CALENDAR   |   DIRECTIONS   |   CONTACT   |   HAPPY HOUR   |   BOOKING   |   PAST ARTISTS   |   RENTALS


Wed Jul 23 |
MIKE CANO'S MUSHROOM FUNK
with RAW FORM, DONZO'S COSMOS, DEBAUCHERY TOMORROW
Thu Jul 24 |
HAPPY HOUR BINGO - Win tix to Phantogram, Clap Your Hands Say Yeah + more!
Thu Jul 24 |
THE STRUGGLERS
with LOLA RISING, HELLO BOURBON
Fri Jul 25 |
WOODHOUSE
with THE 8 TURNS, HARVESTMEN, RHEA HORVATH
Sat Jul 26 |
VELA
with WHISKEY AUTUMN, THE PARKWAY, SLOW CAVES
Sun Jul 27 |
DOGS GOT FLAVOR
with DEFF HIPPY, LANDGRABBERS, DRINKING WITH CHARLIE, DORIAN, CHRIS LAFATA BAND
Tue Jul 29 |
WILD CUB
with GRIZFOLK
Wed Jul 30 |
THE MOURNING SICKNESS
with GORT VS GOOM, HILLBILLY RIOT
Thu Jul 31 |
JAMES WALLACE AND THE NAKED LIGHT
with JUSTIN HULSEY
Thu Jul 31 |
HAPPY HOUR BINGO - Win tix to Phantogram, Jolie Holland, Future Islands + more
Fri Aug 1 |
MYTHirst
with FURBIE CAKES, Felix FAST4WARD, CUEBOC, PATRICK SKYLER
Sat Aug 2 |
OKO TYGRA
with UMBRELLA WEATHER, HIRAETH, CURTA
Sun Aug 3 |
STOOGES BRASS BAND
with HOT SOUP
Tue Aug 5 |
NATURAL VIBRATIONS
Thu Aug 7 |
JOLIE HOLLAND
with SHY HUNTERS, PLUME VARIA
Fri Aug 8 |
XIU XIU
with CIRCUT DES YEUX, EROS & THE ESCHATON
Fri Aug 8 |
ICONOPLASTY
with NEW LEVERAGE
Sat Aug 9 |
CULTURA PROF√ČTICA
with IZCALLI
Thu Aug 14 |
SWEAR AND SHAKE
with VON STOMPER, TOMAHAWK FOX
Fri Aug 15 |
LITTLE DAYLIGHT
with YOUNG RISING SONS
Sun Aug 17 |
BUD BRONSON & THE GOOD TIMERS
with WIREDOGS, MILES TO MOUNTAINS, THE OUTFIT, INSTANT EMPIRE, NATO COLES & THE BLUE DIAMOND BAND, THE PATIENT ZEROS
Tue Aug 19 |
THE COATHANGERS
with WHITE FANG, NED GARTHE EXPLOSION
Wed Aug 20 |
THE BEN HANNA BAND
with WANDERING NATIVES, THE THREADBARONS
Thu Aug 21 |
BLACK MAGIC DARKNESS
Fri Aug 22 |
MORNING BEAR
Sat Aug 23 |
BLACK KIDS
with SLOW CAVES, THE CIRCUS HOUSE
Tue Aug 26 |
JESSICA HERNANDEZ & THE DELTAS
with VARLET
Fri Aug 29 |
VICES I ADMIRE
with STRIP THE STARS, LEASH OF FOXES
Sat Aug 30 |
BOB LOG III
with THE HOLLYFELDS, THE GHOST OF JOSEPH BUCK
Thu Sep 4 |
YUNA
Fri Sep 5 |
PARADISE FEARS
with WILLIAM BECKETT, THE HOST CLUB
Sat Sep 6 |
DRAG THE RIVER
with DENVER BRONCOS UK, OL HICKORY
Mon Sep 8 |
JOEY CAPE
Fri Sep 12 |
TOBACCO
with THE STARGAZER LILIES
Sat Sep 13 |
GOLDRUSH MUSIC FESTIVAL
with MT EERIE, GOOD WILLSMITH, RUMTUM and more
Sun Sep 14 |
GOLDRUSH MUSIC FESTIVAL
with MT EERIE, GOOD WILLSMITH, RUMTUM and more
Sat Sep 20 |
THE WHIGS
Wed Sep 24 |
MIKE WATT
with THE POLLUTION
Thu Sep 25 |
GLASS ANIMALS
Sun Sep 28 |
AGENT ORANGE
with IN THE WHALE
Tue Sep 30 |
KOPECKY FAMILY BAND
with AVID DANCER
Thu Oct 2 |
BEACH FOSSILS
with HEAVENLY BEAT, AXXA/ABRAXAS
Sat Oct 4 |
THE GIRAFFES
Tue Oct 7 |
BAHAMAS
with BASIA BULAT
Tue Oct 14 |
ASGEIR
Wed Oct 15 |
SONREAL
Sun Oct 19 |
DUM DUM GIRLS
Mon Oct 20 |
TURQUOISE JEEP
with YIP DECEIVER
Fri Oct 31 |
SECRET CHIEFS 3
Mon Nov 10 |
SOHN
Fri Nov 21 |
J MASCIS (NIGHT ONE)
with LULUC
Sat Nov 22 |
J MASCIS (NIGHT TWO)
with LULUC
Tue Dec 2 |
MY BRIGHTEST DIAMOND

Sun Aug 26 | Left Hand Brewing Presents...

BROWN BIRD (BBQ)   6pm

JOHN COMMON FEAT. JESS DeNICOLA @ 5pm
THE GHOST OF JOSEPH BUCK @ 4pm
FOXWING HOLLOW @ 3pm
BIRDS OF A FEATHER @ 7pm
MATHIAS & THE CROOKED STREETS

Doors open at 1pm   |   Show starts at 2pm   |   $10.00 In Adv | $12.00 Day Of Show





Brown Bird is better listened to in a room made of wood. Of course, it is easy to download the code and listen to the band on small computer speakers, but what is the point? You miss the warm layers of guitar, banjo, violin, double bass, cello, and bass drum (wooden rim) which hangs thick over their latest full-length effort, "Salt for Salt".

Recorded live to tape in Pawtucket, RI, "Salt For Salt" is the first album by Brown Bird to capture the intense energy of the duo's live show, surging in waves that often swell into high-spirited, foot-stomping madness. David Lamb's lyrics are as well-written as they are emotionally intelligent, thankfully avoiding the pitfalls of the wish-wash known as "modern-folk" or "singer-songwriting". Lamb and his partner MorganEve Swain write simply, and the record is eerily sparse at times - a tambourine, a bass drum and the cello often the sole accompaniement to Lamb's (what a name) cracked, wood-smoke voice.

Brown Bird are also not afraid to write experimentally - "Ebb and Flow" and "Shiloh" (the latter a longer, entirely instrumental track) each boast melodies worthy of a dervish, the melodic structure reminiscent more of Turkish or Greek rebetika than old-time or bluegrass. Lamb and Swain work beautifully together, with his banjo providing a backbone to a fiddle break, her harmonies a lonesome echo of the melody. But Brown Bird also know too much to be pure romantics; Lamb's continual reference to ships clearly come from his years spent working at the shipyard in Warren, RI, just as their arrangements well only from a deep knowledge of the American folk tradition.

Paring down from five musicians on their last album to the duo of Lamb and Swain on "Salt For Salt" resulted in some necessary instrument changes - Swain, a lifelong violinist, spends most of the album on cello and double bass, instruments she picked up in the past two years. Lamb has a kick drum and woodblock/tambourine rigged to a second pedal in front of him, using his whole body and voice to carry the rhythm and melody simultaneously. This new configuration propels each song forward with a blur of hands, feet and voices.

A cantankerous and drafty two-man ship stationed in Providence, RI, Brown Bird plays original, traditional American music in the best sense possible. It is music that comes from a context but is not afraid of the context: a living root with a view towards the leaves.

powered by: companyBE