CALENDAR   |   DIRECTIONS   |   CONTACT   |   HAPPY HOUR   |   BOOKING   |   PAST ARTISTS   |   RENTALS


Thu Mar 5 |
HAPPY HOUR BINGO - Win tix to Misterwives, Father John Misty, Stars, The Preatures + more!
Thu Mar 5 |
RED BULL SOUND SELECT PRESENTS: DENVER
with TOKIMONSTA, ANDERSON .PAAK & THE FREE NATIONALS, CRL CRRLL, FAST4WARD
Fri Mar 6 |
DAVID COOK
with AMZY
Sat Mar 7 |
MOON HOOCH
with CRYSTAL GHOST, TODAY'S PARAMOUNT
Sun Mar 8 |
AMERICAN PINUP
with ROYAL DEAD
Tue Mar 10 |
GINNY & THE BRIDGE BURNERS
with TOO MANY HUMANS, SPLIT OR STEAL
Wed Mar 11 |
SPACE SUITS FOR INDIANS
with DRUNKIN' RELATIVES, SEE YOU HOME WOLF, THE HOLLOW HEARTED
Thu Mar 12 |
BARK WILSON
with ANCIENT ELK, JOSH MOOREHEAD & THE GUESTLIST, THE BELL HOURS
Thu Mar 12 |
HAPPY HOUR BINGO - Win tix to Pennywise, Bad Religion, Hawthorne Heights + more!
Fri Mar 13 |
LIL DICKY
with LILY FANGZ
Sat Mar 14 |
CORNMEAL
with CORAL CREEK
Tue Mar 17 |
ST. PATTY'S PUNK THROWDOWN
with POISON POLITIX, ONE TIME CRIME, IMAGINARY POINTS, FINGER PIE, BOOTJACK & BONZ
Wed Mar 18 |
RACE TO NEPTUNE
with WE WERE COSMONAUTS, AMERICAN GRANDMA
Thu Mar 19 |
DEAD WORK
with LUDLOW, DIRTY PIRATES, MARISSA
Fri Mar 20 |
PLUM (SINGLE RELEASE)
with WILD HIGH, THROUGH THE MOUNTAIN
Sat Mar 21 |
TRAVELLERS MUSIC
with WANDERING MONKS, HIGH FIVE, MULATTIC, STEEZ
Mon Mar 23 |
GEOGRAPHER
with WILD ONES
Tue Mar 24 |
VIET CONG
with WHAT MOON THINGS
Wed Mar 25 |
PUBLIC SERVICE BROADCASTING
Thu Mar 26 |
SEGO
Fri Mar 27 |
FLAMINGOSIS
with DREAMGHOST, CROWNS, BOLLYWOOD LIFE
Sat Mar 28 |
BREACH & BELLOW
with DOVES & WOLVES
Mon Mar 30 |
NAIVE MELODIES
with THE WORKSHY
Tue Mar 31 |
THE LAST BISON
with NEULORE, TALLGRASS
Wed Apr 1 |
DISAPPEARS
with EMERALD SIAM, PALE SUN
Thu Apr 2 |
OH HONEY
with PUBLIC
Fri Apr 3 |
EDISON
with ROB DRABKIN, SCIENCE PARTNER, MAXWELL HUGHES (formerly of The Lumineers), CRL CRRLL (DJ SET)
Sat Apr 4 |
HAWTHORNE HEIGHTS
with COURAGE MY LOVE, MARK ROSE, SHANE HENDERSON, DAYSEEKER
Sun Apr 5 |
LIEUTENANT (Nate Mendel of Foo Fighters)
with YUKON BLONDE
Wed Apr 8 |
MONOPHONICS
Thu Apr 9 |
DENGUE FEVER
with FREAKY NORTH, SEA OF EYES
Mon Apr 13 |
DEAP VALLY
with BUD BRONSON & THE GOOD TIMERS, LA WITCHES, THE VELVETEERS
Thu Apr 16 |
JARED & THE MILL
Fri Apr 17 |
REPTAR
with CLOUDS AND MOUNTAINS
Sat Apr 18 |
KODAK TO GRAPH
with BIG WILD, OBESON
Wed Apr 22 |
SHY GIRLS
with YOUNG EJECTA
Fri Apr 24 |
OWEN (AMERICAN FOOTBALL)
Sat Apr 25 |
COASTS
Sun Apr 26 |
SEOUL
with OKO TYGRA
Sat May 2 |
LADY LAMB THE BEEKEEPER
with RATHBORNE
Thu May 7 |
YOUNG FATHERS
Fri May 15 |
A TRIBE CALLED RED
Sat May 16 |
JAKUBI
Tue May 19 |
LOCAL H
with ALL EYES WEST
Thu May 21 |
PIGPEN THEATER CO.
with GOODNIGHT, TEXAS
Sat May 23 |
MYSTIC BRAVES
with THE KINKY FINGERS
Wed May 27 |
KATE TEMPEST
Sat May 30 |
SPEEDY ORTIZ
with PALEHOUND, ALEX G, ACCORDION CRIMES
Sat Jun 6 |
MANDOLIN ORANGE

Sun Aug 26 | Left Hand Brewing Presents...

BROWN BIRD (BBQ)   6pm

JOHN COMMON FEAT. JESS DeNICOLA @ 5pm
THE GHOST OF JOSEPH BUCK @ 4pm
FOXWING HOLLOW @ 3pm
BIRDS OF A FEATHER @ 7pm
MATHIAS & THE CROOKED STREETS

Doors open at 1pm   |   Show starts at 2pm   |   $10.00 In Adv | $12.00 Day Of Show





Brown Bird is better listened to in a room made of wood. Of course, it is easy to download the code and listen to the band on small computer speakers, but what is the point? You miss the warm layers of guitar, banjo, violin, double bass, cello, and bass drum (wooden rim) which hangs thick over their latest full-length effort, "Salt for Salt".

Recorded live to tape in Pawtucket, RI, "Salt For Salt" is the first album by Brown Bird to capture the intense energy of the duo's live show, surging in waves that often swell into high-spirited, foot-stomping madness. David Lamb's lyrics are as well-written as they are emotionally intelligent, thankfully avoiding the pitfalls of the wish-wash known as "modern-folk" or "singer-songwriting". Lamb and his partner MorganEve Swain write simply, and the record is eerily sparse at times - a tambourine, a bass drum and the cello often the sole accompaniement to Lamb's (what a name) cracked, wood-smoke voice.

Brown Bird are also not afraid to write experimentally - "Ebb and Flow" and "Shiloh" (the latter a longer, entirely instrumental track) each boast melodies worthy of a dervish, the melodic structure reminiscent more of Turkish or Greek rebetika than old-time or bluegrass. Lamb and Swain work beautifully together, with his banjo providing a backbone to a fiddle break, her harmonies a lonesome echo of the melody. But Brown Bird also know too much to be pure romantics; Lamb's continual reference to ships clearly come from his years spent working at the shipyard in Warren, RI, just as their arrangements well only from a deep knowledge of the American folk tradition.

Paring down from five musicians on their last album to the duo of Lamb and Swain on "Salt For Salt" resulted in some necessary instrument changes - Swain, a lifelong violinist, spends most of the album on cello and double bass, instruments she picked up in the past two years. Lamb has a kick drum and woodblock/tambourine rigged to a second pedal in front of him, using his whole body and voice to carry the rhythm and melody simultaneously. This new configuration propels each song forward with a blur of hands, feet and voices.

A cantankerous and drafty two-man ship stationed in Providence, RI, Brown Bird plays original, traditional American music in the best sense possible. It is music that comes from a context but is not afraid of the context: a living root with a view towards the leaves.

powered by: companyBE