CALENDAR   |   DIRECTIONS   |   CONTACT   |   HAPPY HOUR   |   BOOKING   |   PAST ARTISTS   |   RENTALS


Mon Mar 30 |
NAIVE MELODIES (ULTIMATE TALKING HEADS TRIBUTE)
with THE WORKSHY
Tue Mar 31 |
THE LAST BISON
with NEULORE, TALLGRASS
Wed Apr 1 |
DISAPPEARS
with EMERALD SIAM, PALE SUN
Thu Apr 2 |
HAPPY HOUR BINGO - Win tix to Tennis, Vance Joy, Purity Ring + more!
Thu Apr 2 |
OH HONEY
with PUBLIC, NICK SANTINO
Fri Apr 3 |
EDISON
with ROB DRABKIN, SCIENCE PARTNER, MAXWELL HUGHES (formerly of The Lumineers), CRL CRRLL (DJ SET)
Sat Apr 4 |
HAWTHORNE HEIGHTS
with COURAGE MY LOVE, MARK ROSE, SHANE HENDERSON, RUMOURS FOLLOW
Sun Apr 5 |
LIEUTENANT (Nate Mendel of Foo Fighters)
with YUKON BLONDE, SOUND STUDIES
Mon Apr 6 |
KITTY DAISY & LEWIS
with GEMMA RAY
Wed Apr 8 |
MONOPHONICS
Thu Apr 9 |
DENGUE FEVER
with FREAKY NORTH, SEA OF EYES
Fri Apr 10 |
THE YAWPERS
Sat Apr 11 |
STRANGE AMERICANS
with ANDY HAMILTON & THE WHISKEY HITCHERS
Mon Apr 13 |
DEAP VALLY
with BUD BRONSON & THE GOOD TIMERS, LA WITCHES, THE VELVETEERS
Wed Apr 15 |
RED BULL SOUND SELECT PRESENTS: DENVER
with INNER OCEANS, POVI TAMU
Thu Apr 16 |
JARED & THE MILL
Fri Apr 17 |
REPTAR
with CLOUDS AND MOUNTAINS
Sat Apr 18 |
KODAK TO GRAPH
with BIG WILD, OBESON, BOLLYWOOD LIFE
Mon Apr 20 |
KALEO
Tue Apr 21 |
PARKER MILLSAP
Wed Apr 22 |
SHY GIRLS
with YOUNG EJECTA
Fri Apr 24 |
OWEN (AMERICAN FOOTBALL)
Sat Apr 25 |
COASTS
with ZELLA DAY
Sun Apr 26 |
SEOUL
with OKO TYGRA
Mon Apr 27 |
IDES OF GEMINI
Thu Apr 30 |
LINDI ORTEGA
with ANDREW COMBS, CASEY JAMES PRESTWOOD
Sat May 2 |
LADY LAMB THE BEEKEEPER
with RATHBORNE, BLUEBOOK
Thu May 7 |
YOUNG FATHERS
with MAS YSA, INPUT
Sat May 9 |
RED FOX RUN
with SLOW CAVES
Wed May 13 |
THE RED PAINTINGS
Thu May 14 |
THE RENTALS
with RADIATION CITY, REY PILA
Fri May 15 |
A TRIBE CALLED RED
Sat May 16 |
JAKUBI
Mon May 18 |
TODAY IS THE DAY
with LAZER/WULF
Tue May 19 |
LOCAL H
with ALL EYES WEST
Thu May 21 |
PIGPEN THEATRE CO.
with GOODNIGHT, TEXAS
Sat May 23 |
MYSTIC BRAVES
with THE KINKY FINGERS
Tue May 26 |
MIAMI HORROR
Wed May 27 |
KATE TEMPEST
Fri May 29 |
PALMA VIOLETS
Sat May 30 |
SPEEDY ORTIZ
with PALEHOUND, ALEX G, ACCORDION CRIMES
Wed Jun 3 |
DESERT NOISES
Thu Jun 4 |
MANDOLIN ORANGE
Fri Jun 12 |
THE NTH POWER
Sat Jun 13 |
THE CAVE SINGERS
Tue Jun 16 |
ELECTRIC SIX
with WHITE REAPER, BRANDED BANDITS
Sat Jun 20 |
SAN CISCO
with THE PRETTIOTS
Fri Jul 24 |
MELT BANANA
Wed Jul 29 |
LOWER DENS

Wed Jun 19 | Radio 1190 Presents | 16+

PARQUET COURTS  

ACCORDION CRIMES
BUD BRONSON & THE GOOD TIMERS

Doors open at 8pm   |   Show starts at 9pm   |   $10.00 In Adv | $12.00 Day Of Show | 16+





Little was said about Parquet Courts' debut effort, American Specialties. Released exclusively on cassette tape, the quasi-album was an odd collection of 4 track recordings that left those who were paying attention wanting more. A year of woodshedding live sets passed before the Courts committed another song to tape. The band's first proper LP, Light Up Gold, is a dynamic and diverse foray into the back alleys of the American DIY underground. Bright guitars swirl serpentine over looping, groovy post-punk bass lines and drums that border on robotic precision. While the initial rawness of the band's early output remains, the songwriting has gracefully evolved. Primary wordsmiths A. Savage and Austin Brown combine for a dynamic lyrical experience, one part an erudite overflow of ideas, the other an exercise in laid-back observation. Lyrically dense, the poetry is in how it flows along with the melody, often times as locked-in as the rhythm section.

"This record is for the over-socialized victims of the 1990's 'you can be anything you want', Nickelodeon-induced lethargy that ran away from home not out of any wide-eyed big city daydream, but just out of a subconscious return to America's scandalous origin," writes Savage in the album's scratched-out liner notes. Recorded over a few days in an ice-box practice space, Light Up Gold is equally indebted to Krautrock, The Fall, and a slew of contemporaries like Tyvek and Eddy Current Suppression Ring.

Though made up of Texan transplants, Parquet Courts are a New York band. Throw out the countless shallow Brooklyn bands of the blasé 2000's: Light Up Gold is a conscious effort to draw from the rich culture of the city - the bands like Sonic Youth, Bob Dylan, and the Velvet Underground that are not from New York, but of it. A panoramic landscape of dilapidated corner-stores and crowded apartments is superimposed over bare-bones Americana, leaving little room for romance or sentiment. It's punk, it's American, it's New York... it's the color of something you were looking for.

powered by: companyBE