CALENDAR   |   DIRECTIONS   |   CONTACT   |   HAPPY HOUR   |   BOOKING   |   PAST ARTISTS   |   RENTALS


Fri Feb 12 |
FUTUREBIRDS (NIGHT ONE)
with SUSTO, ROWBOAT
Sat Feb 13 |
FUTUREBIRDS (NIGHT TWO)
with SUSTO, LOLA RISING
Sun Feb 14 |
SPELLS
with DIRTY FEW, ROOTBEER AND MERMENTAU, PXLMAN
Mon Feb 15 |
BIRDCLOUD
with POISON RITES (ft. members of Speedwolf), THE PITCH INVASION, FAST EDDY, MINES
Tue Feb 16 |
SYNRGY
with INNA DI RED, RED SAGE
Wed Feb 17 |
ELISE WUNDER
with HIGH ST. COLLECTIVE, BROKEDOWN SHACK
Thu Feb 18 |
PRINCE FOX
with SAID THE SKY
Thu Feb 18 |
HAPPY HOUR BINGO
with Win tix to Apocolyptica, Shannon And The Clams, St. Lucia
Fri Feb 19 |
BILLY STRINGS
with WHISKEY TREATS, THUNDER & RAIN
Sat Feb 20 |
ANDY PALMER & GRUB STREET WRITER
with BEAR ANTLER, FILTHY CASUALS
Sat Feb 20 |
SWEAT DANCE PARTY FT.
Sun Feb 21 |
THE ROARING 420S
with BARK WILSON, JOSH MOOREHEAD & THE GUESTLIST, CHOCOLATE DIAMOND
Sun Feb 21 |
TRACKSUIT WEDDING
with Special video shoot! No cover!
Tue Feb 23 |
MORTAL SUN
with MORGUE WHORE
Tue Feb 23 |
FREAKWATER (The Walnut Room)
with JAYE JAYLE
Wed Feb 24 |
DEAD PAY RENT
with SEA OF EYES, REMEMBER THE RADIO, THE VANILLA MILKSHAKES
Thu Feb 25 |
FROM INDIAN LAKES
with SOREN BRYCE, ONE FLEW WEST
Thu Feb 25 |
HAPPY HOUR BINGO
with Win tix to X Ambassadors, Mutemath, Shannon And The Clams
Fri Feb 26 |
TYLER IMBREY & THE GHOST REVIEW
with BOTTLE ROCKET SCIENCE
Sat Feb 27 |
ANDERSON EAST
with DYLAN LEBLANC
Sun Feb 28 |
ELEANOR FRIEDBERGER
with ICE WATER, LIZZY ROSE
Tue Mar 1 |
AUDIO SOCIAL DISSENT 2016
with WOLF EYES, TIMMY'S ORGANISM, VIDEO
Wed Mar 2 |
SPIES!
with CODENAME: CARTER
Thu Mar 3 |
ZERO FOUND
with WEST SIDE SAINTS
Fri Mar 4 |
RUBEDO
with MALE BLONDING, THE MILK BLOSSOMS, THROUGH THE MOUNTAIN
Sat Mar 5 |
BASIA BULAT
with THE WEATHER STATION
Sun Mar 6 |
KALEO
with firekid
Mon Mar 7 |
SAM OUTLAW
with WHITNEY ROSE
Fri Mar 11 |
HEY MARSEILLES
with HIBOU
Sat Mar 12 |
LIZA ANNE (Walnut Room)
with JOHN STATZ, YOUTH
Sat Mar 12 |
PRAYERS
with PLAGUE VENDOR
Sun Mar 13 |
CORB LUND
with THE KINKY FINGERS
Sun Mar 13 |
MAGIC GIANT
with THE NORTHERN EMPTY
Mon Mar 14 |
NOT MY WEEKEND
with LIVE AGAIN, SR3, 1000 MILES OF FIRE
Wed Mar 16 |
NEPTUNIAN WEATHERVANE
with EAT THE SUN, TRIPLIP, DEATH KITTEN
Thu Mar 17 |
ST PATRICK'S DAY CELEBRATION:
with OVERSLEPT, SILVER & GOLD
Fri Mar 18 |
ROB CROW'S GLOOMY PLACE (of Pinback)
with MALE BLONDING, MONTONEROS
Sat Mar 19 |
CHON
with POLYPHIA, STRAWBERRY GIRLS
Mon Mar 21 |
BAG RAIDERS
with PLASTIC PLATES
Tue Mar 22 |
DUDE YORK
with @ The Walnut Room
Tue Mar 22 |
METHYL ETHYL
with HONDURAS
Wed Mar 23 |
YOUNG FATHERS
Thu Mar 24 |
GLITTERATTI
with ACID DAD
Fri Mar 25 |
JAKUBI
Sat Mar 26 |
LITTLE GREEN CARS
with JOHN MARK NELSON
Mon Mar 28 |
CULLEN OMORI
Tue Mar 29 |
QUILT
Sat Apr 2 |
YUCK
with BIG THIEF, AMERICAN CULTURE
Sun Apr 3 |
SUNFLOWER BEAN
Tue Apr 5 |
LINDI ORGTEGA
Wed Apr 6 |
FOXING
with O BROTHER, TANCRED
Sat Apr 9 |
DMA'S
Tue Apr 12 |
AUTOLUX
Thu Apr 14 |
THE CAVE SINGERS
Fri Apr 22 |
JIMKATA
Sat Apr 23 |
RUN RIVER NORTH
with THE LIGHTHOUSE & THE WHALER
Sun Apr 24 |
TACOCAT
with BOYFRIENDS
Mon Apr 25 |
BLEACHED
with NO PARENTS
Wed Apr 27 |
BEACH SLANG
with POTTY MOUTH, DYKE DRAMA
Fri Apr 29 |
DRAGONDEER
Sat Apr 30 |
NATIVE DAUGHTERS
with ABRAMS, SPELLS, DANGEROUS FRIENDS
Fri May 6 |
BLACK MOUNTAIN
Sat May 7 |
BLACK MOUNTAIN
Mon May 9 |
HIPPO CAMPUS
with RIOTHORSE ROYALE
Wed May 18 |
STICKY FINGERS
Mon May 23 |
BREAKBOT
Sun May 29 |
FRUIT BATS
Sat Jun 11 |
KEVIN MORBY
with JAYE BARTELL

Sun Aug 26 | Left Hand Brewing Presents...

BROWN BIRD (BBQ)   6pm

JOHN COMMON FEAT. JESS DeNICOLA @ 5pm
THE GHOST OF JOSEPH BUCK @ 4pm
FOXWING HOLLOW @ 3pm
BIRDS OF A FEATHER @ 7pm
MATHIAS & THE CROOKED STREETS

Doors open at 1pm   |   Show starts at 2pm   |   $10.00 In Adv | $12.00 Day Of Show





Brown Bird is better listened to in a room made of wood. Of course, it is easy to download the code and listen to the band on small computer speakers, but what is the point? You miss the warm layers of guitar, banjo, violin, double bass, cello, and bass drum (wooden rim) which hangs thick over their latest full-length effort, "Salt for Salt".

Recorded live to tape in Pawtucket, RI, "Salt For Salt" is the first album by Brown Bird to capture the intense energy of the duo's live show, surging in waves that often swell into high-spirited, foot-stomping madness. David Lamb's lyrics are as well-written as they are emotionally intelligent, thankfully avoiding the pitfalls of the wish-wash known as "modern-folk" or "singer-songwriting". Lamb and his partner MorganEve Swain write simply, and the record is eerily sparse at times - a tambourine, a bass drum and the cello often the sole accompaniement to Lamb's (what a name) cracked, wood-smoke voice.

Brown Bird are also not afraid to write experimentally - "Ebb and Flow" and "Shiloh" (the latter a longer, entirely instrumental track) each boast melodies worthy of a dervish, the melodic structure reminiscent more of Turkish or Greek rebetika than old-time or bluegrass. Lamb and Swain work beautifully together, with his banjo providing a backbone to a fiddle break, her harmonies a lonesome echo of the melody. But Brown Bird also know too much to be pure romantics; Lamb's continual reference to ships clearly come from his years spent working at the shipyard in Warren, RI, just as their arrangements well only from a deep knowledge of the American folk tradition.

Paring down from five musicians on their last album to the duo of Lamb and Swain on "Salt For Salt" resulted in some necessary instrument changes - Swain, a lifelong violinist, spends most of the album on cello and double bass, instruments she picked up in the past two years. Lamb has a kick drum and woodblock/tambourine rigged to a second pedal in front of him, using his whole body and voice to carry the rhythm and melody simultaneously. This new configuration propels each song forward with a blur of hands, feet and voices.

A cantankerous and drafty two-man ship stationed in Providence, RI, Brown Bird plays original, traditional American music in the best sense possible. It is music that comes from a context but is not afraid of the context: a living root with a view towards the leaves.

powered by: companyBE