CALENDAR   |   DIRECTIONS   |   CONTACT   |   HAPPY HOUR   |   BOOKING   |   PAST ARTISTS   |   RENTALS


Sun Dec 21 |
NICK THOMAS (The Spill Canvas)
with MY BODY SINGS ELECTRIC, JESSE R.S., LEASH OF FOXES
Mon Dec 22 |
BRONCOS VS. BENGALS
Tue Dec 23 |
BOTTLE ROCKET SCIENCE
with DRINK DRANK PUNK, FINGER PIE
Fri Dec 26 |
DIRTY//CLEAN 3 YEAR PARTY
with BEDROCKK, MOSIS, DAWN SAFARI, GUNKST, GLASSY
Sat Dec 27 |
THE KNEW
with CASEY JAMES PRESTWOOD & THE BURNING ANGELS, THE TRADE-INS, ROBERT LOUIS COLE
Sun Dec 28 |
BRONCOS VS. RAIDERS
Sun Dec 28 |
LUCIDA TELA
with DUST:ORBITER, GREEN DRUID, ASSAULT ON THE COMMONPLACE
Mon Dec 29 |
OREN L
with 750, COURIER & JAX ZEN, THE BLUNT INSTRUMENTS, VON DISCO
Tue Dec 30 |
IN THE WHALE (FREE SHOW)
with THE BALTIC, WE ARE NOT A GLUM LOT
Wed Dec 31 |
ROSE QUARTZ (EP RELEASE)
with SUNBOY, OKO TYGRA, DJ FANCY MATTHEW
Fri Jan 2 |
DILLON FORD & THE LOSERS (Farewell show)
with GRAND CENTRAL, THE BABYSITTERS, COOL DOGS IN THE KENNELS
Sat Jan 3 |
RADICAL ACTION
with COYOTE JUNCTION, HERE'S TO FIGHTIN' , TRANSFER STATION, THEM RAGGEDY BONES
Wed Jan 7 |
KALMIA
with THE RABBITS ATOM, CASEY WAYNE SMITH, PAUL KIMBRIS
Fri Jan 9 |
COLFAX SPEED QUEEN
with THE KINKY FINGERS, THE SAVAGE BLUSH, SPEED WOBBLE
Tue Jan 13 |
RAW FORM
with MIKE CANO'S MUSHROOM FUNK, FYA
Wed Jan 14 |
MINER
with BONNIE AND THE BEARD
Thu Jan 15 |
FURBIE CAKES
with MYTHirst, Felix FAST4WARD, SUFFERS AND BRISCO JONES
Sat Jan 17 |
INSTANT EMPIRE
with THE ROYAL, MONTONEROS
Wed Jan 21 |
SHANE TULLY & THE RAIN
with THE REAL FOLK BLUES, COLLIN KITTY, THE SABOTEURS
Thu Jan 22 |
MYKKI BLANCO
Fri Jan 23 |
JUKEBOX THE GHOST
with TWIN FORKS, SECRET SOMEONES
Sat Jan 24 |
WASTELAND HOP
with WHEELCHAIR SPORTS CAMP, THE OTHER BLACK
Tue Jan 27 |
KING TUFF
with AMERICAN CULTURE
Fri Jan 30 |
LAND LINES (ALBUM RELEASE)
with SNAKE RATTLE RATTLE SNAKE, PORLOLO
Sat Jan 31 |
MATES OF STATE
with FICTIONIST
Tue Feb 3 |
SAINT MOTEL
with THE MOTH AND THE FLAME
Wed Feb 4 |
BAD SUNS
with COASTS, MAUDLIN STRANGERS
Fri Feb 6 |
THE MOTHER HIPS
Sat Feb 7 |
MR. MIDAS
with TREV RICH, A.P., CATCH LUNGS, PLANES!, DJ DIF'RENT (DRUM SQUAD DJ)
Thu Feb 12 |
BODY LANGUAGE
Fri Feb 13 |
NO BS! BRASS BAND
Sat Feb 14 |
GIRAFFAGE
with SPAZZKID
Tue Feb 17 |
CATFISH & THE BOTTLEMEN
Wed Feb 18 |
WHITE ARROWS
Fri Feb 27 |
THE DISTRICTS
with PINE BARONS
Wed Mar 4 |
KAWEHI
Tue Mar 24 |
VIET CONG
Wed Mar 25 |
PUBLIC SERVICE BROADCASTING
Wed Apr 1 |
DISAPPEARS

Fri Dec 13 | Twist & Shout and KGNU Present | 21+

PATTERSON HOOD OF DRIVE-BY TRUCKERS (NIGHT ONE)  

T. HARDY MORRIS

Doors open at 8pm   |   Show starts at 9pm   |   On Sale Fri 8/23 | $20 In Adv | $25 Day Of | 21+





Back in January, worn out from having spent a year on tour and facing a new album’s release and another year spent mostly on a bus, away from the comforts of home and family, I decided to try to write a book. I had made a couple of stabs in that direction before (as well as a couple of screenplays) but had so far failed to complete one. The thing is, I love to write on the road. I write most every day out there. It’s usually not songs, as completing a song amid all of the noise, distractions and music blasting on the bus is very difficult (I do often start songs there that get finished later) but writing non-musical compositions comes pretty easy for me out here and it sure passes the time. Beside, I had an idea for a story I wanted to write and it started coming very easily. By our third month on the road I already had a pretty firm outline of what I wanted and several chapters that I felt really good about.

I was calling my book “Slam Dancing in the Pews”, named after a cassette that Virgil Kane had recorded in 1992 when Cooley and I were playing shows under that name after the break up of Adam’s House Cat. The book was basically half-assed fictionalization of that very turbulent period of my life. I was 27, my band broke up, I got divorced and left my hometown to live in Memphis. My car got stolen, our band’s truck got stripped and I fell in love. I fell out with my family (who I was very, very close to) and had my heart broken. I seriously pondered killing myself several times but instead wrote literally over 500 songs in a three-year period. A time when I reinvented myself artistically and experienced a sort of rebirth that led to a lot of the things I have done in the last two decades.

My book would sort of tell that story, but interspersed with lyrics from that period of my life, as well as new song lyrics either set in that time or from the point of view of various characters from the book. The structure would be chapter / song / chapter / song and so on. If the book was coming fast, the songs were coming even easier. Then the booked stopped coming. Someday I may want to tell that story, but timing is everything and this just isn’t the time for it.

The songs, however continued to pour out, taking a few left turns and then morphing into its own thing. Most of this album comes from that short period of time between February and June of 2011. The songs begin in the period that the book was set in, but don’t end there, as they really just were the impetus for writing about the life I am living now and contrasting it with the troubled times of two decades ago.

I called it Heat Lightning Rumbles in the Distance and decided that spring to record it as a solo album. I could clearly hear in my head exactly how I wanted every song to sound and made a list of who I wanted to play on each one. It is in some ways the most personal album I’ve ever made. There has always been a lot of me in all of the albums we’ve done, but usually semi-disguised as character sketches and stories, but the first person narrative in this one is pretty firmly rooted in autobiography, albeit in two dramatically differing time periods.

powered by: companyBE