CALENDAR   |   DIRECTIONS   |   CONTACT   |   HAPPY HOUR   |   BOOKING   |   PAST ARTISTS   |   RENTALS


Mon Dec 22 |
BRONCOS VS. BENGALS
Tue Dec 23 |
BOTTLE ROCKET SCIENCE
with DRINK DRANK PUNK, FINGER PIE
Fri Dec 26 |
DIRTY//CLEAN 3 YEAR PARTY
with BEDROCKK, MOSIS, DAWN SAFARI, GUNKST, GLASSY
Sat Dec 27 |
THE KNEW
with CASEY JAMES PRESTWOOD & THE BURNING ANGELS, THE TRADE-INS, ROBERT LOUIS COLE
Sun Dec 28 |
BRONCOS VS. RAIDERS
Sun Dec 28 |
LUCIDA TELA
with DUST:ORBITER, GREEN DRUID, ASSAULT ON THE COMMONPLACE
Mon Dec 29 |
OREN L
with 750, COURIER & JAX ZEN, THE BLUNT INSTRUMENTS, VON DISCO
Tue Dec 30 |
IN THE WHALE (FREE SHOW)
with THE BALTIC, WE ARE NOT A GLUM LOT
Wed Dec 31 |
ROSE QUARTZ (EP RELEASE)
with SUNBOY, OKO TYGRA, DJ FANCY MATTHEW
Fri Jan 2 |
DILLON FORD & THE LOSERS (Farewell show)
with GRAND CENTRAL, THE BABYSITTERS, COOL DOGS IN THE KENNELS
Sat Jan 3 |
RADICAL ACTION
with COYOTE JUNCTION, HERE'S TO FIGHTIN' , TRANSFER STATION, THEM RAGGEDY BONES
Wed Jan 7 |
KALMIA
with THE RABBITS ATOM, CASEY WAYNE SMITH, PAUL KIMBRIS
Fri Jan 9 |
COLFAX SPEED QUEEN
with THE KINKY FINGERS, THE SAVAGE BLUSH, SPEED WOBBLE
Tue Jan 13 |
RAW FORM
with MIKE CANO'S MUSHROOM FUNK, FYA
Wed Jan 14 |
MINER
with BONNIE AND THE BEARD
Thu Jan 15 |
FURBIE CAKES
with MYTHirst, Felix FAST4WARD, SUFFERS AND BRISCO JONES
Sat Jan 17 |
INSTANT EMPIRE
with THE ROYAL, MONTONEROS
Wed Jan 21 |
SHANE TULLY & THE RAIN
with THE REAL FOLK BLUES, COLLIN KITTY, THE SABOTEURS
Thu Jan 22 |
MYKKI BLANCO
Fri Jan 23 |
JUKEBOX THE GHOST
with TWIN FORKS, SECRET SOMEONES
Sat Jan 24 |
WASTELAND HOP
with WHEELCHAIR SPORTS CAMP, THE OTHER BLACK
Tue Jan 27 |
KING TUFF
with AMERICAN CULTURE
Fri Jan 30 |
LAND LINES (ALBUM RELEASE)
with SNAKE RATTLE RATTLE SNAKE, PORLOLO
Sat Jan 31 |
MATES OF STATE
with FICTIONIST
Tue Feb 3 |
SAINT MOTEL
with THE MOTH AND THE FLAME
Wed Feb 4 |
BAD SUNS
with COASTS, MAUDLIN STRANGERS
Fri Feb 6 |
THE MOTHER HIPS
Sat Feb 7 |
MR. MIDAS
with TREV RICH, A.P., CATCH LUNGS, PLANES!, DJ DIF'RENT (DRUM SQUAD DJ)
Thu Feb 12 |
BODY LANGUAGE
Fri Feb 13 |
NO BS! BRASS BAND
Sat Feb 14 |
GIRAFFAGE
with SPAZZKID
Tue Feb 17 |
CATFISH & THE BOTTLEMEN
Wed Feb 18 |
WHITE ARROWS
Fri Feb 27 |
THE DISTRICTS
with PINE BARONS
Wed Mar 4 |
KAWEHI
Tue Mar 24 |
VIET CONG
Wed Mar 25 |
PUBLIC SERVICE BROADCASTING
Wed Apr 1 |
DISAPPEARS

Fri Feb 8 | Larimer Lounge Presents...

BIRCH STREET  

THE PORTRAIT
BAD MAPS
THE QUERY
MIDNIGHT VINE

Doors open at 7pm   |   Show starts at 8pm   |   $10.00



 

Although they have been together for a little over a year, Birch Street has quickly become one of Denver’s most celebrated up-and-coming acts, racking up a win at the yearly Denver Hard Rock Battle Of The Bands a mere two months after their formation and playing at many reputable venues such as the Oriental Theatre and the Larimer Lounge. But behind these accolades lie a tight-knit quintet of long time friends with their own unique flavor of rock and roll blended with dirty blues and country soul. Their meaningful lyrics and musicianship evoke and transform the traditions of these genres in such a way that is celebrated by traditionalists and modern appreciators alike. The roots of Birch Street date back to their high school years, with friends Jake Langenhorst and Chad Macht singing in choir together. Over the years, the two often spoke of forming a band but it wasn't until mid 2011 that they finally decided to follow through, first recruiting drummer Cooper Leith. Having laid the foundations for the band, the search continued for more members while the trio wrote original material and rehearsed incessantly. The natural chemistry they found with keyboardist Sheldon Slater and lead guitarist Andy Burns allowed the band to grow fast, quickly gaining a reputation locally as an extremely talented and unique band.
 
Langenhorst’s talent is immediately evident as a frontman, with a strong tenor voice drawing comparisons to the likes of John Popper and Chris Robinson, with the passion and live energy of Brandon Boyd and Zack de la Rocha. Next is bassist Chad Macht, whose playing is quickly reminiscent of Flea in the way he builds funky bass lines while supporting the melody Jake is singing . Holding down the groove is Cooper Leith on set, a heavy hitting rocker like Bonham but with the soul and taste of Levon Helm, fitting like a glove with the bass. Alongside him is Slater, laying down organ solos and Elton-esque piano ballads but with the blues of Jerry Lee Lewis. Lastly, but surely not least, is rocker Andy Burns who, like Slater, brings the blues to the table with his playing clearly paying homage to the likes of Hendrix and Stevie Ray Vaughn. Together, they work to create something bigger than themselves. Something that is clearly evident with every word they write and every note they play. Performing mostly original tunes at every show and writing new ones on a weekly basis, the Colorado born-and-raised quintet is eager to keep growing and push the boundaries of their music. Come to one show and you will witness the passion, talent, and strive that make Birch Street a major player in the music scene.
powered by: companyBE