CALENDAR   |   DIRECTIONS   |   CONTACT   |   HAPPY HOUR   |   BOOKING   |   PAST ARTISTS   |   RENTALS


Fri Apr 18 |
SLEEPER/AGENT
with HOLY CHILD, PAGIINS
Sat Apr 19 |
SLOW MAGIC
with FRUGAL FATHER
Sun Apr 20 |
NITTY SCOTT, MC (4/20 SHOW)
with DJ IZER, QBALA
Sun Apr 20 |
THE OTHER BLACK (4/20 BRUNCH)
with SFI, BRITTANY WILLIAMS
Mon Apr 21 |
BEWARE OF DARKNESS
with DISGRACE THE TRAITOR, INTO THE HOLLOW
Tue Apr 22 |
KURT VEE
with EXOTONE, BISON BONE
Wed Apr 23 |
THE DEAD SIDE
with THE BEGATS, MURDER THE CAT, THE UNDEVOUTS
Thu Apr 24 |
BROODS
with MEG MYERS
Thu Apr 24 |
HAPPY HOUR BINGO - Win tix to Haim, Milk Carton Kids, Speedwolf + more!
Fri Apr 25 |
BRAVE THE BREAKDOWN
with BEES WITH GUNS, WHISKEY RICHARD, THE LARIMERS, BOTTLE ROCKET SCIENCE, AUTO SHOP RULES
Sat Apr 26 |
ONLY THUNDER (Reunion Show)
with BLACK DOTS, FALSE COLOURS, DEAD SET WEST
Sun Apr 27 |
LEOPOLD AND HIS FICTION
with THE JEKYLLS, LSD BAGS, BAD MAPS
Mon Apr 28 |
WE ARE SCIENTISTS
with PAWS
Wed Apr 30 |
A MINOR FOREST
with ACCORDION CRIMES, GLASS HITS
Thu May 1 |
Happy Hour Bingo | Win Tix To: Metronomy, Night Beats, The Pains of Being Pure At Heart + Tons More!
Thu May 1 |
LUCIDA TELA
with NEW LEVERAGE, HARVESTMEN, SHIBUYA TERMINAL
Fri May 2 |
THE DODOS
with A BAND IN PICTURES
Sat May 3 |
LITTLE HURRICANE
with ARK LIFE
Tue May 6 |
NIGHT BEATS
with THEE DANG DANGS, PRISM WAVES
Thu May 8 |
MOOSH & TWIST: OCD
with JARED EVAN, BMBC, JULES
Fri May 9 |
DIRTY//CLEAN SHOWCASE
with BEDROCKK, MOSIS, SNUBLUCK, DAWN SAFARI, LEMON FUTURE
Sat May 10 |
FILTHY T (Album Release)
with BRODIE KINDER, POTCHEEN, MOONLIGHTER
Tue May 13 |
THE PAINS OF BEING PURE AT HEART
with FEAR OF MEN, ABLEBODY
Wed May 14 |
FRONTIER RUCKUS
Thu May 15 |
CHARLES ARTHUR
with JOEY GENETTI, LAZER WOLF, PAUL EDELMAN
Mon May 19 |
STU LARSEN
Wed May 21 |
LITTLE GREEN CARS
with NATALIE WALKER
Thu May 22 |
BLOOD RED SHOES
Sat May 24 |
LOCAL H
with VON STOMPER
Tue May 27 |
MARGOT & THE NUCLEAR SO AND SO'S
with JAKE BELLOWS, KATE MYERS
Thu May 29 |
BUFFALO KILLERS
with SPACE IN TIME
Fri Jun 6 |
DAX RIGGS
Sat Jun 7 |
EAGULLS
Tue Jun 10 |
THE DETROIT COBRAS
with PUJOL
Thu Jun 12 |
LEE BAINS III AND THE GLORY FIRES
Wed Jun 18 |
ALLAH-LAS
Tue Jul 1 |
COURTNEY BARNETT
with YOUR FRIEND, ROO & THE HOWL
Mon Jul 7 |
FLY GOLDEN EAGLE
Mon Jul 14 |
CLOUD NOTHINGS
with THE WYTCHES
Sat Jul 19 |
MAN OR ASTRO-MAN?
Fri Jul 25 |
WOODHOUSE
with THE 8 TURNS, HARVESTMEN, RHEA HORVATH
Tue Jul 29 |
WILD CUB
with GRIZFOLK
Sat Aug 30 |
BOB LOG III
with THE HOLLYFELDS

Tue Feb 21 | Larimer Lounge Presents...

TUMBLEDOWN  

KENTUCKY PARLOR PICKERS

Doors open at 8pm   |   Show starts at 9pm   |   $8.00 In Adv | $10 Day Of Show





Webster's defines “tumbledown” as “dilapidated, ramshackle.” For Tumbledown singer/guitarist Mike Herrera, the term evokes “something from a bygone era that's been long forgotten,” like the “tumbledown shacks” he read about in the biography Woody Guthrie: A Life. That image of America's past spoke so loudly to Herrera that it gave his band a name. The music of Tumbledown takes that sepia-tinged image of Americana and sends it hurtling into the present, with the help of some punk-inflected riffs and pure rock & roll attitude. The punky side of the band's musical personality comes naturally to Herrera, who first became known in the '90s as the frontman for renowned rockers MxPx, but the pure, honest twang of country music has been echoing in the Tumbledown leader's ears ever since he was a young boy singing along while Willie Nelson's “On the Road Again” came stomping out of his family's car stereo.

In the late '90s, after he'd already spent years on the road himself, rocking out all over the globe with MxPx, Herrera started tapping into that long-held love of American roots music, and out came songs that had more to do with down-home, old-timey sensibilities than the larger-than-life rock world. But it wasn't until 2007 that he finally formed Tumbledown, to realize his vision of an Americana band with some raw-boned, rock & roll bite. The next year, Tumbledown released their first EP, Atlantic City, followed by a self-titled album in 2009 (End Sounds) and a live CD entitled Live In Tulsa, and they've never looked back since.

These days, Herrera is more dedicated to the roots-rockin' sound of Tumbledown than ever, and Empty Bottle, the band's second studio album, reaffirms that musical mission in no uncertain terms. Alongside Jack Parker on guitar and brothers Marshall and Harley Trotland on standup bass and drums, respectively, Herrera sings about themes that have been a part of country and roots music from the beginning – drinking, fighting, gambling, ladies of the night and brushes with the law, all the things that add up to an uncompromising, real-deal look at American life as lived by those who aren’t afraid to push it to the limit and beyond.

Herrera himself readily admits to being besotted by the romance of recklessness and rough-and-tumble living, the kind you’ll find at the heart of Empty Bottle. In fact, the album’s title track itself was inspired by the intimate relationship the band maintains with alcohol, even when they’re in the studio. “We average about one 750 ml bottle of vodka or whiskey at each session,” admits Herrera, “including regular practice. So, ‘Empty Bottle’ seemed to work as the title on many levels.” The songs were written by Herrera at tour stops all over the world, but the tracks were all laid down at home, in his own Bremerton, WA studio, Monkey Trench.

The characters in Herrera’s songs drink to forget; they ask for a reason to stay in town without really expecting to get one; they look at the madness around them and wonder whether it’s them or the rest of the world that’s gone crazy. But for as much as Empty Bottle may paint a stark picture of life for the desperate, the driven, and the downtrodden, it ultimately points towards the possibility of an escape from those vicious circles of sadness and self-destruction, a way to deal with all the hard knocks. The most obvious and immediate way, of course, is simply to let the songs unfold, inhabit your bloodstream, and bring you around to the Tumbledown perspective.

From the full-frontal cowpunk attack of the opening cut, “Places In This Town,” where the narrator braves harm to body and soul but forges ahead regardless, to closing track “Not Hung Over,” a classic morning-after-madness tale of a dizzy-headed drinking man’s denial, Empty Bottle offers an image of Americana that’s as true, tragic, tumultuous, and tantalizing as any you’ll get from some acoustic guitar-strumming folkie. You can call it alt-country if you want to, or even outlaw country, but for all the six-string twang and hell-bent two-steps that tumble out of these tunes, you can’t discount the pure rock & roll power Tumbledown brings to the table either.

So where’s it all headed? Well, in musing on the road that lies ahead of Tumbledown, Herrera says “I plan on releasing a lot more material much more often from now on.” In the meantime, there’s an Empty Bottle to open up night after night, for a different crowd each time. The old philosophical question about half-full vs. half-empty may not apply, but listening to these songs, it’s obvious that Mike Herrera and Tumbledown draw their energy from a source that says “Empty is okay for what’s inside the bottle – it’s what’s outside that matters.” And that’s exactly where Tumbledown is coming from.

 

powered by: companyBE