CALENDAR   |   DIRECTIONS   |   CONTACT   |   HAPPY HOUR   |   BOOKING   |   PAST ARTISTS   |   RENTALS


Sun Jul 5 |
SUNDAY BBQ SERIES
with TYTO ALBA, THE GHOULIES, UMBRELLA WEATHER, KENJI URADA, CATERED BY LARGE MARGE'S PHILLY CHEESESTEAKS
Tue Jul 7 |
THE DELTA SAINTS
with RYAN CHRYS & THE ROUGH CUTS, DOUG BALMAIN
Wed Jul 8 |
UNCLE LUCIUS
with OL' HICKORY, MISS MINIVER ROSE
Thu Jul 9 |
HAPPY HOUR BINGO - Win tix to Unknown Mortal Orchestra, Young Rising Sons, Jurrasic 5 + more!
Thu Jul 9 |
ZELLA DAY
with POVI, MILLICENT
Fri Jul 10 |
ETERNAL SUMMERS
with WILD HONEY, MALE BLONDING
Sat Jul 11 |
K. FLAY
with LILY FANGZ, REASON THE CITIZEN
Sun Jul 12 |
THE GRISWOLDS
with WILD PARTY, RUMOURS FOLLOW
Mon Jul 13 |
THE GARDEN
with THE BIPEDAL APPROACH, GHOULFRIEND, JILLIAN GRUTTA
Tue Jul 14 |
LATE NIGHT METAL FEATURING:
with LEECH, THE HUMAN EPIC
Tue Jul 14 |
JAY BRANNAN
with SARAH SLATON (OF EDISON)
Wed Jul 15 |
SARAH BETHE NELSON
with AMERICAN CULTURE
Thu Jul 16 |
EP RELEASE PARTY
with GET ALONG, THE CIRCUS HOUSE, INNERSPACE
Fri Jul 17 |
HEEMS
with ZELOOPERZ, BA$EMENT MUZIK, BSIDE THEIVES
Sat Jul 18 |
GRAYSHOT
with THE SOLID OCEAN, THEY CALL ME HERO, MIKE RING AND THE CONNECTION
Sun Jul 19 |
SUNDAY BBQ SERIES
with ALL CHIEFS, NO INDIANS, BRIGITTE LEE
Mon Jul 20 |
CAYUCAS
with HIBOU, COASTAL WIVES
Tue Jul 21 |
ELENI MANDELL
with COURTNEY MARIE ANDREWS, NATALIE TATE
Wed Jul 22 |
TV GIRL
with NOVELTY DAUGHTER, MYSTIC BUMMER
Wed Jul 22 |
FEUFOLLET
with THE CLEARING
Thu Jul 23 |
SMOKESTACK RELICS
with RL COLE
Fri Jul 24 |
MELT BANANA
with HOT NERDS, SUGARSKULLS & MARIGOLDS
Sat Jul 25 |
THE NEW PACIFIC
with LIVE LIKE GLASS, I ATE A MONSTER, DIMMER SWITCH
Sun Jul 26 |
SUNDAY BBQ SERIES
with FOREVERFALL, THE OUTBREAK, OCTOBER SKIES, WITCHFINGER, with post show by, MITCHEL EVAN & THE MANGROVE, CATERED BY LARGE MARGE'S PHILLY CHEESESTEAKS
Mon Jul 27 |
CHAPPO
with YUKON BLONDE
Tue Jul 28 |
FACEMAN
Wed Jul 29 |
LOWER DENS
with YOUNG EJECTA
Thu Jul 30 |
NICHOLAS DAVID
with CLOUDS AND MOUNTAINS, WALKER LUKENS
Fri Jul 31 |
MILE HIGH CONNECT SUMMER SHOWCASE
with M.O.A., TROLL PACK, YOUNG GOTH, WES DAWG, YOXNG JAH, NIKO, MARVELOUS | DIEON FIGURES | J SWIFT, MALEMAN | DAVID B.A.N.G | DJ COOP SUPREME
Sun Aug 2 |
SUNDAY BBQ SERIES
with THE KISS OFF, GUN STREET GHOST, NATALIE TATE (of Ark Life), PORLOLO, ANIMA, JIM MCTURNAN ( of Soft Skulls)
Mon Aug 3 |
AN HOBBES
with FELIX FAST4WARD, 3TWO, ABEASITY JONES, CM AKA CREATIVE, ADAM SELENE
Tue Aug 4 |
SCREAMING FEMALES
with DIRTY FEW, VACATION
Wed Aug 5 |
THE SPILL CANVAS
with 10 Year Anniversary Tour for One Fell Swoop
Thu Aug 6 |
GIVERS
with AERO FLYNN
Fri Aug 7 |
CIVIL TWILIGHT
with TRAPDOOR SOCIAL, MODERN SUSPECTS
Sat Aug 8 |
X AMBASSADORS
with LANY, PHASES
Tue Aug 11 |
METZ
with BIG UPS, DILLY DALLY
Thu Aug 20 |
HAVE GUN, WILL TRAVEL
with GARRETT KLAHN
Wed Aug 26 |
SEVEN SEA VOYAGE
with WALL OF THE FALLEN, EYES SET SAIL, FUNERAL IN FLAMES
Sun Aug 30 |
SUNDAY BBQ SERIES
Mon Aug 31 |
WALL OF THE FALLEN
with PATHS TO NECROPOLIS, OUR SCARLET WINTER
Sun Sep 6 |
SUNDAY BBQ SERIES
with CASEY SMITH, MIKE LAMITOLA, ROY CATLIN
Wed Sep 9 |
ON AN ON
Thu Sep 17 |
THE LIGHTHOUSE AND THE WHALER
Mon Sep 21 |
STEVE'N'SEAGULLS
Tue Sep 22 |
TYLER WARD
Fri Sep 25 |
A PLACE TO BURY STRANGERS
with GROOMS, EMERALD SIAM
Tue Sep 29 |
SHANNON AND THE CLAMS
Tue Oct 6 |
MELANIE MARTINEZ
Wed Oct 7 |
MELANIE MARTINEZ
Fri Oct 9 |
JOEY CAPE
Sat Oct 10 |
THE GIRAFFES
with ENGINE EAR
Sun Oct 11 |
BOB MOSES
Tue Oct 13 |
WILLIAM FITZSIMMONS
Sat Oct 24 |
THE BROTHERS COMATOSE
Mon Oct 26 |
KING DUDE
with DRAB MAJESTY
Fri Nov 13 |
LOW
with ANDY SHAUF
Thu Nov 19 |
DAVID RAMIREZ

Sat Jul 27 | Radio 1190 Presents...

FUTUREBIRDS  

DIARRHEA PLANET
SAUNA
DIRTY FEW

Doors open at 8pm   |   Show starts at 9pm   |   $15.00 In Adv | $17.00 Day Of Show | 16+





Baba Yaga, the second full-length album by Athens, GA's Futurebirds, marks a milestone in the continuous evolution of the eclectic ensemble. The 13-song album finds Futurebirds - Thomas Johnson, Carter King, Dennis Love, Brannen Miles, Daniel Womack, and Payton Bradford (who has since left the lineup to pursue a non-musical career path)  - delivering an expansive yet intimate set that takes the band's trademark mix of earthily accessible songcraft and free-spirited experimentation into inspired new territory.

Like the band that made it, Baba Yaga defies easy categorization, boasting a beguiling blend of warmly catchy tunes, stirringly evocative lyrics, distinctive sonic textures and unexpected melodic twists. The music is both intense and uplifting, capturing a good deal of the soaring, primal, sweat-soaked spirit of Futurebirds' live shows, which have already won the group a rabidly devoted fan base and a reputation as a singularly inspired, bravely unpredictable performing unit.

Throughout Baba Yaga, Futurebirds' inventiveness and energy are suffused by a bittersweet, introspective melancholy that lends added emotional resonance to such compelling tunes as "Virginia Slims," "Serial Bowls," "Death Awaits" and "St. Summercamp," which showcase the band's indelible melodies, vivid lyrics and vibrant instrumental rapport.

"This album definitely feels like a big milestone for us, no question," King says. "Just the fact that it's finally coming out feels like a milestone in itself," adds Johnson. Indeed, Baba Yaga's long journey to the public's ears is a story in itself, but the music more than justifies the album's long and often frustrating birth cycle.

Early in their existence, Futurebirds' balance of homespun roots and forward-thinking exploration made the band a favorite in and around their bohemian hometown. The 2009 release of their self-titled debut EP was followed the next year by their first full-length debut album, Hampton's Lullaby. It was followed by the self-released EP Via Flamina, and the limited-edition 2011 Record Store Day release Live at Seney-Stovall Chapel, which sold out on the day of its release.

Futurebirds continued to build its fan base by touring relentlessly, sharing bills with the likes of Drive-By Truckers, Widespread Panic, Heartless Bastards and Alabama Shakes and performing at such prestigious festivals as Austin City Limits, Outside Lands, Hangout, Wakarusa, Forecastle and Bonnaroo. Futurebirds was also featured on 2011's Bonnaroo Buzz tour, playing between Gary Clark Jr. and headliner Grace Potter & The Nocturnals.

Futurebirds' combustible musical chemistry reaches inspired new heights on Baba Yaga. "In some ways we're like one organism with six brains, but at the same time everyone in the band is vastly different," King observes. "We had five different songwriters in the band on this record, with very different influences and inspirations. We get into the studio and people bring in their songs, and by the time we get done with a song, there's a piece of everybody in it."

"We all come from different backgrounds and chase different sounds, but when we play together there's this weird dark chemistry amongst us," Johnson notes, adding, "I can hear a song that someone else wrote and know exactly what I can bring to it, and the same goes for the others when they hear my songs."

Baba Yaga was recorded in 45 studio days over the course of seven months, with the band touring between sessions in order to pay the recording bills. The musicians originally demoed about 30 songs for the project, 25 of which they recorded during the sessions, before paring that batch down to the 13 that appear on the finished album

"The songs on this album seem to all come from a similar place," adds Johnson. "They don't all sound the same or have the same vibe, but we've shared so many experiences that there's an unspoken understanding amongst us as to where a song is coming from and where it wants to go."

The bumpy road to the album's release - which resulted in a near two-year gap between Futurebirds releases—included making difficult decisions in finding the proper home for the album, but helped to inspire the band to name it Baba Yaga, after a forest-dwelling, child-eating witch from Slavic folklore.

"It was a long and painstaking process trying to get this album out," King explains. "We got pretty discouraged, feeling like maybe it would never see the light of day, and one day I was talking to Thomas and started saying, 'God, is this record some mythical creature out in the woods that only exists in our imaginations?' Then we read about Baba Yaga, and that perfectly described how we were feeling about this record."

Fortunately, Futurebirds has emerged from its business travails a more confident and determined creative unit - a fact that the band plans on demonstrating by touring as much as humanly possible.

powered by: companyBE