CALENDAR   |   CONTACT   |   HAPPY HOUR   |   BOOKING   |   PAST ARTISTS   |   FOOD & DRINK


Fri Apr 29 |
DRAGONDEER
with THE VELVETEERS
Sat Apr 30 |
NATIVE DAUGHTERS (ALBUM RELEASE PARTY)
with ABRAMS, SPELLS, DANGEROUS FRIENDS
Sun May 1 |
SUNDAY BBQ SERIES
with FALSE REPORT, MONTONEROS, ANTERROIR, HOTEL BAR, SORREL, Rino Grille will be open!
Mon May 2 |
DECLAN MCKENNA
with GLEEMER, CIVIL ENGINEER
Tue May 3 |
COASTS
with KNOX HAMILTON, SYMMETRY, THE SOLID OCEAN
Wed May 4 |
SUSTO
with BISON BONE
Thu May 5 |
WILL HOGE
with BRENT COWLES (of You Me & Apollo), MATT ROUCH, ANDRES (OF MONTROPO)
Thu May 5 |
HAPPY HOUR BINGO
with Win tix to Borns, Explosions in the Sky, Blaq Audio
Fri May 6 |
BLACK MOUNTAIN
with WHITE HILLS
Sat May 7 |
BLACK MOUNTAIN
with WHITE HILLS
Mon May 9 |
HIPPO CAMPUS
with RIOTHORSE ROYALE
Wed May 11 |
LEVITATION ROOM (BURGER RECORDS)
with THE SAVAGE BLUSH, THE TRIP, CHOCOLATE DIAMOND
Thu May 12 |
NIGHT DEMON
with VISIGOTH, CELLADOR, SATAN'S HOST
Thu May 12 |
HAPPY HOUR BINGO
with Win tix to Mayor Hawthorne, The Neighbourhood, Whitey Morgan
Fri May 13 |
POSSESSED BY PAUL JAMES
with ANDY THOMAS' DUST HEART, RL COLE
Sat May 14 |
BIG WILD
with MIKEY THUNDER, DAWN SAFARI
Sun May 15 |
SUNDAY BBQ SERIES
with GRANNY TWEED, GOOD NEIGHBOR & HIS TENT CITY DRIFTERS, LARRY NIX
Tue May 17 |
NOTHING BUT THIEVES
with THE WRECKS
Wed May 18 |
STICKY FINGERS
with BOOTLEG RASCALS
Thu May 19 |
HAPPY HOUR BINGO
with Win tix to Kaleo, The Kills, Tokyo Police Club
Thu May 19 |
MISA OF UCD ARTIST SHOWCASE
Fri May 20 |
DEAD MEADOW
with BAD LICKS, DEAD PALMS
Sat May 21 |
PROJECT PABST DENVER
Sun May 22 |
THE LAST REVEL (BBQ SHOW)
with THE SWEET LILLIES (TRIO), MONOCLE
Mon May 23 |
BREAKBOT
with DE LUX
Tue May 24 |
SOAK.
Wed May 25 |
THE SHELTERS
Thu May 26 |
GO DARK
with AYTIKO
Thu May 26 |
HAPPY HOUR BINGO
with Win tix to Growlers, Caravan Palace, Joywave
Sat May 28 |
THE HOTELIER
with TOLD SLANT, LOONE
Sun May 29 |
FRUIT BATS
with TRUMMORS
Fri Jun 3 |
SP DOUBLE
Sat Jun 4 |
MANILA KILLA
Mon Jun 6 |
SUPERHEAVEN
with CREEPOID, SPIRIT OF THE BEEHIVE
Wed Jun 8 |
GROW WILD TOUR
Sat Jun 11 |
KEVIN MORBY
with JAYE BARTELL
Tue Jun 14 |
MUTUAL BENEFIT
with FLORIST, MRS. MAGICIAN
Tue Jun 14 |
BRONCHO (WALNUT ROOM)
with WINTER, BILLY CHANGER
Thu Jun 16 |
CORB LUND
with ANDY HAMILTON & THE ROCKY MOUNTAIN CONTRABAND
Sat Jun 18 |
ESME PATTERSON
Mon Jun 20 |
EAGULLS
Tue Jun 21 |
THE HUNNA
Wed Jun 22 |
WHILK + MISKY
Tue Jun 28 |
TWIN PEAKS
with NE-HI
Wed Jul 6 |
THE SHEEPDOGS
Fri Jul 8 |
DEAD WINTER CARPENTERS
Sun Jul 10 |
SUNDAY BBQ SERIES
Thu Jul 14 |
THE EAGLE ROCK GOSPEL SINGERS
Sat Jul 16 |
MITSKI
with JAPANESE BREAKFAST, JAY SOM
Sun Jul 17 |
WHISKEY SHIVERS BBQ
Mon Jul 18 |
MARGARET GLASPY
Mon Jul 25 |
PINEGROVE
with SPORTS, HALF WAIF
Fri Jul 29 |
THE NOISY FREAKS
Sat Jul 30 |
YONI & GETI
Sun Jul 31 |
RENO DIVORCE (BBQ SHOW)
Mon Aug 1 |
OH PEP!
Thu Aug 11 |
PROTOMARTYR
Sat Aug 13 |
D.R.I.
with THE EIGHT BUCKS EXPERIMENT
Sun Aug 14 |
D.R.I. BBQ SHOW
with THE EIGHT BUCKS EXPERIMENT

Wed May 21 | OpenAir 1340 Presents | 21+

LITTLE GREEN CARS  

NATALIE WALKER

Doors open at 8 PM   |   Show starts at 9 PM   |   $10 ADV | $15 DAY OF SHOW





Few of us make much out of the endless weekend hours we spend together when we're young. Draping ourselves throughout our friends' houses and airing out the angst and dreams and heartbreaks that will shape us before they fade away with time, we may make mixtapes, or weave friendship bracelets, or simply craft inside jokes and rosy memories to cherish in years down the line. But for Dublin folk rock quintet Little Green Cars, those Sunday afternoons may have built the most important adventure they'll ever take.

The band - now a quintet of 20-year-olds with a habit of waxing deadly serious about their ever-expanding ambitions - convened in 2008 in a bungalow in Stevie Appleby's parents' backyard for as ordinary a reason as any: as the frontman admits sheepishly, they wanted to win a battle of the bands competition. With guitarist Adam O'Regan and bassist Donagh O'Leary friends since primary school, and the rest having met in secondary, the five rehearsed for the gig, at which they promptly lost out to another local band.

The defeat, however, was surprisingly fuel enough. It inspired them to work harder, to work through their remaining two years of school, during which they produced a massive catalog of demo recordings, blending acoustic and electronic, classical and punk, djembe drums and synth strings.

Then, in 2010, not long before graduation, then-rising manager Daniel Ryan found them at one of their sparse live gigs. With just one client already under his wing, he approached the quintet with a terrifying yet exhilarating ultimatum: Do you want to go to university, or do you want to really be in a band?

"That was the first time we considered looking that far ahead," says guitarist/vocalist/primary songwriter Faye O'Rourke. "We were trying to avoid thinking about the future because of the prospect of college, but…"

The choice became obvious.

"Stevie and I never did anything in school. Ever, ever, ever," says O'Regan, only half-joking. "Certainly, we put all our eggs in one basket. People always teach you that you've got to have something to fall back on, but we figured, by that logic, if we put everything into music, it can't fail. So, that's what we did."

And like that, they dove in. For two years they redoubled their efforts, crafting a wide-eyed musical narrative that mirrored their evolution as an ensemble until, inevitably, label suitors began to knock. In 2011, they signed to Glassnote, where they've been quietly boiling down those demos into an album - the first they've ever recorded.

"The main thing I want to hear out of an artist I admire is the truth," says Appleby. "How they really felt. If I'm going to say something, it may as well be the truth."

The lengths to which Appleby, O'Rourke and the rest of the band will go to tell that truth have yet to reveal their depth, but a full-steam-ahead debut record is a good place to start: finally, five years' worth of backyard Garage Band tracks have a name: Absolute Zero.

The songs of Absolute Zero have only begun to see the light of day, because, as Appleby puts it, "we've always been more interested in recording and writing and experimenting with everything than in touring.

The past five years was time spent finding our sound, finding ourselves. We've gone through everything, from acoustic guitars to electronic music. We needed the time to grow up as people and as musicians."
In other words, this is a debut that is a sum total of its creators' ascent to this moment. It is a desperate, under-pillow diary; a painstakingly lettered love note dropped in a locker; a collective, yet very personal, dissertation.

On the record's debut single "The John Wayne," a fierce paean to the ones who so easily break our hearts, the lot of them proclaim, "It's easy to fall in love with you/It's easy to be alone/It's easy to hate yourself when all your love is inside someone else." On "My Love Took Me Down To The River To Silence Me," O'Rourke is torn between the heartbreak and the healing that comes from being heartbroken, "But my heart burned out til it was no more/still I wait on the ground, I don't know what for/There is a heart in you/where is the heart in me?/This love's killing me, but I want it to." And by its early-morning close, when Appleby asks, "And who will write and who will fight for this man/I know I am?/And if you're running out of space/Please don't erase your time with me," it becomes clear that it's not just love Little Green Cars are grasping at: even amidst an ex-lover's plea for acknowledgement, the search has grown far beyond that.

Absolute Zero's 48 minutes, crafted in unabashed earnestness with the aid of seasoned epic-producer Markus Dravs (Mumford and Sons' Sigh No More and Babel, Arcade Fire'sNeon Bible and The Suburbs, Coldplay's Mylo Xyloto), act as a soul-bearing report, as guileless as the young quintet themselves, on the act of simply growing up: a process that requires, at once, so little and so much effort it could explode you from the inside at any moment.

"This record constantly jumps between two contrasting perspectives: the beauty of a reckless youth and the fear and confusion caused by our ever-pending adulthood," Appleby explains. "It's a hopeful and nave look at love and life in general, which gives the album its bright days - but also deals with isolation, unrequited love and madness, which give the album its long nights, its nightmares. We wanted to express both a feeling of strength and vulnerability, so the work had to encompass both the light and dark."
Most of all, they're hoping to find they're not alone in their search.

"These are all feelings we've had, as a group or as individuals. We hope this is something people can relate to. That's always been why music has been written: it's a voice for people who don't have a voice. Hopefully someone can find some sort of comfort or solace in this. "

Fresh off a whirlwind month of touring that included several CMJ showcases - ones that caught the attention of outlets like NPR and the New York Times - the band will be spending the next few months leading up to Absolute Zero's release preparing themselves for whatever comes next. Because once it drops, all they'll be able to do is to keep their hands outstretched and wait patiently for listeners to reach back.

powered by: companyBE