CALENDAR   |   CONTACT   |   HAPPY HOUR   |   BOOKING   |   PAST ARTISTS   |   FOOD & DRINK


Wed Sep 28 |
MYTHirst
with FURBIE CAKES, BIG J BEATS, OLD SOUL ERA, SMRT
Thu Sep 29 |
HAPPY HOUR BINGO
with Win Tix To: On Repeat, Elle King, Okkervil River, Kishi Bashi, Death From Above 1975 + Black Rebel Motorcycle Club, The Faint, Failure, Purity Ring
Thu Sep 29 |
ON REPEAT
with EMPRESS, THE BEEVES, MEETING HOUSE
Fri Sep 30 |
THE SHADOWBOXERS
with WESLEY WATKINS, HR PEOPLE
Sat Oct 1 |
IAN MOORE
with THE CUTTHROAT DRIFTERS
Sat Oct 1 |
DANCE YOURSELF CLEAN - AN INDIE-POP DANCE PARTY
Sun Oct 2 |
THE GODDAMN GALLOWS
with GALLOWS BOUND, CROW CAVALIER
Tue Oct 4 |
WHITE REAPER
with THE OUTFIT, DRAMAD
Wed Oct 5 |
THE WEEKS
with COLD FRONTS
Thu Oct 6 |
A TRIBE CALLED RED
Thu Oct 6 |
HAPPY HOUR BINGO
with Win Tix To: Mandolin Orange (both nights), Failure, Purity Ring, Moon Hooch, The Faint, Deerhunter, Johnnyswim
Fri Oct 7 |
A TRIBE CALLED RED
Sat Oct 8 |
CYMBALS EAT GUITARS
with FIELD MOUSE, WILD HONEY
Mon Oct 10 |
SEAN HAYES
with CORY MON, TIM CARR
Wed Oct 12 |
NATALY DAWN
Thu Oct 13 |
THE NORTHERN EMPTY
with MITCHEL EVAN & THE MANGROVE
Fri Oct 14 |
RACHEL YAMAGATA
Fri Oct 14 |
DADDY ISSUES
with THE PATIENT ZEROS
Sat Oct 15 |
THE GARDEN
with SO PITTED, HEYROCCO
Tue Oct 18 |
TOBACCO
with HIGH TIDES, ODONIS ODONIS
Thu Oct 20 |
BIG BUSINESS
Fri Oct 21 |
THE FELICE BROTHERS
with SHELBY EARL, STRAWBERRY RUNNERS
Sat Oct 22 |
TRUE WIDOW
with LOWLANDS, EMERALD SIAM
Sun Oct 23 |
TRASH TALK
with ANTWON, BLACK NOISE (DJ SET)
Tue Oct 25 |
LEWIS DEL MAR
with PRINZE GEORGE
Wed Oct 26 |
NOBUNNY
Fri Oct 28 |
IN THE WHALE
with ONE FLEW WEST
Sat Oct 29 |
HAYDEN JAMES
with ELDERBROOK, RUMTUM
Sun Oct 30 |
LITTLE HURRICANE
Tue Nov 1 |
PAPER ROUTE
with HALFNOISE
Wed Nov 2 |
QUINN XCII
with AYOKAY
Thu Nov 3 |
THROTTLEBOMB
with THE HEROIN, SPACE IN TIME, SMOLDER & BURN
Fri Nov 4 |
DAVID RAMIREZ
Sat Nov 5 |
SUNFLOWER BEAN
with THE LEMON TWIGS
Sun Nov 6 |
SALES
with TANGERINE
Fri Nov 11 |
JULY TALK
with THE MOTH & THE FLAME, ZIPPER CLUB
Sat Nov 12 |
K THEORY
Wed Nov 16 |
THE DUST BOWL REVIVAL
Thu Nov 17 |
MR LITTLE JEANS
Fri Nov 18 |
THE WILD REEDS
Sat Nov 19 |
THE JEZABELS
Sun Nov 20 |
ADAM TORRES
Tue Nov 22 |
MARC E. BASSY
Sat Nov 26 |
SAD13
with VAGABON
Tue Nov 29 |
BENJAMIN FRANCIS LEFTWICH
with BROLLY
Fri Dec 9 |
CREATURE CANOPY EP RELEASE
with OPTYCNERD, COMPASS & CAVERN, MEDIC
Fri Dec 30 |
EL TEN ELEVEN
Sat Dec 31 |
EL TEN ELEVEN - NYE SHOW

Mon Nov 12 | Radio 1190 Presents...

METZ  

SCHOOL KNIGHTS
THEE DANG DANGS

Doors open at 8pm   |   Show starts at 9pm   |   $10.00 In Adv | $12.00 Day Of Show | 21+





There was a time, in recent history, when you needed to have at least twelve members to even be considered a band in Canada. It was nearly impossible to tour if you didn’t have access to some kind of personnel carrier, and making a record involved several years of tambourine overdubs. You know there were kids out there who just wanted to get in a van and play loud as hell through an Ampeg stack or a four-piece drum kit, but how could you call it a band if you didn’t even know a French horn player? By 2008, band membership had reached a critical mass. You’d go to a show and you might be the only person in the room who wasn’t playing an instrument. Hard times.

Thankfully, there are always a few naturally resourceful people who refuse to be intimidated or excluded from making their own wild racket in public. Alex Edkins, Hayden Menzies and Chris Slorach have been around long enough to know that if you can’t fit it in the van, it’s not worth bringing. METZ play like one brutally heavy instrument with three heads, slashing heavy-gauge strings, bending guitar and bass necks in weird unison, along with what is probably the loudest drumming you’ve ever heard. It’s a return to everything that’s good about loud, ecstatic live music; a frantic nod to Nation of Ulysses, Shellac, The Pixies, The Jesus Lizard, and Public Image Ltd. at their most vicious, while still carving out some heavy new business. They play the instruments, the amps, and the room.

Over the last three-and-a-half years, METZ have slayed in basements, skate shops, clubs, and festivals, sharing stages with Mission of Burma, Death from Above 1979, Archers of Loaf, Mudhoney, Oneida, Constantines, and NoMeansNo. I’ve seen a hundred jaws drop within the first four measures of their set. I once saw Alexander Hacke from Einstuerzende Neubauten approach Chris and rave about his bass tone.

It’s a formidable task to try and capture such a powerful live band on record. Luckily, Graham Walsh (Holy Fuck) and Alexandre Bonenfant were more than up for it. Isolating the band in an old barn for a week with a portable recording rig, Walsh and Bonenfant were not only successful in documenting the unrelenting live force of the band, but they also managed to add some new and staggering sonic textures to the recording. Waves of organic feedback and fuzzed-out drones build the classic tension that eventually drops into each track’s relentless, dissonant pulse. And somehow, the raddest thing about it all is the songwriting. It’s not just riffs. It’s something that some heavy bands don’t get, but METZ do really well—and they do it collectively. It’s a hell of an experience, listening to this thing.

With this, their debut album, METZ articulate with deafening clarity, what we’ve all known for some time: The world of good music needs a new power trio, and this is it.

METZ IN THE PRESS

 

powered by: companyBE