CALENDAR   |   CONTACT   |   HAPPY HOUR   |   BOOKING   |   PAST ARTISTS   |   FOOD & DRINK


Thu Jul 28 |
THE DESLONDES
with THE HAUNTED WINDCHIMES, TWAIN
Thu Jul 28 |
HAPPY HOUR BINGO
with and tickets to Beach House, Russian Circles, Fidlar, Black Rebel Motorcycle Club + Death From Above 1979!
Fri Jul 29 |
THE PARTY PEOPLE (MIKEY THUNDER, MR BUGATTI, BENJAMIN'S VIBE)
with PANDASAYWHAT?!, UNFOLD, DIRTY LITTLE THIEVES
Sat Jul 30 |
YONI & GETI (of WHY? and SERENGETI)
with KILLEDBY, TOMMY METZ
Sun Jul 31 |
SUNDAY BBQ SERIES
with KING CARDINAL, PORLOLO, ERIKA RYANN
Sun Jul 31 |
FINDING COMMON GROUND
with SUNDRESSED, DAISYHEAD, SECRET STUFF, WORST NEIGHBORS
Mon Aug 1 |
OH PEP!
with PAUL DEHAVEN
Tue Aug 2 |
HONNE
with JONES
Wed Aug 3 |
NEVER KENEZZARD
with VOIDEATER, THE TERMINALS, ORA, THE ASSEMBLAGE
Thu Aug 4 |
FOXXES
with PALEHORSE PALERIDER, NEVAYDA GUNN, MEMORYBOY
Thu Aug 4 |
HAPPY HOUR BINGO
Fri Aug 5 |
TOP FLITE EMPIRE
with DJ KUSH, DIAMOND, DAS, BYZ, STEEZY BARRZ, KOUNTER KULTURE
Sat Aug 6 |
MITIS
with TOY BOX, MOSIS
Sun Aug 7 |
SUNDAY BBQ SERIES
with STRAIGHT OUTTA LUCK, WAKE THE BAT, GRANNY TWEED, LANDGRABBERS
Wed Aug 10 |
DECLAN MCKENNA
with MAYBIRD
Thu Aug 11 |
ROCKY MOUNTAIN LOW
with NIGHTSHAPES, GLEEMER, AMERICAN CULTURE
Thu Aug 11 |
HAPPY HOUR BINGO
with and tickets to Beach House, Russian Circles, Fidlar, Black Rebel Motorcycle Club + Death From Above 1979!
Fri Aug 12 |
ROCKY MOUNTAIN LOW
with BUMMER'S EVE, MODERN CONVENIENCE, POISON RITES
Sat Aug 13 |
ROCKY MOUNTAIN LOW
with THE EIGHT BUCKS EXPERIMENT, VERMIN WOMB, NEGATIVE DEGREE, CHEMICALLY CRIPPLED
Sun Aug 14 |
ROCKY MOUNTAIN LOW
with THE EIGHT BUCKS EXPERIMENT, FRONTSIDE FIVE, FUBAR, CHINGASO
Mon Aug 15 |
HUNNY
with GYMSHORTS
Wed Aug 17 |
NATURAL GEOMETRY
with THE LACUNA BROTHERHOOD, SECRET CREATURES, BIG ROCK RADIO
Thu Aug 18 |
BILLY CHANGER
Thu Aug 18 |
HAPPY HOUR BINGO
Fri Aug 19 |
TYLER IMBREY & THE GHOST REVIEW
with DAYTON STONE AND THE UNDERTONES, NAMASTAY IN YOUR BRAIN (DJ SET)
Sun Aug 21 |
SUNDAY BBQ SERIES
with AUTOMATIC IRIS, U.S. TYGERS, WIRE FACES, POET'S ROW
Thu Aug 25 |
PALLBEARER
with KHEMMIS
Thu Aug 25 |
HAPPY HOUR BINGO
Fri Aug 26 |
THE LAST OF THE EASY RIDERS (ALBUM RELEASE)
with HIGH PLAINS HONKY, THE SAVAGE BLUSH, THE PATIENT ZEROS
Sat Aug 27 |
EROS & THE ESCHATON
with MAYBE BABY & THE BITCH BOYS, I SANK MOLLY BROWN
Thu Sep 1 |
ROSE'S PAWN SHOP
Fri Sep 9 |
ANDY FRASCO AND THE UN
Tue Sep 13 |
JARED & THE MILL
with EDISON
Wed Sep 14 |
HIGHASAKITE
Thu Sep 15 |
KHRUANGBIN
Fri Sep 16 |
JIMKATA
Sat Sep 17 |
CAVEMAN
with CHEERLEADER
Sun Sep 18 |
CHROME SPARKS
with ROLAND TINGS
Wed Sep 21 |
SILVER SNAKES
Thu Sep 22 |
KREWELLA
Fri Sep 23 |
CASS MCCOMBS BAND
Fri Sep 23 |
AGENT ORANGE
with COUNTERPUNCH
Sun Sep 25 |
THANK YOU SCIENTIST
Mon Sep 26 |
PORCHES
Tue Oct 4 |
WHITE REAPER
Wed Oct 5 |
THE WEEKS
with COLD FRONTS
Thu Oct 6 |
A TRIBE CALLED RED
Fri Oct 7 |
A TRIBE CALLED RED
Sat Oct 8 |
CYMBALS EAT GUITARS
Sun Oct 9 |
MOTHXR
Mon Oct 10 |
SEAN HAYES
with CORY MON, TIM CARR
Fri Oct 14 |
RACHEL YAMAGATA
Tue Oct 18 |
TOBACCO
with HIGH TIDES, ODONIS ODONIS
Fri Oct 21 |
THE FELICE BROTHERS
Sat Oct 29 |
HAYDEN JAMES
with ELDERBROOK
Fri Nov 4 |
DAVID RAMIREZ
Sun Nov 6 |
SALES
with TANGERINE
Sat Nov 12 |
K THEORY
Sat Nov 19 |
THE JEZABELS
Sun Nov 20 |
ADAM TORRES

Fri Dec 13 | Twist & Shout and KGNU Present | 21+

PATTERSON HOOD OF DRIVE-BY TRUCKERS (NIGHT ONE)  

T. HARDY MORRIS

Doors open at 8pm   |   Show starts at 9pm   |   On Sale Fri 8/23 | $20 In Adv | $25 Day Of | 21+





Back in January, worn out from having spent a year on tour and facing a new album’s release and another year spent mostly on a bus, away from the comforts of home and family, I decided to try to write a book. I had made a couple of stabs in that direction before (as well as a couple of screenplays) but had so far failed to complete one. The thing is, I love to write on the road. I write most every day out there. It’s usually not songs, as completing a song amid all of the noise, distractions and music blasting on the bus is very difficult (I do often start songs there that get finished later) but writing non-musical compositions comes pretty easy for me out here and it sure passes the time. Beside, I had an idea for a story I wanted to write and it started coming very easily. By our third month on the road I already had a pretty firm outline of what I wanted and several chapters that I felt really good about.

I was calling my book “Slam Dancing in the Pews”, named after a cassette that Virgil Kane had recorded in 1992 when Cooley and I were playing shows under that name after the break up of Adam’s House Cat. The book was basically half-assed fictionalization of that very turbulent period of my life. I was 27, my band broke up, I got divorced and left my hometown to live in Memphis. My car got stolen, our band’s truck got stripped and I fell in love. I fell out with my family (who I was very, very close to) and had my heart broken. I seriously pondered killing myself several times but instead wrote literally over 500 songs in a three-year period. A time when I reinvented myself artistically and experienced a sort of rebirth that led to a lot of the things I have done in the last two decades.

My book would sort of tell that story, but interspersed with lyrics from that period of my life, as well as new song lyrics either set in that time or from the point of view of various characters from the book. The structure would be chapter / song / chapter / song and so on. If the book was coming fast, the songs were coming even easier. Then the booked stopped coming. Someday I may want to tell that story, but timing is everything and this just isn’t the time for it.

The songs, however continued to pour out, taking a few left turns and then morphing into its own thing. Most of this album comes from that short period of time between February and June of 2011. The songs begin in the period that the book was set in, but don’t end there, as they really just were the impetus for writing about the life I am living now and contrasting it with the troubled times of two decades ago.

I called it Heat Lightning Rumbles in the Distance and decided that spring to record it as a solo album. I could clearly hear in my head exactly how I wanted every song to sound and made a list of who I wanted to play on each one. It is in some ways the most personal album I’ve ever made. There has always been a lot of me in all of the albums we’ve done, but usually semi-disguised as character sketches and stories, but the first person narrative in this one is pretty firmly rooted in autobiography, albeit in two dramatically differing time periods.

powered by: companyBE