CALENDAR   |   CONTACT   |   HAPPY HOUR   |   BOOKING   |   PAST ARTISTS   |   FOOD & DRINK


Tue May 3 |
COASTS
with KNOX HAMILTON, SYMMETRY, THE SOLID OCEAN
Wed May 4 |
SUSTO
with BISON BONE
Thu May 5 |
WILL HOGE
with BRENT COWLES (of You Me & Apollo), MATT ROUCH, ANDRES (OF MONTROPO)
Thu May 5 |
HAPPY HOUR BINGO
with Win tix to Borns, Explosions in the Sky, Blaq Audio
Fri May 6 |
BLACK MOUNTAIN
with WHITE HILLS
Sat May 7 |
BLACK MOUNTAIN
with WHITE HILLS
Mon May 9 |
HIPPO CAMPUS
with RIOTHORSE ROYALE
Wed May 11 |
LEVITATION ROOM (BURGER RECORDS)
with THE SAVAGE BLUSH, THE TRIP, CHOCOLATE DIAMOND
Thu May 12 |
NIGHT DEMON
with VISIGOTH, CELLADOR, SATAN'S HOST
Thu May 12 |
HAPPY HOUR BINGO
with Win tix to Mayor Hawthorne, The Neighbourhood, Whitey Morgan
Fri May 13 |
POSSESSED BY PAUL JAMES
with ANDY THOMAS' DUST HEART, RL COLE
Sat May 14 |
BIG WILD
with MIKEY THUNDER, DAWN SAFARI
Sun May 15 |
SUNDAY BBQ SERIES
with GRANNY TWEED, GOOD NEIGHBOR & HIS TENT CITY DRIFTERS, LARRY NIX
Tue May 17 |
NOTHING BUT THIEVES
with THE WRECKS
Wed May 18 |
STICKY FINGERS
with BOOTLEG RASCALS
Thu May 19 |
HAPPY HOUR BINGO
with Win tix to Kaleo, The Kills, Tokyo Police Club
Thu May 19 |
MISA OF UCD ARTIST SHOWCASE
Fri May 20 |
DEAD MEADOW
with BAD LICKS, DEAD PALMS
Sat May 21 |
PROJECT PABST DENVER
Sun May 22 |
THE LAST REVEL (BBQ SHOW)
with THE SWEET LILLIES (TRIO), MONOCLE
Mon May 23 |
BREAKBOT
with DE LUX
Tue May 24 |
SOAK.
Wed May 25 |
THE SHELTERS
with ZERO FOUND, THROUGH THE MOUNTAIN
Thu May 26 |
HAPPY HOUR BINGO
with Win tix to Growlers, Caravan Palace, Joywave
Thu May 26 |
GO DARK
with AYTIKO
Sat May 28 |
THE HOTELIER
with TOLD SLANT, LOONE
Sun May 29 |
FRUIT BATS
with TRUMMORS
Wed Jun 1 |
THE BROTHERS COMATOSE
Fri Jun 3 |
SP DOUBLE
Sat Jun 4 |
MANILA KILLA
Mon Jun 6 |
SUPERHEAVEN
with CREEPOID, SPIRIT OF THE BEEHIVE
Wed Jun 8 |
GROW WILD TOUR
Sat Jun 11 |
KEVIN MORBY
with JAYE BARTELL
Tue Jun 14 |
MUTUAL BENEFIT
with FLORIST, MRS. MAGICIAN
Tue Jun 14 |
BRONCHO (WALNUT ROOM)
with WINTER, BILLY CHANGER
Wed Jun 15 |
OLIVIA RUDEEN
with KAYLA MARQUE, CHRIS HARRIS, DEVAN BLAKE JONES
Thu Jun 16 |
CORB LUND
with ANDY HAMILTON & THE ROCKY MOUNTAIN CONTRABAND
Sat Jun 18 |
ESME PATTERSON
Mon Jun 20 |
EAGULLS
Tue Jun 21 |
THE HUNNA
Wed Jun 22 |
WHILK + MISKY
Tue Jun 28 |
TWIN PEAKS
with NE-HI
Wed Jul 6 |
THE SHEEPDOGS
Fri Jul 8 |
DEAD WINTER CARPENTERS
Sun Jul 10 |
SUNDAY BBQ SERIES
Thu Jul 14 |
THE EAGLE ROCK GOSPEL SINGERS
Sat Jul 16 |
MITSKI
with JAPANESE BREAKFAST, JAY SOM
Sun Jul 17 |
WHISKEY SHIVERS BBQ
Mon Jul 18 |
MARGARET GLASPY
Mon Jul 25 |
PINEGROVE
with SPORTS, HALF WAIF
Fri Jul 29 |
THE NOISY FREAKS
Sat Jul 30 |
YONI & GETI
Mon Aug 1 |
OH PEP!
Sun Aug 7 |
RENO DIVORCE (BBQ SHOW)
with WAKE THE BAT
Thu Aug 11 |
PROTOMARTYR
Sat Aug 13 |
D.R.I.
with THE EIGHT BUCKS EXPERIMENT
Sun Aug 14 |
D.R.I. BBQ SHOW
with THE EIGHT BUCKS EXPERIMENT
Mon Aug 15 |
HUNNY
with GYMSHORTS
Thu Sep 15 |
KHRUANGBIN

Sun Aug 26 | Left Hand Brewing Presents...

BROWN BIRD (BBQ)   6pm

JOHN COMMON FEAT. JESS DeNICOLA @ 5pm
THE GHOST OF JOSEPH BUCK @ 4pm
FOXWING HOLLOW @ 3pm
BIRDS OF A FEATHER @ 7pm
MATHIAS & THE CROOKED STREETS

Doors open at 1pm   |   Show starts at 2pm   |   $10.00 In Adv | $12.00 Day Of Show





Brown Bird is better listened to in a room made of wood. Of course, it is easy to download the code and listen to the band on small computer speakers, but what is the point? You miss the warm layers of guitar, banjo, violin, double bass, cello, and bass drum (wooden rim) which hangs thick over their latest full-length effort, "Salt for Salt".

Recorded live to tape in Pawtucket, RI, "Salt For Salt" is the first album by Brown Bird to capture the intense energy of the duo's live show, surging in waves that often swell into high-spirited, foot-stomping madness. David Lamb's lyrics are as well-written as they are emotionally intelligent, thankfully avoiding the pitfalls of the wish-wash known as "modern-folk" or "singer-songwriting". Lamb and his partner MorganEve Swain write simply, and the record is eerily sparse at times - a tambourine, a bass drum and the cello often the sole accompaniement to Lamb's (what a name) cracked, wood-smoke voice.

Brown Bird are also not afraid to write experimentally - "Ebb and Flow" and "Shiloh" (the latter a longer, entirely instrumental track) each boast melodies worthy of a dervish, the melodic structure reminiscent more of Turkish or Greek rebetika than old-time or bluegrass. Lamb and Swain work beautifully together, with his banjo providing a backbone to a fiddle break, her harmonies a lonesome echo of the melody. But Brown Bird also know too much to be pure romantics; Lamb's continual reference to ships clearly come from his years spent working at the shipyard in Warren, RI, just as their arrangements well only from a deep knowledge of the American folk tradition.

Paring down from five musicians on their last album to the duo of Lamb and Swain on "Salt For Salt" resulted in some necessary instrument changes - Swain, a lifelong violinist, spends most of the album on cello and double bass, instruments she picked up in the past two years. Lamb has a kick drum and woodblock/tambourine rigged to a second pedal in front of him, using his whole body and voice to carry the rhythm and melody simultaneously. This new configuration propels each song forward with a blur of hands, feet and voices.

A cantankerous and drafty two-man ship stationed in Providence, RI, Brown Bird plays original, traditional American music in the best sense possible. It is music that comes from a context but is not afraid of the context: a living root with a view towards the leaves.

powered by: companyBE