CALENDAR   |   DIRECTIONS   |   CONTACT   |   HAPPY HOUR   |   BOOKING   |   PAST ARTISTS   |   RENTALS


Sat Jan 31 |
MATES OF STATE
with FICTIONIST
Tue Feb 3 |
SAINT MOTEL
with THE MOTH AND THE FLAME, BROLLY
Wed Feb 4 |
BAD SUNS
with COASTS, MAUDLIN STRANGERS
Thu Feb 5 |
HAYWYRE
with STELOUSE, SLOANE PETERSON
Thu Feb 5 |
HAPPY HOUR BINGO - Win tix to Broods, Theopholis London, OK GO + more!
Fri Feb 6 |
THE MOTHER HIPS
with STRANGE AMERICANS
Sat Feb 7 |
MR. MIDAS
with TREV RICH, A.P., CATCH LUNGS, PLANES!, DJ DIF'RENT (DRUM SQUAD DJ)
Tue Feb 10 |
DAMNESIA-VU
with JACK WOLFE, RONIN RED
Wed Feb 11 |
THE MASTERSONS
with AARON LEE TASJAN
Thu Feb 12 |
BODY LANGUAGE
with BOLLYWOOD LIFE
Fri Feb 13 |
NO BS! BRASS BAND
with OTHER BLACK
Sat Feb 14 |
GIRAFFAGE
with SPAZZKID, REAL COSBY
Sun Feb 15 |
MADELINE'S REVENGE (album release)
with COOL DOG'S IN THE KENNEL (album release), REALTALK
Mon Feb 16 |
THEM RAGGEDY BONES
with CASEY WAYNE SMITH, KIMBERLY OTTE
Tue Feb 17 |
CATFISH & THE BOTTLEMEN
Wed Feb 18 |
WHITE ARROWS
with SHADY ELDERS, SLOW CAVES
Thu Feb 19 |
JESSICA LEA MAYFIELD
with SHIBUYA TERMINAL , STRAWBERRY RUNNERS
Sat Feb 21 |
DECADON
with XENOLOGY, GEODESIK, ||R | M | M||
Tue Feb 24 |
KATE VOEGELE
with LEROY SANCHEZ
Wed Feb 25 |
DRINKING WITH CHARLIE
with ALL DOGS INVITED, PAPER MOONSHINE, LANDLORD
Thu Feb 26 |
SOFT SKULLS
with SALADS AND SUNBEAMS
Fri Feb 27 |
THE DISTRICTS
with PINE BARONS, PLUM
Sat Feb 28 |
CURRENT SWELL
Mon Mar 2 |
EDDIE SPAGHETTI
with JIM DALTON (OF RAILBENDERS)
Wed Mar 4 |
KAWEHI
Fri Mar 6 |
DAVID COOK
Sat Mar 7 |
MOON HOOCH
with TODAY'S PARAMOUNT
Wed Mar 11 |
SPACE SUITS FOR INDIANS
with DRUNKIN' RELATIVES, SEE YOU HOME WOLF, THE HOLLOW HEARTED
Thu Mar 12 |
BARK WILSON
with ANCIENT ELK, JOSH MOOREHEAD
Sat Mar 14 |
CORNMEAL
Mon Mar 23 |
GEOGRAPHER
with WILD ONES
Tue Mar 24 |
VIET CONG
Wed Mar 25 |
PUBLIC SERVICE BROADCASTING
Tue Mar 31 |
THE LAST BISON
with NEULORE
Wed Apr 1 |
DISAPPEARS
Sat Apr 4 |
HAWTHORNE HEIGHTS
with COURAGE MY LOVE, MARK ROSE, SHANE HENDERSON, DAYSEEKER
Thu Apr 9 |
DENGUE FEVER
Mon Apr 13 |
DEAP VALLY
with LA WITCHES
Fri Apr 17 |
REPTAR
Sat May 2 |
LADY LAMB THE BEEKEEPER
Sat May 23 |
MYSTIC BRAVES

Sun Aug 26 | Left Hand Brewing Presents...

BROWN BIRD (BBQ)   6pm

JOHN COMMON FEAT. JESS DeNICOLA @ 5pm
THE GHOST OF JOSEPH BUCK @ 4pm
FOXWING HOLLOW @ 3pm
BIRDS OF A FEATHER @ 7pm
MATHIAS & THE CROOKED STREETS

Doors open at 1pm   |   Show starts at 2pm   |   $10.00 In Adv | $12.00 Day Of Show





Brown Bird is better listened to in a room made of wood. Of course, it is easy to download the code and listen to the band on small computer speakers, but what is the point? You miss the warm layers of guitar, banjo, violin, double bass, cello, and bass drum (wooden rim) which hangs thick over their latest full-length effort, "Salt for Salt".

Recorded live to tape in Pawtucket, RI, "Salt For Salt" is the first album by Brown Bird to capture the intense energy of the duo's live show, surging in waves that often swell into high-spirited, foot-stomping madness. David Lamb's lyrics are as well-written as they are emotionally intelligent, thankfully avoiding the pitfalls of the wish-wash known as "modern-folk" or "singer-songwriting". Lamb and his partner MorganEve Swain write simply, and the record is eerily sparse at times - a tambourine, a bass drum and the cello often the sole accompaniement to Lamb's (what a name) cracked, wood-smoke voice.

Brown Bird are also not afraid to write experimentally - "Ebb and Flow" and "Shiloh" (the latter a longer, entirely instrumental track) each boast melodies worthy of a dervish, the melodic structure reminiscent more of Turkish or Greek rebetika than old-time or bluegrass. Lamb and Swain work beautifully together, with his banjo providing a backbone to a fiddle break, her harmonies a lonesome echo of the melody. But Brown Bird also know too much to be pure romantics; Lamb's continual reference to ships clearly come from his years spent working at the shipyard in Warren, RI, just as their arrangements well only from a deep knowledge of the American folk tradition.

Paring down from five musicians on their last album to the duo of Lamb and Swain on "Salt For Salt" resulted in some necessary instrument changes - Swain, a lifelong violinist, spends most of the album on cello and double bass, instruments she picked up in the past two years. Lamb has a kick drum and woodblock/tambourine rigged to a second pedal in front of him, using his whole body and voice to carry the rhythm and melody simultaneously. This new configuration propels each song forward with a blur of hands, feet and voices.

A cantankerous and drafty two-man ship stationed in Providence, RI, Brown Bird plays original, traditional American music in the best sense possible. It is music that comes from a context but is not afraid of the context: a living root with a view towards the leaves.

powered by: companyBE