CALENDAR   |   DIRECTIONS   |   CONTACT   |   HAPPY HOUR   |   BOOKING   |   PAST ARTISTS   |   RENTALS


Sat Apr 25 |
COASTS
with ZELLA DAY
Sun Apr 26 |
SEOUL
with OKO TYGRA
Tue Apr 28 |
HAMHOCK
with THE PARTITION, RED NINJA
Wed Apr 29 |
DRINK DRANK PUNK
with THE PLATES, DIRT, FINGER PIE
Thu Apr 30 |
LINDI ORTEGA
with ANDREW COMBS, CASEY JAMES PRESTWOOD
Thu Apr 30 |
HAPPY HOUR BINGO - Win tix to Purity Ring, Death Grips, Neon Trees + more!
Fri May 1 |
TORTUGA
with TKETTLE, N3U3S, HARHIGH
Sat May 2 |
LADY LAMB THE BEEKEEPER
with RATHBORNE, BLUEBOOK
Mon May 4 |
JEFFREY DALLET
with DORIAN
Tue May 5 |
EL JAVI
with DURAN, RAUL, KAHLIL
Thu May 7 |
YOUNG FATHERS
with MAS YSA, INPUT
Fri May 8 |
THE ROYAL
with ROOTBEER AND MERMENTAU, SIX SHOOTER
Sat May 9 |
RED FOX RUN
with VIRETTA, SLOW CAVES
Tue May 12 |
SEVEN SEA VOYAGE
with TONIGHT WE RISE, OCTOBER SKIES, DORSIA
Wed May 13 |
THE RED PAINTINGS
Thu May 14 |
THE RENTALS
with RADIATION CITY, REY PILA
Fri May 15 |
A TRIBE CALLED RED
with DIGITAL CONNECTION, NEED & NECESSITY
Sat May 16 |
JAKUBI
with ANDY ROK & THE REAL DEAL
Sun May 17 |
THE BUCKINGHAM SQUARES
with SPARKLE JETS
Mon May 18 |
TODAY IS THE DAY
with LAZER/WULF
Tue May 19 |
LOCAL H
with ALL EYES WEST
Wed May 20 |
B-SIDE PLAYERS
with MONO VERDE, SPELLBINDER & ROOTS MASSIVE
Thu May 21 |
PIGPEN THEATRE CO.
with GOODNIGHT, TEXAS
Fri May 22 |
THE LAVELLAS
with DARK ORCHID, ORBITING BLUE, INTRE-VENUS & THE COSMONAUTS
Sat May 23 |
MYSTIC BRAVES
with THE KINKY FINGERS
Tue May 26 |
MIAMI HORROR
Wed May 27 |
KATE TEMPEST
Thu May 28 |
DAN MANGAN + BLACKSMITH
Fri May 29 |
PALMA VIOLETS
with PUBLIC ACCESS TV
Sat May 30 |
SPEEDY ORTIZ
with PALEHOUND, ALEX G, ACCORDION CRIMES
Wed Jun 3 |
DESERT NOISES
Thu Jun 4 |
MANDOLIN ORANGE
Fri Jun 5 |
THE HELIO SEQUENCE
Mon Jun 8 |
JEREMY LOOPS
Tue Jun 9 |
THE LIFE AND TIMES
Thu Jun 11 |
SPIRIT FAMILY REUNION
Fri Jun 12 |
THE NTH POWER
with YOJIMBO
Sat Jun 13 |
THE CAVE SINGERS
Tue Jun 16 |
ELECTRIC SIX
with WHITE REAPER, BRANDED BANDITS
Wed Jun 17 |
DEAD MEADOW (NIGHT ONE)
Thu Jun 18 |
DEAD MEADOW (NIGHT TWO)
Fri Jun 19 |
ROYAL THUNDER
Sat Jun 20 |
SAN CISCO
with THE PRETTIOTS
Fri Jun 26 |
TRAILS & WAYS
with WATERSTRIDER
Fri Jul 3 |
TANLINES
Tue Jul 7 |
THE DELTA SAINTS
Sun Jul 12 |
GRISWOLDS
Tue Jul 14 |
JAY BRANNAN
Fri Jul 24 |
MELT BANANA
Tue Jul 28 |
CHAPPO
Wed Jul 29 |
LOWER DENS
Tue Aug 11 |
METZ

Fri May 2 | OpenAir 1340 and Rabbl Presents | 18+

THE DODOS  

A BAND IN PICTURES

Doors open at 9 PM   |   Show starts at 10 PM   |   $12 EARLY BIRD | $15 ADV | $18 DAY OF SHOW





When it came time for the Dodos to begin writing their fifth LP, Carrier, singer/guitarist Meric Long wanted to start over.

The uncertainty of the band's trajectory as well as the passing of guitarist Chris Reimer brought about a reassessment of things within the band, and in particular Long's songwriting. In need of a different vantage point, Long began writing words before music for the first time, enveloping himself in silence rather than sound.

When it came time to set these lyrics to music, Long started writing with only his electric guitar in hand — another first. The focus on this instrument was due in large part to the time Long spent with Reimer, the guitarist for Women who had joined Long and percussionist Logan Kroeber to become the third member of the Dodos throughout 2011 before unexpectedly passing away early the following year.

"Chris was a huge influence on the way I think about guitar, songwriting, and music in general," reveals Long. "Seeing how he could transform and shape sound with an electric guitar inspired me to explore more tones and use those tones to begin writing a song."

And so, when he began to formulate the tracks that would ultimately comprise Carrier, Long employed two principles he inherited from Reimer: patience to let a song develop and a judgment-free enthusiasm for sound.

To this end, Long and Kroeber decided to record in their hometown of San Francisco for the first time, allowing for less time constraints and a more pressure-free experience than past out-of-state sessions had afforded.

Although John Vanderslice's Tiny Telephone studio was initially selected for its analog-friendly set-up, the duo were happy to find themselves working within a supportive community of like-minded musicians that included engineers Jay and Ian Pellicci, both of whom assisted in the production of Carrier, as well as the Magik Magik Orchestra, which appears on several tracks.

As a result, the album the Dodos crafted is refreshingly sincere: no computers, no gimmicks — just eleven songs that are beautiful and solid and true and honest.

"Substance" effortlessly embodies all of these traits, from the crisp drumming that announces its arrival to the bright guitar lines that weave in and out before eventually joining forces with a triumphant burst of trumpets.

"Confidence" begins like a calm before the storm, its strong vocals over gentle guitar and drums soon erupting into a positively epic display of guitar riffs and hypnotizing percussion. The record's second side is anchored by "The Current," on which an angular guitar tone loops over a chugging guitar rhythm to satisfying effect as Long declares in a moment of catharsis, "If this love comes unto me / I'm with it / I'm with it."

Much too soon, Carrier ends with "The Ocean" — though Long and Kroeber view the track less as a conclusion and more of a "to be continued" into this album's follow-up, which they have already begun working on.

For a band briefly in flux, it's clear now that the Dodos' outlook on the future has never looked more certain.
 

powered by: companyBE