CALENDAR   |   DIRECTIONS   |   CONTACT   |   HAPPY HOUR   |   BOOKING   |   PAST ARTISTS   |   RENTALS


Tue Mar 31 |
THE LAST BISON
with NEULORE, TALLGRASS
Wed Apr 1 |
DISAPPEARS
with EMERALD SIAM, PALE SUN
Thu Apr 2 |
HAPPY HOUR BINGO - Win tix to Tennis, Vance Joy, Purity Ring + more!
Thu Apr 2 |
OH HONEY
with PUBLIC, NICK SANTINO
Fri Apr 3 |
EDISON
with ROB DRABKIN, SCIENCE PARTNER, MAXWELL HUGHES (formerly of The Lumineers), CRL CRRLL (DJ SET)
Sat Apr 4 |
HAWTHORNE HEIGHTS
with COURAGE MY LOVE, MARK ROSE, SHANE HENDERSON, RUMOURS FOLLOW
Sun Apr 5 |
LIEUTENANT (Nate Mendel of Foo Fighters)
with YUKON BLONDE, SOUND STUDIES
Mon Apr 6 |
KITTY DAISY & LEWIS
with GEMMA RAY
Wed Apr 8 |
MONOPHONICS
Thu Apr 9 |
DENGUE FEVER
with FREAKY NORTH, SEA OF EYES
Fri Apr 10 |
THE YAWPERS
Sat Apr 11 |
STRANGE AMERICANS
with ANDY HAMILTON & THE WHISKEY HITCHERS
Mon Apr 13 |
DEAP VALLY
with BUD BRONSON & THE GOOD TIMERS, LA WITCHES, THE VELVETEERS
Wed Apr 15 |
RED BULL SOUND SELECT PRESENTS: DENVER
with INNER OCEANS, POVI TAMU
Thu Apr 16 |
JARED & THE MILL
Fri Apr 17 |
REPTAR
with CLOUDS AND MOUNTAINS
Sat Apr 18 |
KODAK TO GRAPH
with BIG WILD, OBESON, BOLLYWOOD LIFE
Mon Apr 20 |
KALEO
Tue Apr 21 |
PARKER MILLSAP
Wed Apr 22 |
SHY GIRLS
with YOUNG EJECTA
Fri Apr 24 |
OWEN (AMERICAN FOOTBALL)
Sat Apr 25 |
COASTS
with ZELLA DAY
Sun Apr 26 |
SEOUL
with OKO TYGRA
Mon Apr 27 |
IDES OF GEMINI
Thu Apr 30 |
LINDI ORTEGA
with ANDREW COMBS, CASEY JAMES PRESTWOOD
Sat May 2 |
LADY LAMB THE BEEKEEPER
with RATHBORNE, BLUEBOOK
Thu May 7 |
YOUNG FATHERS
with MAS YSA, INPUT
Sat May 9 |
RED FOX RUN
with SLOW CAVES
Wed May 13 |
THE RED PAINTINGS
Thu May 14 |
THE RENTALS
with RADIATION CITY, REY PILA
Fri May 15 |
A TRIBE CALLED RED
Sat May 16 |
JAKUBI
Mon May 18 |
TODAY IS THE DAY
with LAZER/WULF
Tue May 19 |
LOCAL H
with ALL EYES WEST
Thu May 21 |
PIGPEN THEATRE CO.
with GOODNIGHT, TEXAS
Sat May 23 |
MYSTIC BRAVES
with THE KINKY FINGERS
Tue May 26 |
MIAMI HORROR
Wed May 27 |
KATE TEMPEST
Fri May 29 |
PALMA VIOLETS
Sat May 30 |
SPEEDY ORTIZ
with PALEHOUND, ALEX G, ACCORDION CRIMES
Wed Jun 3 |
DESERT NOISES
Thu Jun 4 |
MANDOLIN ORANGE
Fri Jun 12 |
THE NTH POWER
Sat Jun 13 |
THE CAVE SINGERS
Tue Jun 16 |
ELECTRIC SIX
with WHITE REAPER, BRANDED BANDITS
Sat Jun 20 |
SAN CISCO
with THE PRETTIOTS
Fri Jul 24 |
MELT BANANA
Wed Jul 29 |
LOWER DENS

Tue Apr 30 | Larimer Lounge Presents | 18+

KVELERTAK  

CANCER BATS
BLACK TUSK

Doors open at 8pm   |   Show starts at 8:30pm   |   $10.00 In Adv | $12.00 Day Of Show | 18+





They’re called punk and metal, but at their hearts Norwegian berserkers Kvelertak are the living, firebreathing embodiment of rock and roll. Since their formation in 2006, they’ve built a die-hard fan-base hungry for their utterly ferocious live shows that have already burned two flaming tire-tracks across the globe.

“Buzzworthy” doesn’t even begin to describe Kvelertak, and their roll-call of achievements reads like a legend waiting to happen. Their rapturously-received self-titled 2011 debut – produced by none other than Converge’s Kurt Ballou – was termed “the best Norwegian debut of all time” by Norwegian rock authority Asbjørn Slettemark, “Best Debut Album” by Metal Hammer Germany, “Best New Artist” and “Best Rock Album” at the Spellemannprisen (Norway’s Grammy equivalent), and iTunes US’s Metal Breakthrough Artist of The Year in 2011. Along with unanimous praise from Metal Hammer UK, Terrorizer, Rock Hard, and Kerrang! who called them “the most exciting new band on the planet,” Kvelertak – or “chokehold” in English– are showing no signs of slowing down.

From storming 2011’s SXSW festival to being personally invited by Mastodon to support them in Bergen, Norway, to Dave Grohl presenting them with their first gold discs at a sold-out Foo Fighter’s show, this Scandinavian sextet have already circled the globe, hitting every fest from the UK to Australia, including a gig in Singapore that finished out on the street, stopping traffic and ending up as a viral hit on YouTube.

At the core of it, though, is the music – a brew of rock, punk and metal so infectious it should carry a warning label. Look out, world, because their second album, Meir, is on its way.

“It’s like the first one, but way more in every way,” says six-stringer Bjarte Lund Rolland. “The big songs are bigger, the harder songs are harder, the poppy songs are poppier, and…”

“This is going to blow your brains out,” adds singer Erlend Hjelvik, whose riot-inducing vocals may be in Norwegian, but they speak a language of badass bravado like no other. “The first one was pretty much all party; this time around it's the hangover where you go round two and start drinking again the day after.  You get drunk real quick and you're generally in a weird fuck-you-all-mood. It's known as the shampoo-effect.”

Call it the shampoo-effect, or one of the most uproarious displays of recorded lunacy of the 21st century, but these Stavanger natives are set to take on the world. Think stunning guitar-leads that recall the heady days of Guns N’ Roses tempered with the down-stroked muscularity of Metallica, with the party-vibes of a rockabilly hoedown, Kvelertak are nothing short of a fjord fiesta. 

“The most important thing is that it's just as fucking shameless as the first one,” says Bjarte. If not more. “I'm really excited about it.”

We are too, Bjarte. We are, too.

powered by: companyBE