CALENDAR   |   DIRECTIONS   |   CONTACT   |   HAPPY HOUR   |   BOOKING   |   PAST ARTISTS   |   RENTALS


Thu Jul 2 |
HAPPY HOUR BINGO - Win tix to Tanlines, Heems, Albert Hammond Jr. + more!
Thu Jul 2 |
SHADY ELDERS
with OKO TGRA, BLEAK PLAZA, THE CIRCUS HOUSE
Fri Jul 3 |
TANLINES
with MAS YSA
Sun Jul 5 |
SUNDAY BBQ SERIES
with TYTO ALBA, THE GHOULIES, UMBRELLA WEATHER, KENJI URADA, CATERED BY LARGE MARGE'S PHILLY CHEESESTEAKS
Tue Jul 7 |
THE DELTA SAINTS
with RYAN CHRYS & THE ROUGH CUTS, DOUG BALMAIN
Wed Jul 8 |
UNCLE LUCIUS
with OL' HICKORY, MISS MINIVER ROSE
Thu Jul 9 |
HAPPY HOUR BINGO - Win tix to Unknown Mortal Orchestra, Young Rising Sons, Jurrasic 5 + more!
Thu Jul 9 |
ZELLA DAY
with POVI, MILLICENT
Fri Jul 10 |
ETERNAL SUMMERS
with WILD HONEY, MALE BLONDING
Sat Jul 11 |
K. FLAY
with LILY FANGZ, REASON THE CITIZEN
Sun Jul 12 |
THE GRISWOLDS
with WILD PARTY, RUMOURS FOLLOW
Mon Jul 13 |
THE GARDEN
with THE BIPEDAL APPROACH, GHOULFRIEND, JILLIAN GRUTTA
Tue Jul 14 |
JAY BRANNAN
with SARAH SLATON (OF EDISON)
Tue Jul 14 |
LATE NIGHT METAL FEATURING:
with LEECH, THE HUMAN EPIC
Wed Jul 15 |
SARAH BETHE NELSON
with AMERICAN CULTURE
Thu Jul 16 |
EP RELEASE PARTY
with GET ALONG, THE CIRCUS HOUSE, INNERSPACE
Fri Jul 17 |
HEEMS
with ZELOOPERZ, BA$EMENT MUZIK, BSIDE THEIVES
Sat Jul 18 |
GRAYSHOT
with THE SOLID OCEAN, THEY CALL ME HERO, MIKE RING AND THE CONNECTION
Sun Jul 19 |
SUNDAY BBQ SERIES
with ALL CHIEFS, NO INDIANS, BRIGITTE LEE
Mon Jul 20 |
CAYUCAS
with HIBOU, COASTAL WIVES
Tue Jul 21 |
ELENI MANDELL
with COURTNEY MARIE ANDREWS, NATALIE TATE
Wed Jul 22 |
TV GIRL
with NOVELTY DAUGHTER, MYSTIC BUMMER
Wed Jul 22 |
FEUFOLLET
with THE CLEARING
Thu Jul 23 |
SMOKESTACK RELICS
with RL COLE
Fri Jul 24 |
MELT BANANA
with HOT NERDS, SUGARSKULLS & MARIGOLDS
Sat Jul 25 |
THE NEW PACIFIC
with LIVE LIKE GLASS, I ATE A MONSTER, DIMMER SWITCH
Sun Jul 26 |
SUNDAY BBQ SERIES
with FOREVERFALL, THE OUTBREAK, OCTOBER SKIES, WITCHFINGER, with post show by, MITCHEL EVAN & THE MANGROVE, CATERED BY LARGE MARGE'S PHILLY CHEESESTEAKS
Mon Jul 27 |
CHAPPO
with YUKON BLONDE
Tue Jul 28 |
FACEMAN
Wed Jul 29 |
LOWER DENS
with YOUNG EJECTA
Thu Jul 30 |
NICHOLAS DAVID
with CLOUDS AND MOUNTAINS, WALKER LUKENS
Fri Jul 31 |
MILE HIGH CONNECT SUMMER SHOWCASE
with M.O.A., TROLL PACK, YOUNG GOTH, WES DAWG, YOXNG JAH, NIKO, MARVELOUS | DIEON FIGURES | J SWIFT, MALEMAN | DAVID B.A.N.G | DJ COOP SUPREME
Sun Aug 2 |
SUNDAY BBQ SERIES
with THE KISS OFF, GUN STREET GHOST, NATALIE TATE (of Ark Life), PORLOLO, ANIMA, JIM MCTURNAN ( of Soft Skulls)
Tue Aug 4 |
SCREAMING FEMALES
with DIRTY FEW, VACATION
Wed Aug 5 |
THE SPILL CANVAS
with 10 Year Anniversary Tour for One Fell Swoop
Thu Aug 6 |
GIVERS
with AERO FLYNN
Fri Aug 7 |
CIVIL TWILIGHT
with TRAPDOOR SOCIAL
Sat Aug 8 |
X AMBASSADORS
with LANY, PHASES
Tue Aug 11 |
METZ
with BIG UPS, DILLY DALLY
Thu Aug 20 |
HAVE GUN, WILL TRAVEL
with GARRETT KLAHN
Wed Aug 26 |
SEVEN SEA VOYAGE
with WALL OF THE FALLEN, EYES SET SAIL, FUNERAL IN FLAMES
Sun Aug 30 |
SUNDAY BBQ SERIES
Mon Aug 31 |
WALL OF THE FALLEN
with PATHS TO NECROPOLIS, OUR SCARLET WINTER
Sun Sep 6 |
SUNDAY BBQ SERIES
with CASEY SMITH, MIKE LAMITOLA, ROY CATLIN
Wed Sep 9 |
ON AN ON
Thu Sep 17 |
THE LIGHTHOUSE AND THE WHALER
Mon Sep 21 |
STEVE'N'SEAGULLS
Tue Sep 22 |
TYLER WARD
Fri Sep 25 |
A PLACE TO BURY STRANGERS
with GROOMS, EMERALD SIAM
Tue Sep 29 |
SHANNON AND THE CLAMS
Tue Oct 6 |
MELANIE MARTINEZ
Wed Oct 7 |
MELANIE MARTINEZ
Fri Oct 9 |
JOEY CAPE
Sat Oct 10 |
THE GIRAFFES
with ENGINE EAR
Sun Oct 11 |
BOB MOSES
Tue Oct 13 |
WILLIAM FITZSIMMONS
Sat Oct 24 |
THE BROTHERS COMATOSE
Mon Oct 26 |
KING DUDE
with DRAB MAJESTY
Fri Nov 13 |
LOW
with ANDY SHAUF
Thu Nov 19 |
DAVID RAMIREZ

Wed Mar 27 | Radio 1190 Presents | Sold Out

WAVVES  

FIDLAR
CHEATAHS

Doors open at 8pm   |   Show starts at 9pm   |   Sold Out | 16+



Straight from the dungeons of L.A., Wavves are releasing Afraid Of Heights, their fourth album and first on the Mom And Pop label. Now a duo consisting of guitarist Nathan Williams and bassist Stephen Pope, they sound bigger, brasher, and shockingly professional than ever on Afraid Of Heights that positions the band to take their rightful place amongst the pop-punk gods.You know the story by now. Bored dude in his parents' tool shed-turned-room with no insulation and a record stuck to a hole in the wall to keep the mice out turns on a four-track recorder, fucks around and ends up with two of the oddest, noisiest and downright catchy albums of recent memory. Those two records (the eponymous Wavves the eponyymous Wavvves) were winningly, messily chaotic—grand on a small scale, but not necessarily world-beaters. Which is why when Williams, then solo, linked up with erstwhile Jay Reatard sidemen Stephen Pope (bass) and Billy Hayes (drums) and busted the door down with the stunner that was King Of The Beach, a pop-punk blackout for the DeLonge and Deleuze crowd. After the smoke of King Of The Beach had cleared, Williams and Pope released the Life Sux EP, a testament to the crushing powers of rock n' roll and also ennui. The product of more than a year of writing and recording, Afraid Of Heights expands the Wavves sound while remaining true to the band's original vision—it was created with absolutely no label involvement, a specter that nearly derailed King Of The Beach. Working with producer John Hill (known for his work with M.I.A. and Santigold, as well as with hip-hop acts such as Nas and the Wu-Tang Clan), the band found a willing party in creating what they felt was the truest expression of what they wanted. As for the Afraid Of Heights sessions themselves, Williams paid for them out-of-pocket, explaining his reasoning with, "In doing so, I had no one to answer to. We recorded the songs how and when we wanted without anybody interfering, and that's how it's supposed to be."

 

Lyrically, Williams took the focus less off of his own melancholy and out into the world, with songs that dealt with crooked preachers ("Sail To The Sun"), relationships ("Dog") and killing cops ("Cop"). Even when he reaches outside his own damaged psyche, Williams is still making Wavves songs, saying, "The general theme of the record is depression and anxiety, being death-obsessed and paranoid of impending doom. I feel like the narration is almost schizophrenic if you listen front to back; every word is important, even the constant contradictions and lack of self-worth. That's all a part of this record—questioning everything not because I'm curious, but because I'm paranoid." That paranoia manifests itself on many of the album's best tracks, such as the spacey drones and bummazoid vibes of the Weezer-referencing, getting-drunk-because-you-can't-bring-yourself-to-care-vibey "Afraid Of Heights," or the string-aided "I Can't Dream," which rounds the record out with the optimistic, "I can finally sleep," before subverting itself with, "But I can't dream." With their biggest and boldest-sounding record yet, Wavves might have finally come into their own, a fully-realized punk rock force in both sound and vision.

powered by: companyBE