CALENDAR   |   DIRECTIONS   |   CONTACT   |   HAPPY HOUR   |   BOOKING   |   PAST ARTISTS   |   RENTALS


Wed Apr 16 |
SHAKEY GRAVES
with CRUSHED OUT
Thu Apr 17 |
HAPPY HOUR BINGO - Win tix to The Nadas, 21 Pilots, We Are Scientists + more
Thu Apr 17 |
THE HOOD INTERNET
with JUICY MONEY, VIBE WARRIOR
Fri Apr 18 |
SLEEPER/AGENT
with HOLY CHILD, PAGIINS
Sat Apr 19 |
SLOW MAGIC
with FRUGAL FATHER
Sun Apr 20 |
NITTY SCOTT, MC (4/20 SHOW)
with DJ IZER, QBALA
Sun Apr 20 |
THE OTHER BLACK (4/20 BRUNCH)
with SFI, BRITTANY WILLIAMS
Mon Apr 21 |
BEWARE OF DARKNESS
with DISGRACE THE TRAITOR, INTO THE HOLLOW
Tue Apr 22 |
KURT VEE
with EXOTONE, BISON BONE
Wed Apr 23 |
THE DEAD SIDE
with THE BEGATS, MURDER THE CAT, THE UNDEVOUTS
Thu Apr 24 |
BROODS
with MEG MYERS
Thu Apr 24 |
HAPPY HOUR BINGO - Win tix to Haim, Milk Carton Kids, Speedwolf + more!
Fri Apr 25 |
BRAVE THE BREAKDOWN
with BEES WITH GUNS, WHISKEY RICHARD, THE LARIMERS, BOTTLE ROCKET SCIENCE, AUTO SHOP RULES
Sat Apr 26 |
ONLY THUNDER (Reunion Show)
with BLACK DOTS, FALSE COLOURS, DEAD SET WEST
Sun Apr 27 |
LEOPOLD AND HIS FICTION
with THE JEKYLLS, LSD BAGS, BAD MAPS
Mon Apr 28 |
WE ARE SCIENTISTS
with PAWS
Wed Apr 30 |
A MINOR FOREST
with ACCORDION CRIMES, GLASS HITS
Thu May 1 |
Happy Hour Bingo | Win Tix To: Metronomy, Night Beats, The Pains of Being Pure At Heart + Tons More!
Thu May 1 |
LUCIDA TELA
with NEW LEVERAGE, HARVESTMEN, SHIBUYA TERMINAL
Fri May 2 |
THE DODOS
with A BAND IN PICTURES
Sat May 3 |
LITTLE HURRICANE
with ARK LIFE
Tue May 6 |
NIGHT BEATS
with THEE DANG DANGS, PRISM WAVES
Thu May 8 |
MOOSH & TWIST: OCD
with JARED EVAN, BMBC, JULES
Fri May 9 |
DIRTY//CLEAN SHOWCASE
with BEDROCKK, MOSIS, SNUBLUCK, DAWN SAFARI, LEMON FUTURE
Sat May 10 |
FILTHY T (Album Release)
with BRODIE KINDER, POTCHEEN, MOONLIGHTER
Tue May 13 |
THE PAINS OF BEING PURE AT HEART
with FEAR OF MEN, ABLEBODY
Thu May 15 |
CHARLES ARTHUR
with JOEY GENETTI, LAZER WOLF, PAUL EDELMAN
Mon May 19 |
STU LARSEN
Wed May 21 |
LITTLE GREEN CARS
with NATALIE WALKER
Thu May 22 |
BLOOD RED SHOES
Sat May 24 |
LOCAL H
with VON STOMPER
Tue May 27 |
MARGOT & THE NUCLEAR SO AND SO'S
with JAKE BELLOWS, KATE MYERS
Thu May 29 |
BUFFALO KILLERS
with SPACE IN TIME
Fri Jun 6 |
DAX RIGGS
Sat Jun 7 |
EAGULLS
Tue Jun 10 |
THE DETROIT COBRAS
with PUJOL
Thu Jun 12 |
LEE BAINS III AND THE GLORY FIRES
Wed Jun 18 |
ALLAH-LAS
Tue Jul 1 |
COURTNEY BARNETT
with YOUR FRIEND, ROO & THE HOWL
Mon Jul 7 |
FLY GOLDEN EAGLE
Mon Jul 14 |
CLOUD NOTHINGS
with THE WYTCHES
Sat Jul 19 |
MAN OR ASTRO-MAN?
Fri Jul 25 |
WOODHOUSE
with THE 8 TURNS, HARVESTMEN, RHEA HORVATH
Tue Jul 29 |
WILD CUB
with GRIZFOLK
Sat Aug 30 |
BOB LOG III
with THE HOLLYFELDS

Mon Dec 16 | KBPI Presents | 16+

BEWARE OF DARKNESS  

DISGRACE THE TRAITOR

Doors open at 8 PM   |   Show starts at 9 PM   |   $5 EARLY BIRD | $10 ADV | $12 DAY OF SHOW





$5 EARLY BIRD TICKETS ON SALE FRI NOV 8TH!!!

Out now on Bright Antenna Records, Beware of Darkness’ (Kyle Nicolaides, Tony Cupito, and Daniel Curcio) debut full-length Orthodox is a musical assault—filled with squealing guitars, barbed hooks, and timeless glam posturing. At first listen, the album is a mindless good time—aimed somewhere between the gut and dirty dive bar.  It is not, however, a thoughtless endeavor.

“No one asks why you do things,” muses frontman Kyle Nicolaides. “Why do you love what you love? I had to ask why I want to do this. Music, you can totally scrape by without thinking about it, if that makes sense. You can half-heartedly write songs and have success at it.”

Weaned on a heady blend of The Beatles and Led Zeppelin, putting thought into music has always come easily to Nicolaides. However it wasn’t until he met bandmate Tony Cupito—the only other white guy at an all African-American R&B show—that Beware of Darkness began to take shape. In a stroke of luck—or perhaps fate—Cupito lead Nicolaides in finding bassist Daniel Curcio, who happened to be in town to meet a half-brother he never knew he had.

Recorded entirely in two weeks at the Sound Factory and Valley Recorder in Hollywood, CA,  executive produced by Dave Sardy and produced by Greg Gordon and Nicolaides, Beware of Darkness’ debut-full length is a heady meditation on death—and its implications for the living.

“I remember being thirteen or fourteen and being in school one day, and having that realization that I’m going to die,” he says. “That’s kind of why I started writing songs and working really hard in high school…It was weird, because there was a motivation for me. I had read an article about a local girl who had just died in a car crash. You realize, that man, it could happen any time.”

With the material written while Nicolaides was between the ages of 20 and 21, the musician found he had to go back to the past to understand his current work.

“The working title was Bleak,” he reveals. “It became Orthodox. I kept writing that word down in my journals. Once I finally looked up what it meant, it made sense and it fit. The first half means right and true, the second half means belief. I think the record is a lot about that too. About coming into awareness. You know that age where you come into awareness and you understand how the world works?  ‘This is how our food supply works?  This is how government works?’  For me, it’s about that kind of thing: self-awareness, what that is, realizing that you can lose people, realizing that friends disappear, and understanding how things work.”

Hard won realizations and cold comforts dot the album. “There’s one song called ‘Morning Tea,’ recounts Nicolaides. “It was the first song that I had written where I felt like I pulled a huge leech off my back. I felt twenty pounds lighter after I wrote it.”

However, nowhere is that sense of understanding in loss more evident than “All Who Remain,” a ballad  co-written by John 5 of Rob Zombie.

“We’ve never got a reaction to playing a song like that,” says Nicolaides. “The first time we played it live, we sound-checked with it in San Diego…the  popcorn guy ran up to us and said, ‘What is that song? That was insane! I want to hear it again!’ It’s ridiculous. We’ve never had a song like that. There are always a handful of people after ever song who come up and ask ‘What was that?’  It’s really special. It’s a slow jam and it’s about somebody dying that’s close to you. I’m excited for people to hear that.”

powered by: companyBE