CALENDAR   |   DIRECTIONS   |   CONTACT   |   HAPPY HOUR   |   BOOKING   |   PAST ARTISTS   |   RENTALS


Fri Aug 22 |
MORNING BEAR
with TIN EMPIRE, AMY KRESS, BEN HANNA BAND
Sat Aug 23 |
BLACK KIDS
with SLOW CAVES, THE CIRCUS HOUSE
Sun Aug 24 |
LITERATI RECORDS SHOWCASE
with CLOUD CATCHER, THE CUTTHROAT DRIFTERS, ...AND THE BLACK FEATHERS, THE PATIENT ZEROS, REMEMBER THE RADIO, COUGAR GOLD, THE BORN READIES, JEFFREY DALLET
Mon Aug 25 |
MC FRONTALOT
with DR AWKWARD, CORN MO, AN HOBBES
Tue Aug 26 |
JESSICA HERNANDEZ & THE DELTAS
with VARLET, SAFE BOATING IS NO ACCIDENT
Wed Aug 27 |
THE FEDERALISTS
with LANDGRABBERS, IN TRANSITION, WATERTOWER
Thu Aug 28 |
GENERAL L.I.F.E.
with AP VEGAS, COLLIN REYNOLDS, DEBT THE MENTAL, HERBS TMP, AUGMENTED PNEUMATIC, ART BY: ZACK MCKINNON & BRANDON MARTINEZ, POETRY BY: DANIELSON
Thu Aug 28 |
HAPPY HOUR BINGO - Win tix to War on Drugs, Capital Cities + more!
Fri Aug 29 |
VICES I ADMIRE
with STRIP THE STARS, LEASH OF FOXES
Sat Aug 30 |
BOB LOG III
with THE HOLLYFELDS, THE GHOST OF JOSEPH BUCK
Sun Aug 31 |
DEATH DAY CABARET
with SPACE SUITS FOR INDIANS, TRANSFER STATION, MOJAVE SUN
Wed Sep 3 |
KNOX HAMILTON
Thu Sep 4 |
YUNA
with GG&LEE
Fri Sep 5 |
PARADISE FEARS
with WILLIAM BECKETT, THE HOST CLUB
Fri Sep 5 |
SO-GNAR PRESENTS: OFFICIAL FLUX PAVILION PRE-PARTY
with RAW RUSS, OG STATUS, FUTURE HEROES
Sat Sep 6 |
DRAG THE RIVER
with DENVER BRONCOS UK, OL HICKORY
Mon Sep 8 |
JOEY CAPE
Fri Sep 12 |
TOBACCO
with THE STARGAZER LILIES, OSCILLATOR BUG
Sat Sep 13 |
GOLDRUSH MUSIC FESTIVAL
with Wolf Eyes, Eric Copeland, Mount Eerie, clipping. and more
Sun Sep 14 |
GOLDRUSH MUSIC FESTIVAL
with Wolf Eyes, Eric Copeland, Mount Eerie, clipping. and more
Tue Sep 16 |
ABEASITY JONES W/DP THA PRINCE
with EVERAI, KAY DEE, MESN, DEALZ MAKES BEATS, HOSTED BY : BABAH FLY & CHRIS HAVEN
Wed Sep 17 |
DEBAUCHERY TOMORROW
with WENDY CLARK BAND, CRIMSON CROWS, MIKE CANO'S MUSHROOM FUNK
Thu Sep 18 |
RED BULL SOUND SELECT PRESENTS: DENVER featuring AUSTRA (FREE w/ RSVP)
with SHADY ELDERS, EROS & THE ESCHATON
Sat Sep 20 |
THE WHIGS
with MOSEY WEST, DISGRACE THE TRAITOR
Tue Sep 23 |
YOUNG RISING SONS
Wed Sep 24 |
MIKE WATT
with THE POLLUTION
Thu Sep 25 |
GLASS ANIMALS
with ROME FORTUNE
Fri Sep 26 |
JESSE R.S.
Sat Sep 27 |
CASEY JAMES PRESTWOOD & THE BURNING ANGELS
with IDLEWHILE
Sun Sep 28 |
AGENT ORANGE
with IN THE WHALE, CODENAME : CARTER
Mon Sep 29 |
THE ELECTRIC SONS
Tue Sep 30 |
KOPECKY FAMILY BAND
with AVID DANCER
Wed Oct 1 |
EARTH
with KING DUDE
Thu Oct 2 |
BEACH FOSSILS
with HEAVENLY BEAT, AXXA/ABRAXAS
Sat Oct 4 |
THE GIRAFFES
with LORDS OF FUZZ
Sun Oct 5 |
KALIN AND MYLES
Tue Oct 7 |
BAHAMAS
with BASIA BULAT
Tue Oct 14 |
ASGEIR
with LOW ROAR
Wed Oct 15 |
SONREAL
Fri Oct 17 |
HONEYHONEY
Sat Oct 18 |
THE PREATURES
Mon Oct 20 |
TURQUOISE JEEP
with YIP DECEIVER
Sat Oct 25 |
CON BRO CHILL
Tue Oct 28 |
AVI BUFFALO
Fri Oct 31 |
SECRET CHIEFS 3
Sat Nov 8 |
JUDAH & THE LION
Mon Nov 10 |
SOHN
Fri Nov 21 |
J MASCIS (NIGHT ONE)
with LULUC
Sat Nov 22 |
J MASCIS (NIGHT TWO)
with LULUC
Tue Dec 2 |
MY BRIGHTEST DIAMOND

Tue Feb 21 | Larimer Lounge Presents...

TUMBLEDOWN  

KENTUCKY PARLOR PICKERS

Doors open at 8pm   |   Show starts at 9pm   |   $8.00 In Adv | $10 Day Of Show





Webster's defines “tumbledown” as “dilapidated, ramshackle.” For Tumbledown singer/guitarist Mike Herrera, the term evokes “something from a bygone era that's been long forgotten,” like the “tumbledown shacks” he read about in the biography Woody Guthrie: A Life. That image of America's past spoke so loudly to Herrera that it gave his band a name. The music of Tumbledown takes that sepia-tinged image of Americana and sends it hurtling into the present, with the help of some punk-inflected riffs and pure rock & roll attitude. The punky side of the band's musical personality comes naturally to Herrera, who first became known in the '90s as the frontman for renowned rockers MxPx, but the pure, honest twang of country music has been echoing in the Tumbledown leader's ears ever since he was a young boy singing along while Willie Nelson's “On the Road Again” came stomping out of his family's car stereo.

In the late '90s, after he'd already spent years on the road himself, rocking out all over the globe with MxPx, Herrera started tapping into that long-held love of American roots music, and out came songs that had more to do with down-home, old-timey sensibilities than the larger-than-life rock world. But it wasn't until 2007 that he finally formed Tumbledown, to realize his vision of an Americana band with some raw-boned, rock & roll bite. The next year, Tumbledown released their first EP, Atlantic City, followed by a self-titled album in 2009 (End Sounds) and a live CD entitled Live In Tulsa, and they've never looked back since.

These days, Herrera is more dedicated to the roots-rockin' sound of Tumbledown than ever, and Empty Bottle, the band's second studio album, reaffirms that musical mission in no uncertain terms. Alongside Jack Parker on guitar and brothers Marshall and Harley Trotland on standup bass and drums, respectively, Herrera sings about themes that have been a part of country and roots music from the beginning – drinking, fighting, gambling, ladies of the night and brushes with the law, all the things that add up to an uncompromising, real-deal look at American life as lived by those who aren’t afraid to push it to the limit and beyond.

Herrera himself readily admits to being besotted by the romance of recklessness and rough-and-tumble living, the kind you’ll find at the heart of Empty Bottle. In fact, the album’s title track itself was inspired by the intimate relationship the band maintains with alcohol, even when they’re in the studio. “We average about one 750 ml bottle of vodka or whiskey at each session,” admits Herrera, “including regular practice. So, ‘Empty Bottle’ seemed to work as the title on many levels.” The songs were written by Herrera at tour stops all over the world, but the tracks were all laid down at home, in his own Bremerton, WA studio, Monkey Trench.

The characters in Herrera’s songs drink to forget; they ask for a reason to stay in town without really expecting to get one; they look at the madness around them and wonder whether it’s them or the rest of the world that’s gone crazy. But for as much as Empty Bottle may paint a stark picture of life for the desperate, the driven, and the downtrodden, it ultimately points towards the possibility of an escape from those vicious circles of sadness and self-destruction, a way to deal with all the hard knocks. The most obvious and immediate way, of course, is simply to let the songs unfold, inhabit your bloodstream, and bring you around to the Tumbledown perspective.

From the full-frontal cowpunk attack of the opening cut, “Places In This Town,” where the narrator braves harm to body and soul but forges ahead regardless, to closing track “Not Hung Over,” a classic morning-after-madness tale of a dizzy-headed drinking man’s denial, Empty Bottle offers an image of Americana that’s as true, tragic, tumultuous, and tantalizing as any you’ll get from some acoustic guitar-strumming folkie. You can call it alt-country if you want to, or even outlaw country, but for all the six-string twang and hell-bent two-steps that tumble out of these tunes, you can’t discount the pure rock & roll power Tumbledown brings to the table either.

So where’s it all headed? Well, in musing on the road that lies ahead of Tumbledown, Herrera says “I plan on releasing a lot more material much more often from now on.” In the meantime, there’s an Empty Bottle to open up night after night, for a different crowd each time. The old philosophical question about half-full vs. half-empty may not apply, but listening to these songs, it’s obvious that Mike Herrera and Tumbledown draw their energy from a source that says “Empty is okay for what’s inside the bottle – it’s what’s outside that matters.” And that’s exactly where Tumbledown is coming from.

 

powered by: companyBE