CALENDAR   |   DIRECTIONS   |   CONTACT   |   HAPPY HOUR   |   BOOKING   |   PAST ARTISTS   |   RENTALS


Wed Jul 29 |
LOWER DENS
with YOUNG EJECTA
Thu Jul 30 |
NICHOLAS DAVID
with CLOUDS AND MOUNTAINS, WALKER LUKENS
Thu Jul 30 |
HAPPY HOUR BINGO - Win tix to Chet Faker, Django Django, Best Coast, James Vincent McMarrow
Fri Jul 31 |
MILE HIGH CONNECT SUMMER SHOWCASE
with M.O.A., TROLL PACK, YOUNG GOTH, WES DAWG, YOXNG JAH, NIKO | MARVELOUS | DIEON FIGURES | J SWIFT, MALEMAN | DAVID B.A.N.G | DJ COOP SUPREME
Sat Aug 1 |
SUMMER SONIC FEATURING...
with SPACESUITS FOR INDIANS, TOM WAITS FOR NO MAN, BARK WILSON, METAFONICS
Sun Aug 2 |
SUNDAY BBQ SERIES
with NATALIE TATE, PORLOLO, GUN STREET GHOST, THE KISS OFF, ANIMA, JIM MCTURNAN ( of Soft Skulls)
Mon Aug 3 |
AN HOBBES
with FELIX FAST4WARD, 3TWO, ABEASITY JONES, CM AKA CREATIVE, ADAM SELENE
Tue Aug 4 |
SCREAMING FEMALES
with DIRTY FEW, VACATION
Wed Aug 5 |
THE SPILL CANVAS
with RUMOURS FOLLOW, ONE FLEW WEST, 10 Year Anniversary Tour for One Fell Swoo
Thu Aug 6 |
GIVERS
with AERO FLYNN
Fri Aug 7 |
CIVIL TWILIGHT
with TRAPDOOR SOCIAL, MODERN SUSPECTS
Sat Aug 8 |
X AMBASSADORS
with LANY, PHASES
Sun Aug 9 |
SUNDAY BBQ SERIES
with AMERICAN CULTURE, NEUTRALSHADE, SCARY DRUGS
Tue Aug 11 |
METZ
with BIG UPS, DILLY DALLY
Wed Aug 12 |
THE KINKY FINGERS
with SET SAIL, CHOCOLATE DIAMOND
Thu Aug 13 |
CD RELEASE PARTY
with WOODHOUSE, KYLE JAMES HAUSER, ADAM KINGHORN
Fri Aug 14 |
BREACH & BELLOW
with DEARLING
Sat Aug 15 |
SYNESTHESIA
with DECOLLAGE, MANZOON, ANCIENT ELK, EMERALD SIAM, TURBO FRUITS, RUMTUM
Sun Aug 16 |
SUNDAY BBQ SERIES
with TWO STONED BIRDS, THEOGEN, DEATH DAY CABARET, LINDSEY SAUNDERS , THOUSAND FRAMES
Mon Aug 17 |
MANIC MONDAY FEATURING...
Wed Aug 19 |
MUTOID MAN
with WILD THRONE
Thu Aug 20 |
HAVE GUN, WILL TRAVEL
with GARRETT KLAHN
Fri Aug 21 |
SARAH AND THE MEANIES
Sat Aug 22 |
SOULS IN ACTION SHOWCASE
with TJ'S RED PLASTIC CUP, JUBEE, ANDY IMMERMAN, MILKY.WAV, JILLY.FM, AND MORE
Sun Aug 23 |
SUNDAY BBQ SERIES
with GUILTY BY ASSOCIATION, STRAFGOD, ONE TIME CRIME, SKSS
Wed Aug 26 |
SEVEN SEA VOYAGE
with EYES SET SAIL, FUNERAL IN FLAMES, DECADENCE IN DECAY
Thu Aug 27 |
SAFE BOATING IS NO ACCIDENT
with BLANKET EMPIRE, GRASS
Sat Aug 29 |
MYSTIC BRAVES
Sun Aug 30 |
SUNDAY BBQ SERIES
with BARBARA JEAN & MOLLY DEAN
Mon Aug 31 |
WALL OF THE FALLEN
with OUR SCARLET WINTER
Sun Sep 6 |
SUNDAY BBQ SERIES
with THE BELL HOURS, THE SAMUEL EDGAR BAND, CASEY SMITH, MIKE LAMITOLA, ROY CATLIN
Mon Sep 7 |
LIVE LIKE GLASS
with MY ASCENSION, REALITY AT IT'S FINEST
Wed Sep 9 |
ON AN ON
with ELIOT SUMNER, DOSH
Sun Sep 13 |
SUNDAY BBQ SERIES
with LUNA SOL, MASTER FEROCIOUS, ALTERITY, STILL VALLEY
Mon Sep 14 |
BLACK PUSSY
with APE MACHINE, CLOUD CATCHER
Wed Sep 16 |
THE COATHANGERS
Thu Sep 17 |
THE LIGHTHOUSE AND THE WHALER
Sun Sep 20 |
THUNDERCAT
Mon Sep 21 |
STEVE'N'SEAGULLS
Tue Sep 22 |
TYLER WARD
Fri Sep 25 |
A PLACE TO BURY STRANGERS
with GROOMS, EMERALD SIAM
Tue Sep 29 |
SHANNON AND THE CLAMS
Sat Oct 3 |
ALGIERS
Tue Oct 6 |
MELANIE MARTINEZ
Wed Oct 7 |
MELANIE MARTINEZ
Fri Oct 9 |
JOEY CAPE
with LAURA MARDON, WALT HAMBURGER, BETTY AND THE BOY
Sat Oct 10 |
THE GIRAFFES
with ENGINE EAR, BRONZE
Sun Oct 11 |
BOB MOSES
Tue Oct 13 |
WILLIAM FITZSIMMONS
Wed Oct 14 |
MAUDLIN STRANGERS
Sat Oct 17 |
MAX SCHNEIDER
with KENZIE NIMMO
Tue Oct 20 |
HINDS
with PUBLIC ACCESS T.V.
Wed Oct 21 |
MATT NATHANSON
Mon Oct 26 |
KING DUDE
with DRAB MAJESTY
Thu Oct 29 |
HALLOWEEN EP RELEASE PARTY
with RUMOURS FOLLOW, SLOW CAVES, THE HOST CLUB
Sat Oct 31 |
SMALL BLACK
with PAINTED PALMS
Tue Nov 3 |
HERE WE GO MAGIC
Sat Nov 7 |
THE GOOD LIFE
Wed Nov 11 |
STRANGE TALK
Fri Nov 13 |
LOW
with ANDY SHAUF
Thu Nov 19 |
DAVID RAMIREZ
with LIZA ANNE
Sat Nov 21 |
DARWIN DEEZ

Mon Dec 16 | KBPI Presents | 16+

BEWARE OF DARKNESS  

DISGRACE THE TRAITOR

Doors open at 8 PM   |   Show starts at 9 PM   |   $5 EARLY BIRD | $10 ADV | $12 DAY OF SHOW





$5 EARLY BIRD TICKETS ON SALE FRI NOV 8TH!!!

Out now on Bright Antenna Records, Beware of Darkness’ (Kyle Nicolaides, Tony Cupito, and Daniel Curcio) debut full-length Orthodox is a musical assault—filled with squealing guitars, barbed hooks, and timeless glam posturing. At first listen, the album is a mindless good time—aimed somewhere between the gut and dirty dive bar.  It is not, however, a thoughtless endeavor.

“No one asks why you do things,” muses frontman Kyle Nicolaides. “Why do you love what you love? I had to ask why I want to do this. Music, you can totally scrape by without thinking about it, if that makes sense. You can half-heartedly write songs and have success at it.”

Weaned on a heady blend of The Beatles and Led Zeppelin, putting thought into music has always come easily to Nicolaides. However it wasn’t until he met bandmate Tony Cupito—the only other white guy at an all African-American R&B show—that Beware of Darkness began to take shape. In a stroke of luck—or perhaps fate—Cupito lead Nicolaides in finding bassist Daniel Curcio, who happened to be in town to meet a half-brother he never knew he had.

Recorded entirely in two weeks at the Sound Factory and Valley Recorder in Hollywood, CA,  executive produced by Dave Sardy and produced by Greg Gordon and Nicolaides, Beware of Darkness’ debut-full length is a heady meditation on death—and its implications for the living.

“I remember being thirteen or fourteen and being in school one day, and having that realization that I’m going to die,” he says. “That’s kind of why I started writing songs and working really hard in high school…It was weird, because there was a motivation for me. I had read an article about a local girl who had just died in a car crash. You realize, that man, it could happen any time.”

With the material written while Nicolaides was between the ages of 20 and 21, the musician found he had to go back to the past to understand his current work.

“The working title was Bleak,” he reveals. “It became Orthodox. I kept writing that word down in my journals. Once I finally looked up what it meant, it made sense and it fit. The first half means right and true, the second half means belief. I think the record is a lot about that too. About coming into awareness. You know that age where you come into awareness and you understand how the world works?  ‘This is how our food supply works?  This is how government works?’  For me, it’s about that kind of thing: self-awareness, what that is, realizing that you can lose people, realizing that friends disappear, and understanding how things work.”

Hard won realizations and cold comforts dot the album. “There’s one song called ‘Morning Tea,’ recounts Nicolaides. “It was the first song that I had written where I felt like I pulled a huge leech off my back. I felt twenty pounds lighter after I wrote it.”

However, nowhere is that sense of understanding in loss more evident than “All Who Remain,” a ballad  co-written by John 5 of Rob Zombie.

“We’ve never got a reaction to playing a song like that,” says Nicolaides. “The first time we played it live, we sound-checked with it in San Diego…the  popcorn guy ran up to us and said, ‘What is that song? That was insane! I want to hear it again!’ It’s ridiculous. We’ve never had a song like that. There are always a handful of people after ever song who come up and ask ‘What was that?’  It’s really special. It’s a slow jam and it’s about somebody dying that’s close to you. I’m excited for people to hear that.”

powered by: companyBE