THE COSMONAUTS
Sat May 23 |
MYSTIC BRAVES
with THE KINKY FINGERS
Tue May 26 |
MIAMI HORROR
Wed May 27 |
KATE TEMPEST
Thu May 28 |
DAN MANGAN + BLACKSMITH
Fri May 29 |
PALMA VIOLETS
with PUBLIC ACCESS TV
Sat May 30 |
SPEEDY ORTIZ
with PALEHOUND, ALEX G, ACCORDION CRIMES
Wed Jun 3 |
DESERT NOISES
Thu Jun 4 |
MANDOLIN ORANGE
Fri Jun 5 |
THE HELIO SEQUENCE
Mon Jun 8 |
JEREMY LOOPS
Tue Jun 9 |
THE LIFE AND TIMES
Thu Jun 11 |
SPIRIT FAMILY REUNION
Fri Jun 12 |
THE NTH POWER
with YOJIMBO
Sat Jun 13 |
THE CAVE SINGERS
Tue Jun 16 |
ELECTRIC SIX
with WHITE REAPER, BRANDED BANDITS
Wed Jun 17 |
DEAD MEADOW (NIGHT ONE)
Thu Jun 18 |
DEAD MEADOW (NIGHT TWO)
Fri Jun 19 |
ROYAL THUNDER
Sat Jun 20 |
SAN CISCO
with THE PRETTIOTS
Fri Jun 26 |
TRAILS & WAYS
Fri Jul 3 |
TANLINES
Tue Jul 7 |
THE DELTA SAINTS
Tue Jul 14 |
JAY BRANNAN
Fri Jul 24 |
MELT BANANA
Tue Jul 28 |
CHAPPO
Wed Jul 29 |
LOWER DENS
Tue Aug 11 |
METZ

Fri Feb 8 | Larimer Lounge Presents...

BIRCH STREET  

THE PORTRAIT
BAD MAPS
THE QUERY
MIDNIGHT VINE

Doors open at 7pm   |   Show starts at 8pm   |   $10.00



 

Although they have been together for a little over a year, Birch Street has quickly become one of Denver’s most celebrated up-and-coming acts, racking up a win at the yearly Denver Hard Rock Battle Of The Bands a mere two months after their formation and playing at many reputable venues such as the Oriental Theatre and the Larimer Lounge. But behind these accolades lie a tight-knit quintet of long time friends with their own unique flavor of rock and roll blended with dirty blues and country soul. Their meaningful lyrics and musicianship evoke and transform the traditions of these genres in such a way that is celebrated by traditionalists and modern appreciators alike. The roots of Birch Street date back to their high school years, with friends Jake Langenhorst and Chad Macht singing in choir together. Over the years, the two often spoke of forming a band but it wasn't until mid 2011 that they finally decided to follow through, first recruiting drummer Cooper Leith. Having laid the foundations for the band, the search continued for more members while the trio wrote original material and rehearsed incessantly. The natural chemistry they found with keyboardist Sheldon Slater and lead guitarist Andy Burns allowed the band to grow fast, quickly gaining a reputation locally as an extremely talented and unique band.
 
Langenhorst’s talent is immediately evident as a frontman, with a strong tenor voice drawing comparisons to the likes of John Popper and Chris Robinson, with the passion and live energy of Brandon Boyd and Zack de la Rocha. Next is bassist Chad Macht, whose playing is quickly reminiscent of Flea in the way he builds funky bass lines while supporting the melody Jake is singing . Holding down the groove is Cooper Leith on set, a heavy hitting rocker like Bonham but with the soul and taste of Levon Helm, fitting like a glove with the bass. Alongside him is Slater, laying down organ solos and Elton-esque piano ballads but with the blues of Jerry Lee Lewis. Lastly, but surely not least, is rocker Andy Burns who, like Slater, brings the blues to the table with his playing clearly paying homage to the likes of Hendrix and Stevie Ray Vaughn. Together, they work to create something bigger than themselves. Something that is clearly evident with every word they write and every note they play. Performing mostly original tunes at every show and writing new ones on a weekly basis, the Colorado born-and-raised quintet is eager to keep growing and push the boundaries of their music. Come to one show and you will witness the passion, talent, and strive that make Birch Street a major player in the music scene.
powered by: companyBE