CALENDAR   |   DIRECTIONS   |   CONTACT   |   HAPPY HOUR   |   BOOKING   |   PAST ARTISTS   |   RENTALS


Tue Jul 29 |
WILD CUB
with GRIZFOLK
Wed Jul 30 |
THE MOURNING SICKNESS
with GORT VS GOOM, HILLBILLY RIOT
Thu Jul 31 |
HAPPY HOUR BINGO - Win tix to Phantogram, Jolie Holland, Future Islands + more
Thu Jul 31 |
JAMES WALLACE AND THE NAKED LIGHT
with BONE ORCHARD REVIVAL, JUSTIN HULSEY
Fri Aug 1 |
MYTHirst
with FURBIE CAKES, Felix FAST4WARD, CUEBOC, PATRICK SKYLER
Sat Aug 2 |
OKO TYGRA
with UMBRELLA WEATHER, HIRAETH, CURTA
Sun Aug 3 |
SHANGHAI SALLY
with NEPTUNIAN WEATHERVANE, RYAN D WHITE AND THE SPINS, THE ELECTRIC DAISIES
Sun Aug 3 |
STOOGES BRASS BAND
with HOT SOUP
Tue Aug 5 |
NATURAL VIBRATIONS
with HI ROOTS, MONO VERDE
Thu Aug 7 |
JOLIE HOLLAND
with SHY HUNTERS, PLUME VARIA
Fri Aug 8 |
XIU XIU
with CIRCUT DES YEUX, EROS & THE ESCHATON
Fri Aug 8 |
ICONOPLASTY
with NEW LEVERAGE
Sat Aug 9 |
CULTURA PROF√ČTICA
with IZCALLI
Thu Aug 14 |
SWEAR AND SHAKE
with VON STOMPER, TOMAHAWK FOX
Fri Aug 15 |
LITTLE DAYLIGHT
with YOUNG RISING SONS
Sun Aug 17 |
BUD BRONSON & THE GOOD TIMERS
with WIREDOGS, MILES TO MOUNTAINS, THE OUTFIT, INSTANT EMPIRE, NATO COLES & THE BLUE DIAMOND BAND, THE PATIENT ZEROS
Tue Aug 19 |
THE COATHANGERS
with WHITE FANG, NED GARTHE EXPLOSION
Wed Aug 20 |
THE BEN HANNA BAND
with WANDERING NATIVES, THE THREADBARONS
Thu Aug 21 |
BLACK MAGIC DARKNESS
Fri Aug 22 |
MORNING BEAR
Sat Aug 23 |
BLACK KIDS
with SLOW CAVES, THE CIRCUS HOUSE
Sun Aug 24 |
LITERATI RECORDS SHOWCASE
with CLOUD CATCHER, THE CUTTHROAT DRIFTERS, ...AND THE BLACK FEATHERS, THE PATIENT ZEROS, REMEMBER THE RADIO, COUGAR GOLD, THE BORN READIES, JEFFREY DALLET
Mon Aug 25 |
MC FRONTALOT
with DJ AWKWARD
Tue Aug 26 |
JESSICA HERNANDEZ & THE DELTAS
with VARLET
Fri Aug 29 |
VICES I ADMIRE
with STRIP THE STARS, LEASH OF FOXES
Sat Aug 30 |
BOB LOG III
with THE HOLLYFELDS, THE GHOST OF JOSEPH BUCK
Wed Sep 3 |
KNOX HAMILTON
Thu Sep 4 |
YUNA
Fri Sep 5 |
PARADISE FEARS
with WILLIAM BECKETT, THE HOST CLUB
Sat Sep 6 |
DRAG THE RIVER
with DENVER BRONCOS UK, OL HICKORY
Mon Sep 8 |
JOEY CAPE
Fri Sep 12 |
TOBACCO
with THE STARGAZER LILIES
Sat Sep 13 |
GOLDRUSH MUSIC FESTIVAL
with MT EERIE, clipping., RUMTUM and more
Sun Sep 14 |
GOLDRUSH MUSIC FESTIVAL
with MT EERIE, clipping., RUMTUM and more
Sat Sep 20 |
THE WHIGS
Wed Sep 24 |
MIKE WATT
with THE POLLUTION
Thu Sep 25 |
GLASS ANIMALS
Sun Sep 28 |
AGENT ORANGE
with IN THE WHALE
Tue Sep 30 |
KOPECKY FAMILY BAND
with AVID DANCER
Wed Oct 1 |
EARTH
with KING DUDE
Thu Oct 2 |
BEACH FOSSILS
with HEAVENLY BEAT, AXXA/ABRAXAS
Sat Oct 4 |
THE GIRAFFES
Tue Oct 7 |
BAHAMAS
with BASIA BULAT
Tue Oct 14 |
ASGEIR
Wed Oct 15 |
SONREAL
Mon Oct 20 |
TURQUOISE JEEP
with YIP DECEIVER
Fri Oct 31 |
SECRET CHIEFS 3
Sat Nov 8 |
JUDAH & THE LION
Mon Nov 10 |
SOHN
Fri Nov 21 |
J MASCIS (NIGHT ONE)
with LULUC
Sat Nov 22 |
J MASCIS (NIGHT TWO)
with LULUC
Tue Dec 2 |
MY BRIGHTEST DIAMOND

Sun Jan 5 | Radio 1190 Presents | 16+

MARIA TAYLOR  

PJ BOND
BLAKE BROWN

Doors open at 8 PM   |   Show starts at 9 PM   |   $5 EARLY BIRD | $12 ADV | $14 DAY OF SHOW





Maria Taylor’s Something About Knowing beckons with the opening track “Folk Song Melody,” a mesmerizing acoustic-with-celestial-atmospherics composition crafted around a wordless singsong passage that’s instantly familiar. “That section says everything without words and the rest of the record fills in the emotions,” she says. And the emotions brimming on the album are bliss and contentment. On the title track, with a molasses flow, Maria names her blessings from the diurnal to the divine. Here she sings: “I got you/I got me/I heard the sweetest voice call me mommy/got my old 5 string/I’ve got everything.” The music is balmy with a sweetly swaying groove, angelic backup vocals, gospel organs, and a shooting star guitar melody. The stunning “Tunnel Vision” is expansive and chiming pop with a lose-yourself-on-the-dance-floor beat.

Something About Knowing’s spirit of “coming home with confidence” extends from Maria’s personal and artistic peacefulness to the team she picked to surround herself with while making this album. She enlisted producer Mike Mogis, an essential creative foil on her first two records. Her brother Macey Taylor played bass on every song as well as keyboards and piano. And her old high school music pal Brad Armstrong co-wrote, played on, and recorded two tracks in his garage. “There we were back in his garage, only now we both had kids running around, it was really special,” Maria says. Longtime friend and collaborator Andy LeMaster mixed these two songs. Additionally, Maria recorded the track “This Is It” with Lester Nuby, and Daniel Farris—two trusted companions she worked with on her last two records—at home in Birmingham, Alabama.

Maria Taylor has released four solo albums and an EP, and has been lauded for her collaborations with artists such as Bright Eyes, Michael Stipe (R.E.M.), Moby, David Barbe (Sugar, Drive-By Truckers, Son Volt), and Crooked Fingers.

powered by: companyBE