CALENDAR   |   DIRECTIONS   |   CONTACT   |   HAPPY HOUR   |   BOOKING   |   PAST ARTISTS   |   RENTALS


Tue May 26 |
MIAMI HORROR
with DE LUX, PRUITT
Wed May 27 |
KATE TEMPEST
with KITTY CRIMES
Thu May 28 |
DAN MANGAN + BLACKSMITH
with BRENT COWLES (OF YOU ME & APOLLO)
Fri May 29 |
PALMA VIOLETS
with PUBLIC ACCESS TV
Sat May 30 |
SPEEDY ORTIZ
with PALEHOUND, ALEX G, ACCORDION CRIMES
Sun May 31 |
SUNDAY BBQ SERIES
with OLD SPORT, ANTERRIOR, STRAIGHT WHITE TEETH
Sun May 31 |
CROM COMEDY FESTIVAL
with POST BBQ SHOW
Tue Jun 2 |
BEFORE THE BULB
with NATIVE HARROW, SCARECROW REVIVAL, LUCAS
Wed Jun 3 |
DESERT NOISES
with TOMAHAWK FOX, VON STOMPER
Thu Jun 4 |
MANDOLIN ORANGE
with JOSH OLIVER
Fri Jun 5 |
THE HELIO SEQUENCE
with LOST LANDER, REUBEN HOLLEBON
Sat Jun 6 |
THE JJ EVANOFF EXPERIENCE
with SECOND SPECIES, TRUE SCHOOL x R-DOO (COLLAB SET), MELODY LINES
Sun Jun 7 |
SUNDAY BBQ SERIES
with KITTY CRIMES, STEGOFORREST, SNUBLUCK, GHOULFRIEND, DAWN SAFARI
Mon Jun 8 |
JEREMY LOOPS
with PATRICK DETHLEFS
Tue Jun 9 |
THE LIFE AND TIMES
with NATIVE DAUGHTERS
Thu Jun 11 |
SPIRIT FAMILY REUNION
with EYE AND THE ARROW
Thu Jun 11 |
HAPPY HOUR BINGO - Win tix to Death Grips, Big Data, Neon Trees + more!
Fri Jun 12 |
THE NTH POWER
with YOJIMBO, HAMHOCK
Sat Jun 13 |
THE CAVE SINGERS
with ANDY THOMAS' DUST HEART
Sun Jun 14 |
SUNDAY BBQ SERIES
with MAJESTY, MOE HENDRIX OF F9, SUMGUY, RADDE HAYLEN / PYTHON, AMERICAN TRASH REPUBLIC
Sun Jun 14 |
AUSTEN MURRAY
with KALLEN FORD, DOZE ONE, MOTION 5, MORE SPECIAL GUESTS TBA
Tue Jun 16 |
ELECTRIC SIX
with WHITE REAPER, BRANDED BANDITS
Tue Jun 16 |
LITTLE HURRICANE (AT WALNUT ROOM)
with YOUNG BUFFALO
Wed Jun 17 |
DEAD MEADOW (NIGHT ONE)
with PALE SUN, THE SAVAGE BLUSH
Thu Jun 18 |
DEAD MEADOW (NIGHT TWO)
with EMERALD SIAM, PALEHORSE/PALERIDER
Fri Jun 19 |
ROYAL THUNDER
Sat Jun 20 |
SAN CISCO
with MOTHXR
Tue Jun 23 |
ELLE KING
Wed Jun 24 |
FRONTIER RUCKUS
Thu Jun 25 |
EP RELEASE SHOW
with ANCIENT ELK, SPACESUITS FOR INDIANS
Fri Jun 26 |
TRAILS & WAYS
with WATERSTRIDER
Sat Jun 27 |
SHELCO GARCIA
Sun Jun 28 |
SUNDAY BBQ SERIES
with CHAD PRICE (ALL/DRAG THE RIVER), OL' HICKORY, SATURN COWBOYS
Tue Jun 30 |
CABINET
Fri Jul 3 |
TANLINES
with MAS YSA
Sun Jul 5 |
SUNDAY BBQ SERIES
Tue Jul 7 |
THE DELTA SAINTS
with RYAN CHRYS & THE ROUGH CUTS
Wed Jul 8 |
UNCLE LUCIUS
Thu Jul 9 |
ZELLA DAY
Sat Jul 11 |
K. FLAY
Sun Jul 12 |
GRISWOLDS
Tue Jul 14 |
JAY BRANNAN
Wed Jul 15 |
SARAH BETHE NELSON
with AMERICAN CULTURE
Thu Jul 16 |
EP RELEASE PARTY
with GET ALONG, THE CIRCUS HOUSE, INNERSPACE
Mon Jul 20 |
CAYUCAS
Tue Jul 21 |
ELENI MANDELL
with COURTNEY MARIE ANDREWS, NATALIE TATE
Fri Jul 24 |
MELT BANANA
Tue Jul 28 |
CHAPPO
Wed Jul 29 |
LOWER DENS
Tue Aug 4 |
SCREAMING FEMALES
with DIRTY FEW, VACATION
Wed Aug 5 |
THE SPILL CANVAS
with 10 Year Anniversary Tour for One Fell Swoop
Thu Aug 6 |
GIVERS
with AERO FLYNN
Fri Aug 7 |
CIVIL TWILIGHT
Sat Aug 8 |
X AMBASSADORS
with LANY
Tue Aug 11 |
METZ
with BIG UPS, DILLY DALLY
Sat Oct 10 |
THE GIRAFFES
Sat Oct 24 |
THE BROTHERS COMATOSE

Fri Nov 9 | KGNU, Radio 1190, Illegal Pete's Present...

TYPHOON  
LAURA GIBSON  

LOST LANDER

Doors open at 8pm   |   Show starts at 9pm   |   $12.50 In Adv | $15.00 Day Of Show | 21+





Typhoon - Never Be Your Lover / Jam (live) from Matthew Ross on Vimeo.

Dear Reader,

I once came very close to dying (bug-bite, failed organs), and though my life was spared thanks to thanks to modern medicine and a kidney given to me by my father, nonetheless I live with a persisting sense that my time is borrowed. My resolution–what I intend to do with my finite allotment– is to reach some small, yet conclusive understanding of my life in particular and the world in general; an understanding accomplished, in part, through a combination of music and words.

The last record we made, Hunger & Thirst, is a record that purposefully confuses physical sickness with ontological sickness, i.e. that most desires are only symptoms of the desire to be someone else. This new record picks up where we left off, though this time “purposefully confusing” the idea of time as a place. It imagines that my past is a composite of old houses and apartment buildings, that my memories are these little artifacts strewn about, and then there’s me with a single candle, picking up the artifacts one at a time and examining them by the dim light.

Songs as personal as these perhaps ought to be burned or buried rather than be paraded before an audience. But there is something transfigurative in playing music with so many close friends–what starts out as a solemn, solitary attempt is turned into something both communal and cathartic. I think we even have fun at times.

A New Kind of House (the title itself is borrowed from the brilliant poetry of Zach Schomburg) was artfully recorded on location (our house) by repeat-collaborator Paul Laxer; the artwork was beautifully realized by Ricky Delucco, and we have Tender Loving Empire to thank for so tenderly helping us put out a record a second time.

kyle ray morton / 01.11.2011

powered by: companyBE